Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Volusia Pines Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 621 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My grandson attends Volusia Pines Elementary and just loves it - I do too. It is a smaller school, kinda in the country, so I think they really care about the children. I also believe he is getting a very good start in his education.


Posted June 11, 2013

My child loved every minute of kindergarten! It was all thanks to his wonderful teacher Mrs. Bakowski. She went above and beyond to make learning fun for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

i attend volusia pines and im in honor roll in 4th grade i love my teacher mrs.martin she has an amazing sense of humor and loves kids.


Posted January 10, 2011

My name is Aron Bourke. I joined this school back in 2005 when i was 9 years old. Im originally from England but i moved to Florida with my family and attended Volusia Pines Elementary School. Unfortunatly, I had to leave and go back to England, but the duration i spent there were very good times. My teacher was Miss Grabowski, im not sure if she still works at Volusia Pines, but she was a very nice lady and was a plessure to have as a teacher while I was at Volusia Pines.


Posted April 24, 2010

I love this school. Everyone cares about the kids and tries to make their time here special. My daughter loves Mrs. Bakowski and she can't stop talking about all the fun extra things they do in class. More after school activities like the carnival would be nice, but overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love my school because it is a safe, nurturing, and exciting place for children to learn & grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2009

My daughter will be in 5th next year!! She has attended VPE since K, I wouldn't want her in any other school. They have gotten her so excited about reading w/ reading Counts. She has never not been on Honor Roll. They really care about their kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My oldest son has been attending VPE for 2 years now. I love this school, the teachers keep me up to date with my son progress in class, always willing to help him, the lady's in the office always check my ID before I get a pass to enter the school or take my son home early. I always find the school to be very clean and just a great staff too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

My kids love this school. As a parent I am very pleased with the quality of education. Teachers are supportive and encourage children to succeed. I would like to see more extracurricular activities for the younger children, but the overall quality of the school is excellent, and deserves its 'A' status!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My daughter has attended Volusia Pines since Kindergarten. We received a variance for this school since I was not keen on Friendship Elementary. The staff is outstanding and Ms. Taylor, the principal, is absolutely hands on - she really knows the kids. The faculty is very involved with the children, right down to the cafeteria staff. I wouldn't have her in any other school. I wish, too, that this staff would follow her through Middle and High school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Both of my daughters go here , I love this school , especially the kindergarten team .I say team because they all work together .There are many great teachers K-5. Everyone in the office couldn't be nicer , our principle is really in to her job and does it well .Volusia Pines is a well rounded school in a great little town .But I have to agree with some other comments about the field trips , every grade should do it .Even if its a trip in town to the equestrian center to see a horse show .' Kids look forward to field trips .'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

This is the first year my daughter has been at this school. She is in 2nd grade. I love her teacher Mrs. Sawyer. She is really good with the kids. My daughter always comes home saying great things about her class. The only issues I do have is the parent pick up and drop off and that there is no field trips till 4th grade. Other then that the school staff and teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My son has attened Volusia Pines since Kindergarten and is now finishing the 5th grade. My daughter is now there attending Kindergarten. I HIGHLY recommend this school and always have since my son first attended. Great teachers and staff! This school overall is excellent and there are too many ways to list. Teachers believe in communication and working together, that's what it takes for children to succeed. Great job Volusia Pines...Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

My daughter has attended Volusia Pines from 1st grade and is now in 5th. We love this little school and its family atmosphere. The teachers and staff really seem to care about the students and take time to get to know them by name. It is always clean and projects a sense of pride. The Fusion classes are wonderful. The Koi pond and the Purple Martin house enable the children to experience first-hand unique learing experiences they will remember. The new music teacher is great. Last year, my daughter had the opportunity to participate in a drum circle. That was a wonderful experience for the parents and students. My only complaint is the parent pick up loop. Only two cars can unload students at a time resulting in backed up cars and hurried parents and late kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Good school great principal Good special ed teachers Safe environment nice area Good vice-principal new music teacher very dedicated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

The ese program here is great. The head teacher of ESE has a lot of experience and commitment. The faculty here is above average. The music teacher is very dedicated. The principal is dedicated and professional. It is a good school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 11, 2006

I just love volusia pines. I took my child out of private school some years ago and put her in this school because of the great things i heard about the teachers and staff. I sometimes wish that volusia pines staff could follow my child all the way to middle school and high school. Hats off to each and every one of you. This is truly an 'a' school. Thanks for showing your concern about my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

My son went to this school from 1st-5th. We found each teacher to be wonderful! I am very confident in giving this school an A+! Thank you Volusia Pines! -Carrie Henderson mom of Cory Henderson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

This is the first year that my 4th grader son has been at this school. His teacher, Ms. Brickey is absolutely wonderful! She cares for all of her students wanting the best from each of them. I just wish that we'd moved to Volusia Pines Elementary's area before school started!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

My daughter is in 3rd grade at this school. She and I both love this school. The teachers, for the most part, are great, in both personality and teaching ability.The school really puts a lot of effort into the children that are having a little bit of a struggle keeping up with the class. I am very happy with my child attending here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 23%
Black 16%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%56%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JULIE GORDON
Fax number
  • (386) 228-1144

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 East Kicklighter Road
Lake Helen, FL 32744
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 575-4125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT