Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Worth High School

Public | 9-12 | 2297 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

For the love of God, do not send your children to this school. The administration is always making false promises to it's students and constantly letting them down. They ruined my daughter's senior year, they weren't allowed to do anything. She saw three principals in her time there, clearly the school is unstable. And let's talk about college preparedness, these staff doesn't care if their students get into college, as long as the have a high graduation rate. No one is ever there to help these kis. The college coach is nonexistent. My daughter missed so many opportunities for scholarships because the people that were supposed to keep her informed did not. They are unreliable with transcripts and the guidance receptionist is beyond rude and refuses to let the kids see the guidance counselors. Let's talk about how they jipped all the students and parents by making the kids sign a contract for the uniform on the last day of school (2012) after repeatedly lying to the kids, saying that the uniform wouldn't be changed. No integrity whatsoever, save yourself the trouble. Lake Worth High functions better as a parking lot instead of a school, level the damn place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

LWHS has been very helpful and resourceful not only to the students but to the parents. I have no complaints with any of the staff members, in fact, they have gone beyond my expectations. I have to admit it was a shaky start at first, but now that I've met the staff there is a level of respect that is well deserved. Unfortunately, there is not a whole lot of parent involvement. The best part is the school is very diversified. It would be nice to see LWHS receive funding to enable students to have more opportunities that is well deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

My son will be attending his third year now a Junior and I am very proud of his achievements and progress with his academics as well as his maturity. He's had great teachers and support from day one. School is what you choose it to be, by making wise choices. I am very thankful for who my son is today. This school is great, awesome staff, and lots of career choices available. A definite thumbs up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

My son just began this school year and I have got nothing but support from the administration and teachers. When emailed, the principal responded to me quickly and even had one of his APs call me the next day to reassure me. My son encountered a bullying problem already and the situation was handeled the next day! I understand the cultural diversity as I taught in that area and I totally agree with the parents below. We must be involved with our kids to help them succeed. I am happy with the Criminal Justice program there and am thankful for the caring teachers that do work there despite the odds. Thanks for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

This school is the best they have perfect unifroms no jeans just pants I enjoy having my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I agree with the parent that wrote that you get what you put into it. I have two children that are going to be seniors this year. I would like to thank all the devoted teachers that have made a contribution the their excellent education. LW offers great magnet programs with devoted teachers. Stop blaming the school for your troubles and get involve, volunteer and have your kids get involve with clubs, sports, and make sure that they do their homework and study.. One of the main problems at LW is that they do not have enough parents involved in helping the school (Volunteer). Other schools in our area have parents that are always volunteering. Thanks Again Teachers you are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

As with anything in life, you get what you put into it. I have two children at LWHS and they both are very involved with clubs, sports and their magnet program, as am I. They have always received high 4s or 5s in FCAT. I believe the lack of parental involvement in the school and the students' lives is the number one problem with the school. As far as the school's diversity, that's the way life is in South Florida, stop babying your children and they will be better off in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I took my son out of this school. Too much gang activity and teachers have no control over classroom activity. No one seems to really care or maybe they are just overworked. Very sad situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

Has excellent choice programs that help the students when they grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

I attend Lake Worth High and I have to say it is a wonderful school. The Medical Magnet program is amazing though the class is very vigorous. I already have a schlorship for college because of it and a intership at Nova Southeastern University. We may have low test scores but that is because of its diversity. Many students there are new to the country and we have a high amount of handicapp students. I think the new principal was a great way to help the school and he is doing alot to help improve the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

This is a great school, the academics are great, and the staff is awesome! A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Morale is rock bottom for my daughter's teachers. They are stretched beyond reason and discipline has become soft with freshman academy. Class schedules changed after the fourth week of school.Unacceptable! This is not the leadership promised with the new principal. Looking for another magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Lake worth has everything to offer from extracurricular activities to music. Academic program is district in its own right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

Lake Woth Community High School has so much to offer the students. Many programs are available from culinary, rotc, medical, child care, bands, clubs, and specialty classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

I am sad to say that this school's morale and family spirit has diminished since the new administration came this year. We have lost the best guidance counselor and assistant principals to other schools and this has hurt us greatly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2007

As an employee of this school, I really think that this new administration can make a difference. The teachers are very Able and the students are excellent citizens. GO TROJANS!!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 23, 2006

I appreciate the caring teaching staff. All extracurricular activities are currently offered and reflect the student body.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2006

I feel the quality of LWHS is much to be desired.From what my son tells me he more than often gets bored and he's in gifted!I had a problem with him last year and went to talk with the guidance counselor- No help found there but an empty headed person.I can't wait till he graduates!Oh and the drop off in the morning is ridiculous.I live 10 miutes away but with traffic it seems like 20.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

It's great academically. There's not much parent involvement though. There's many extracurricular activities you could get into. Overall, it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

This school is great because it is multi cultural and the teachers provide a fair amount of work and have an awesome way of teaching the students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

630 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

554 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

558 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

495 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

450 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
19%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

556 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
43%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 44%
Hispanic 39%
White 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 71%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%73%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. GEORGE LOCKHART
Fax number
  • (561) 493-0888

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 Lake Worth Road
Lake Worth, FL 33460
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 533-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Unity For Kids
Lake Worth, FL


Unity for Kids
Lake Worth, FL


The Elles School
Lake Worth, FL


Dibacco School
Lake Worth, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT