Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Starlight Cove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 956 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I took my two children out of this schoo. The aftercare program run by Christian Carrera is horrible, uncoordinated, and they use immature and unskilled counselors. There is very little tolerance for any child that might have a behavior issue. My children both have ADHD and take meds to help their attention and hyperactivity. I was constantly called with complaints and orders to pick up my children. Now that the kids have been in a new school and more professional staff SINCE JANUARY 7th, 2014!!! AND I HAVE HAD NO SUCH ISSUES!! The staff at the new school says they are wonderful kids and I need to relax because they are doing great! Thank You MARITIME ACADEMY @--->>>----
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My childeren went there 6+ years this is a wonderfuls shool with geat teachers and a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

I had just moved here when I enrolled my son to this school, read the reviews and found them to be better then average so I had high hopes. Let's just say I removed my son after his 3rd day never to return. The programs are lacking, the teachers do the best they can with what they are given but that is not much. Too many kids, no bus system for 3 mile distances, so the lines to pick up kids is horrid, they have a playground, but kids don't have PE or can't play on it, I am not impressed in the least and if you care about your child's education I recommend you look for something else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

I love this school cause theres good staff and teachers and the staff all ways give care


Posted April 25, 2012

Excited to say my nephew will be attending in August! Hoping for a great year


Posted October 13, 2009

I love this school because it is like a big family. Everyone who works there is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I went to this school from 2004 though 2006 for 4th and 5th grade. I had such a great experience! In 5th grade there was a big issue with all the girls in my class and I feel that my teacher handled the situation very well. My sister just graduated from 5th grade this past school year and she went from almost failing first grade from not being able to read and now she reads 10 times more books then I do and I'm going to be a freshman. The teachers are very focused on academics and make learning fun and enjoyable! I think that if you are questioning about sending your child there because of the neighborhood it's in and because all the not-so-good ratings that you should at least try it out because that's what my mom did with my sister and I and it worked out really well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

My child started Starlight Cove in the middle of the school year and was a new student. The teachers all took extra care to make sure my child felt wlecome and was paired up with lots of buddies to help her out. The school is new, beautiful, and has state-of-the-art equipment in each classroom to promote high-level learning. The school has a diverse student body as well as diverse faculty and my child excelled in this environment. Very well controlled and organized. I should've switched my child to this school sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My son is starting the 5th grade at Starlight Cove, he has been there since K. I have been very pleased with this school. My son has had wonderful teachers and this school works real hard on all the staff knowing all the children, they do a great job not only with educating but in maintaing a good safe enviroment for the children. I can't say enough about this school. I hope we find him as good a school when he is done there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

This is a school full of teachers trying to do their best for the children. Starlight Cove is a Title I school and received an 'A' for the 2004 - 2005 school year! That's a huge achievement! There are a lot of new/young teachers. I would like to see some more experienced teachers aboard...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

I'm very pleased with how much this school does to get the whole community envolved. They have movie night, a carnival for the kids and a great afterschool program. My daughter has been going there for 4 years and loves the atmosphere and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have 2 children 1 in 4th grade & 1 in 1st grade they have both been since kindergarten & both go to speach classes. I have never had a problem. I tell everyone how great starlight cove is. From the teachers to the award ceremonies to after care and the list goes on. I am a very happy & proud parent. I would like to thank the staff at starlight cove.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

So far from what I have experienced with school enrollment, I have been very impressed. The teachers have been very educational and helpful by answering my questions. It seems like there is alot of parent involvment and the extracurricular activities offered are interesting and fun for my child. My child will be attending kindergarten and I look forward to a great school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Excellent School, Excellent Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

My daughters were at Starlight only for one year but it made a huge difference in my oldest daughter's grades & self-esteem. Her two fifth grade teachers were absolutely wonderful & the guidance counselor there was great also! My daughter had some issues in fourth grade at another school & her confidence went downhill. When she was at Starlight it all came back to her tenfold! I truly am grateful to her teachers for helping her feel good about herself again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I have 2 boys in Starlight Cove. One has ADHD and the other a Speech Impediment. This school has done everything possible to get them assessed, get them into the proper classes, and help them in everyway possible. They have an outstanding academic program, they have lots of fun stuff such as Music, Art, Physical Education, afterschool programs, and much more. They also make every effort to keep the parents involved in the school and in each childs progress. I am honored to have my boys here and wouldn't change a thing if I had a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
Black 31%
White 12%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 131%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 233%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%73%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. SUSAN SAINT JOHN
Fax number
  • (561) 804-3650

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Lantana Pines Drive
Lake Worth, FL 33462
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Royal Palm School
Lantana, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT