Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Worth Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 997 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2011

my child has attended this school for the last 2 yrs. unfortunately, he has encountered a serious bullying problem. he is very quiet & keeps to himself, & for that he a target. i have brought this to the attention of the staff on many, many occasious.. i would strongly advise any parent against registering your child in this prison,(middle school). i am very involved in my child's curriculum, that is why i am very concerned.. school should be a pleasant experience..worst school ever...unfortunately i am forced to give this school 1 star because you can not leave it blank.. they deserve nothing..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

This school does teach very well. There may be a few improvements.Though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I happen to like this school. A few changes though: I think it would be fair if the students actually had a say in what to wear. But other than that the school is doing a great job. Go LWCMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

I have a child in this school and it has been a not so good experience. There seems to be a real disrespect for parents from the staff. As there are so few parents involved I think that this is counteproductive. Also, to echo the review from another parent, the school needs for gang prevention programs, as this is an obvious problem. Our children need a nurturing place to learn and be prepared for a reposible, prosperous life. They do not need peer pressure to join gangs to survive. Staff needs to communicate batter with parents and among each other, as often it seems they do not. I would have liked to have given the school a better rating, but then I would have liked my child to have had a better education as well. More programs, more communication, less attitude towards parents. God Bless America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I find that lwms needs more communication between staff and teachers and counselors. one hand does not know what the other hand is doing.


Posted June 5, 2008

Lake Woth Middle School is a great school. Out of all the schools ive been to this was my favorite,that school tought me alot more than any school i have been to. The teachers may not always understand some of your prombles you may have in your subjects but they try in every way to help you. Dont even get me started on the principle he is a great principle. He lets us have fun but still be prepared and ready for anything.With this in mind i want every parent out there to now that maybe lake worth middle may not be in the right area but they do know how to teach there students and still have fun. So Lake Worth Middle School keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

I've got two kids at the school, with one I've had bad experiences and the other an okay experience. I think the school needs to revamp the discipline strategy and concentrate on the real trouble makers of the school. I think there is a lack of respect for parents from the entire staff. I have always been there when asked and been there when I wasn't asked. I also think the school would benefit from outreach programs, and guest speakers on gangs since the problem in Lake Worth is rampant, and also tolerance lessons. I also strongly believe that the kids need to be taught as much as they can, not taught just enough to pass the FCAT. Parents, it's out job to teach our kids respect of themselves and respect of others. If I could put my kids in a different school I would in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

it is a good school! lake worth middle is a very good school! my kids love that school and very good that they enjoy going there so in my book its a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

My son attended LWMS for the sixth grade and he brought his grades up to honor roll, but the quality of the work is very poor. He is not getting prepared for the next level. The teachers rarely give homework. Children are not expected to be a high achiever, they are not allowed to bring home their textbooks to reinforce what they are learining in class. I am trying to get him in another middle school to finish and hopefully make up a wasted year and prepare him for a good high school and college. You have to exert too much effort just to get the basics from them. LWMS is terrible. Choose another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

i am fairly happy with the school. No big problems. My kids enjoy themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

I believe that this is a really great school,very well mainained and the teachers are wonderful. My daughter raised her grades to straight a's in this school so I believe its a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2003

The safety and discipline at this school could be better, as well as the Principal leadership, and teacher quality.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

375 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

291 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
Black 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7%
White 7%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%73%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TANYA DANIEL
Fax number
  • (561) 540-5559

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Barnett Drive
Lake Worth, FL 33461
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 540-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Unity For Kids
Lake Worth, FL


Unity for Kids
Lake Worth, FL


The Elles School
Lake Worth, FL


Dibacco School
Lake Worth, FL



St Luke School
Lake Worth, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT