Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Pines Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 797 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

Your wrong, the pricapal at this school is Mrs.Robinson. This school is great because there is hands on learning in this school and fun clubs so kids learn new things. They have a new dance team and Chorus and two academic clubs for science and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

You can never get a call back no matter how many times you call or go by the school, the only thing they do is put it in the teachers mailbox.. the coach is the worst he yells at the kids for nothing .. I had to tell him off for yelling at me after waiting over 20mins for my kids to come out in the car rider lane. He was yelling for me to move up my car and I'm at the front of the line how much more can I move up... for PE my kids played musical chairs... I've never heard such a thing. Last year my son teacher always put good job or great effort in his agenda. Then when you finally get to meet with the teacher she's telling me so many things my son isn't doing. Why all this wasn't in his agenda when the teachers asked so many time to get agenda signed.... This is a new year and its worst still can't get a phone call from a teacher, principal still no better. The new number thing is a joke cause cars skip the line student takes longer to come out, the coach don't need to be working there.. what was a A school has made a big drop..... I wish I could change school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

THE PRINCIPALS COMMUNICATION IS VERY BAD. SECOND YEAR WITH THIS SCHOOL. THANK GOODNESS IT WILL BE MY CHILDREN'S LAST. THE TEACHER'S SEEM GOOD THUS FAR. WE WILL SEE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I love this school. They provide my students with the best quality education and the teachers are great. The administration and front office staff are very friendly too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

Great school for elementary students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

There is no place for children who fall between grade average and gifted. The new principal has not been near as good as Pasterczyk. This school has gone down and some good teachers have left, following the old principal. I am trying to get my children into a different school. They do have dual language and some good teachers, but some very poor as well. My third grader did not have a field trip of any kind througout 2nd or third grade. School to family newsletters that really inform are no more. No dances, no fairs, no real extracurricular activities any longer. However they do have a new building with some state of the art equipment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This has been a great school for my daughter. They offer dual-language and gifted programs. I would suggest parent involvment. We have had a couple of problems with some of the little boys but they were handled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

My child attended Inadian Pines for only 5th grade as we had temporarily moved to the area. In my experience the school is very well organized and the communication level between the staff and parents is exceptional. I received all the information I needed to help my child throughout the school year consistently and efficiently. I was able and encouraged to be a part of my kid's education in general as well as in FCAT preparation and other areas of great importance. I even attended their parent university which explored and dissected such topics as discipline in the home and school, motivating a child successfully and even giving our kids the tools they need to handle peer pressures. I feel that both my child and I received a great education that year. This is a school that demands your involvement and can guarantee your childs success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Wonderful School, Great Programs, A+ School 4 years in a row. Great teachers who take the time to spend with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

My daughter excelled tremendously in this school. They were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Indian Pines Elementary has been graded an 'A' school by the state of Florida for the past few years. This is the first year my son is in this school and he's been learning, I believe, a whole lot better. He's been active in the school chorus and has entered in the science fair. I am very satisfied with Indian Pines Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 72%
Hispanic 20%
White 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 35%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%73%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JILL ROBINSON
Fax number
  • (561) 804-3350

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Oak Royal Drive
Lake Worth, FL 33463
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT