Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Panther Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 705 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2008

I was very surprised to read anything negative about Panther Run. As you will read through all these reviews, it is very rare to see someone that is unhappy with the school. To our family and others I know, it seems to be getting better and better. It's been an A rated school for years. How can a parent deny that, that is not a good thing. People purposely move around here so that Panther Run is their child's school. As for the media and newspapers....There is something in the local papers at least once a week. The Palm Beach Post and Sun-Sentinel also has run articles and photo's about the great thing happening at Panther Run. Granted, before the new principal things were not as great as they are now. But I would certainly never say that I was ever disapointed academically or otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

We are just so impressed with the quality of education at Panther Run. This school is challenging and my kids love it. We couldn't be happier. My daughter is in 3rd grade and she is learning so much and she is having a great time doing so! she enjoys her teachers...Ms Harris, Mrs. Mcmichaels and Mrs. Silvestri....Thank you so much for all your hard work! Panther Run is a great school. The new administration is visible and friendly. The teachers have high expectations which is why Panther Run is such a high performing school. I think the quality is much better than other schools in the vicinity. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Like the last parent comment, I was surprised by the quality of education at the school. The teachers are outstanding and there is little turnover from year to year. our son is enjoying his experience and we look forward to when our daughter starts next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

This is a five star school all the way around from the cafeteria staff to the principal. Great job Panther Run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

We just moved here from NY (can you believe that?) and are just so impressed with the quality of education at Panther Run. All we were told was to be wary of Florida schools, but we have found the opposite to be true. This school is challenging and my kids love it. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Panther Run is a great school. The new administration is visible and friendly. The teachers have high expectations which is why Panther Run is such a high performing school. I think the quality is much better than other schools in the vicinity. My kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

I think the ESE program is terrible. The teachers don't have the time for students who really need the extra time. So what's good is the program? I think too much stress is spent on the FCAT and no time is spent on teaching the kids History and civics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Principal leadership - what leadership? Quality of education is very poor. Parents involvement is discouraged, except when the school is consistenly hounding you to open your wallet for contstant fundraising. Fundraising for what? Certainly not for the childrens education. ESE services, what services? There are no afterschool activities nor tutoring for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

Panther Run is ran like a business. You are constantly receiving requests to sell things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

school is very unorganized as a whole...few teachers are willing to go the extra mile to help students..gifted program...really what gifted program?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

School is very disorganized, gifted program is ineffective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Not impressed with the overall organization of the school. Gifted program is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

First of all I was not here when we 'voted' for uniforms. It's bad enought all of the children look like sheep in a herd but if you don't tuck in your shirt or wear a belt you get a 'slip up' or are sent to the office. I know that the PTA has extra money in reserves and is holding onto the money. Enough with the pressure of raising $ for fundraisers. Put that reserved money into extracurricular activities. Stop expecting the kids to perform for an A school rating. This is all due to FCAT. Make the school look good and give nothing back to the kids. Last time I checked, this was supposed to be elementary school, not a corporation. The principle cares more about 'going for the gold' than the welfare of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

This is my 2nd year at Panther Run and I am very pleased. The academics are very impressive, although there has to be so much emphasis on the FCAT preparation, but that's with all public schools. The parent involvement is key to the success of the school because the teachers are stretched with no help from aids or any where else, that's a problem. There always seems to be a need for more money which I don't understand because we pay pretty high taxes. There is no extracurricular activity except 4th & 5th grade walking club or aftercare. This is very disappointing. All in all so, far I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

I am not please with the way classrooms are assigned. Students are not assigned to classes with children of similar knowledge. Too many children are passed through to the next grade before they are ready by having those parents sign a waiver, however this practice hurts the other children in the class that are performing at higher levels. Children are bored while waiting for others to 'Catch up.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

Panther Run Elementary has a wonderful academic program and a wide variety of extracurricular activities. I was very pleased with this school. I would recommend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 5, 2005

Extremely pleased with Panther Run and Project Child. Parent involvement rivals that of any private school. FCAT scores for the school are great, and it is rated an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

I have had an overall positive experience at this school with my 3 children for the last 6 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

ESE program is horrible whether gifted or SLD. Teachers can't be bothered to go that extra step to teach
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This school is typical of the entire education system. The ESE program is totally ineffective. My child has made no progress this entire year. Their answer is that he has missed too much school. He has missed 14 days, I will take responsibility for those, will they take responsibility for the other 166? I am totally disgusted with the whole system and seriously thinking about Home schooling. Don't think about the public schools if your child is an ESE student!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 20%
Black 9%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%73%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10775 Lake Worth Road
Lake Worth, FL 33449
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT