Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodlands Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2008

I have had 2 children attending Woodlands. I agree that I was at first very apprehensive in sending my children there, but then realized that I had to see for myself. Parents should be involved in the school, attend meetings and check on their children occasionally in the school. As for the staff, yes, most of the teachers talk to students in a negative way, which I disagree with. If the teachers want respect from their students, they should treat their students with respect. Children mirror the images that they see..... Mr. Clawson is a great asset to this school. We really needed a new Principal to take over & make a difference. He is only there 1 year & what a difference he has made already! I hope he continues with excellence this coming year! Congratulations on being an 'A' school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

I am a student in WMS so far i think its an okschool but i think they are too strict on the dress code but over that i say its an ok school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

This is a fantastic school. The teachers are wonderful...great at communication with the parents. Love that they have a strict dress code...especially with the way kids like to dress nowadays! Yes, they have a couple of 'bad seeds' that attend Woodlands, but that is by no means any fault of the school. If your child shows/gives the teacher the respect that they deserve, and has a thirst for knowledge, then they will excell here at woodlands!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

im a student and they r so strict on the dress code., although the new princibable is the best lucky 4 me i havent had to see him yet but i think the teachers should be a littles more open to putting kids in advanced classes. onestly im an A student and yet they havent put me in an advanced class yet. In conclusoin Mrs. Feraco, Mrs. pettaway and Mrs. dewault are the best. the school is overall pretty strict but they can't help it they have some pretty bad students there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

This school has proven to be outstanding in my eyes. This is my daughters second year there with straight 'A' s' I have seen such a difference from grade school to middle school, wherein dress codes are in place. Edline is the best source of communication, and we have never had any problems in two years. I look forward to my other children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

the schools okay. im a student that goes there. but i miss the old principal. plus im in the gifted program so from where im lookin its okay. but i thinl there a ittle to strict on the dress code.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

This is an awesome school. I'm not a parent lol im a kid and im in the gifted program. It's fun and awesome here. Maybe not the new principal though...He's a little strict and mean, so im rating him a 3.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

Woodlands has a strict dress code, and it's enforced. I've only had one bullying problem with my child, and the school seemed to take the incident very seriously. Less serious concerns or questions are met with being sent in circles or dismissed - but parents seem meaningless at the elementary schools my kids attended too. The front desk smiles, but you get the feeling that they just don't mean it, and heck if I delt with the public all day I probably woulnd't either. Edline was ignored for a long time, but they seem to be taking it more seriously as it was used last year much more than the year before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I placed a previous post a year ago complaining about the school's poor compliance with EDLINE grade postings. overthe the summer they employed an in-house administator for that vital evaluative tool, and the past year went very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Overall school policies are good that is if in fact they are enforced year round example - dress code we start the year with strict policy of shirts tucked in, length of shorts etc, by Christmas break and up to today nothing is enforced, What about safety issues. What happened to each grade levels team leaders by the teachers, I have a 7th grader and as of today have not received one letter about any information going on with his team, example the 7th grade field trip nothing was sent home, we were not told until 2 days before, it seems the the 7th graders are forgotten...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

I'm currently an 8th grader at WMS and I gotta say that although it's real strict with the whole uniform policy, it's a pretty ok school. The people are awesome and the guidance counselor rocks! The only real problem is how rude some of the people working there can be.Overall it's a good school. - Celia
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2006

I went to Woodlands for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade and graduated in May of 2005. When I look back on it, Woodlands was a great school. The discipline was always in order and the teachers were wonderful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 23, 2006

I cannot believe what I am seeing and I am outraged. How could these parents cut up Woodlands when they never attended? I graduated from woodlands in 2005 and I must say that Woodlands is a little strict but it's an awesome school. The entire staff is dedicated and I am proud to say that I attended Woodlands. No matter what anyone says, I know that Woodlands is a quality school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

I had rather pay my life savings and send my child to a private school than risk the chances of my child developing self inferior issues by sending her to this school. It is awful. We made the mistake of sending our oldest child there, went in a respectable young man, came out an insecure child who went from straight A's to C,D's. The teachers are less than desirable and the principal is just unexplanable. Don't risk the education of your child, send him to a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

This school has an excellent learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I had the chance to spend some time with my child at the school one day, and that was about all I could take, I dont know how he does it for an entire school year. The faculty talks to the kids like they are trash, and they even talk to the parents that way also I know because it has happened to me! The principal is not at all in control of that school, I would not recomend the school at all. the attention should not be on is their shirt tucked in is their id badge the right way... it should be strictly be focused on education and it isnt. the children recieve no respect at all and it is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I been very disappointed in the overall leadership at the shool. Communication from the top is poor.Many times things are miscommunicated or not communicated at all. I have wriiten letters and called the school with concerns and have had no response or very delayed response. The turn-over of teachers and assignment of teachers to a class has been aweful.The Edline program has not been used by 5 out of six of my child's teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

I have been very happy with woodlands. I love the uniforms and the strict code that the kids follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

I think that Woodlands is a great academic school, their extracurricular activites are outstanding, and the parent involvement is like any other school. The discipline is like no other school. There is safety. This is coming from a former student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2005

This school has a lot of programs to offer so the children can be involved. There have been problems with the inconsistency of teachers staying the entire year that has been detrimental to the kids. Overall, the teachers are caring and supportive.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

358 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

394 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

419 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

397 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

413 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Black 28%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 60%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFFREY EASSA
Fax number
  • (561) 357-0307

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Lyons Road
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 357-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT