Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodlands Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2005

Very good school. Wonderful caring teachers. First rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

This school has a very good state grade but the children and some of the staff are very hard on the kids. There is alot of peer pressure in this school. It's alright but I wouldn't jump for joy about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

This school acts like it's run by the military and not a principal. They are unnecessarily strict. If their shirts are not tucked in the get a lunch detention, where they have to sit silent and isolated behind the stage. They spend too much time worrying about things like that and not more important things. Once I asked them to give my daughter a message regarding her dismissal. She rode the bus when I asked them to tell I was going to pick her up, but they were irresponsible and failed to do that. I have not been impressed with the teachers who work there either, and my daughter will not be attending Woodlands another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

I am a student at Woodlands, and I love it! I came here from Crestwood last year, and I didn't like it! I love my teachers, especially Mrs. Cowarts and Mrs. Bicknell. They are a lot of fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2004

My son graduated from Woodlands last year. He had awesome teachers. We can from a top 10 school district in Pennsylvania and I feel Woodlands exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

My daughter was also parted of the gifted team. The discipline is awesome,, and harsh, but now that she is in New York she sees that it was worth it she wishes some of her pupil there was as disiplined as she. She loves her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I've had great experiences at Woodlands Middle School with both of my daughters. My oldest daughter, who is now a high school sophomore, was in the gifted team at woodlands for three years & every teacher was excellent. One teacher even came to our home on several occassions because I was willing to host a session for the kids to get together & practice for their Linquistics club - it says a lot to me for teachers to be willing to spend their own time (a Sunday!) to help kids learn & achieve. My younger daughter is now in 7th grade (not gifted) & I have met & been graciously assisted by all her teachers any time I have had any concerns. The key is that as parents, we need to be involved in our kids' school life. As far as the principal, I have received personal phone calls from her whenever I have called & requested a return call due to a concern. This has happened three times now. I believe I can depend on her leadership. My experience has been that the more envolved I choose to be in the school (& I work full time), the more information I have & better relationship I achieve with the teachers & school environment. I am a member or the PTSO & SAC. What I see at this school, as well as at the high school, is that a very small number of parents are willing to become involved to make a difference; but a great many are ready to complain about everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2003

First, I was surprised to read the previous comments from the other parents. All schools have bullies, kids will be picked on that s part of life. We have to teach our kids how to learn to deal with such issues. And that some pupils don t want to learn? Come on, what school has perfect students? Of course there will be kids that don t want to learn or go to school. My child has been going to this school and I love it. I think the uniforms are a great idea because school should not be about a fashion show. The teachers are young so they don t have the amount of experience as other schools but they are responsible, organized and full of energy. I received letters when my child missed an assignment, turned in an incomplete assignment, or received a low grade. I have been to the school and it s clean and didn t see kids showing disrespect for others. I only have one request for the principal, can they have a longer lunch?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2003

I think that Woodlands Middle School is a very disciplined school. Except that a lot of kids get bullied. My daughter is in her second year and is in 7th grade. She has seen a lot of harrasing going on, but not on her. The principal has no control over the school at all. However, the teachers do a very good job of teaching. Some of the pupils don't want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2003

With a two year history at Woodlands, it has proven to be a very negative experience. Having children that are respectful and non-violent, they have been bullied, harrassed, and attacked by both other students and even some teachers. The principal has proven to have no control over her school or the teachers and lacks the ability to follow through. The school now has a history of 2 OCR complaints in just the last couple of years.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

358 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

394 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

419 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

397 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

413 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Black 28%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 60%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFFREY EASSA
Fax number
  • (561) 357-0307

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Lyons Road
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 357-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT