Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Reef Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 941 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2007

Coral Reef is an outstanding school. My daughter is now at Woodlands Middle school and is a straight 'A' student. She learned so much from all the awesome teachers. I'm very pleased with my 3rd grade son's performance at this school as well as the extra reading programs implemented. Next year I will have another child in Kindergarten. I can not think of a better school for my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Coral Reef has high quality teachers & Staff and a Wonderful Principal. The teachers are willing to keep an open dialogue with parents via telephone or email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

The staff and teachers are all very nice and helpful. My daughter is in 1st grade and loves her teachers so far and does well in school. I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

I am a former student at Coral Reef and am now entering high school at park vista and after I left Coral Reef I went from normal classes to Advanced in middle school and above average grades on the FCAT and Mrs. Armenti is a wonderful principal and my 5th grade teacher Mrs. Goudron was fantstic I am so happy I went to Coral Reef and hope everyone feels the same way. -Amanda Berkowitz~Class of 2003
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

I moved specifically into Lakeview Estates just so that my daughter could attend Coral Reel Elementary. We were previously in a horrible school zone...we are very happy with this school and the teachers. My daugher is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

This is a great school with very involved teachers and parents. It is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Great school, lots of parent involvement. Nice clean newer buliding. Very happy so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

Great school - we love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

Great School good teachers and a wonderful atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Good school with good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

My daughter both went to Coral Reef in Lake Worth Florida. I couldn't ask for more from a school. Everyone there is very helpful and the teachers are great. Mrs. Juran is not only an outstanding guidance teacher, she is a warm hearted human being. Thank you Coral Reef for everything. We recently moved out of the zone and my youngest has to change schools. I've already told them the have Big shoes to fill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

My son has been a student at Coral Reef for 4 years. I have been very pleased with each and every one of his teachers thus far. I especially want to mention that Mrs. Slesinski who has been teaching my child in the ESE program for the past 3 years has helped my child so much academically as well as improving his self-esteem. She is an amazing lady who 'genuinely' cares about each and every one of her students. When your child has a teacher like that the child wants to work harder and learn more. My child did! All of my son's teachers have been wonderful but Mrs. Slesinski has truly made a difference with my child. Ms. Armenti, the principal, also has been a wonderful principal to work with for the past few years. She shows such pride in her students and in her school. Great job Coral Reef!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

great staff, lots of parental involvement, strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

Coral Reef provides for a very rich educational environment for it's students. The teachers, administration and staff are constantly looking for professional development and feedback to keep the level of education up to date and on the cutting edge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I think the overall educational experience is outstanding. The only gripe if I was to be picky is that my daughter in the 5th grade buys lunch every Friday. Many times menu items are unavailable to them by the time they get to the cafeteria. The other gripe I have is the lack of recess time for these kids to run off some stress from their day. I am a firm believer of the concept of taking a mini vacation everyday to keep their focus sharp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

I have been extremely happy with Coral Reef Elementary. My son is now in 5th grade and has attended since kindergarten, which was the first year that this school opened. I have been very impressed with the academics and loved every teacher that my son has had, with the exception of kindergarten. My son is in the gifted program, which I do think could use some improvements. Other than that, I have not had a single complaint. Coral Reef is a very nurturing school in a very warm environment. My son is really going to miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

Overall I think the school is a good one. The teachers do alot of activities in class with the students to help them learn. The staff is friendly. I only wish there were after school activities/committees the kids can join.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

Wow! What a school! I've had 3 children in this school and I can't say enough about the great teachers they have all had. I would definetely give this school a 5. The admin. as well as the staff have all been wonderful, You just can't say anything negative about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I have found this school to be a wonderful experience for my two children. The school is great and most of the teachers are as well. One of my daughters has a learning disability and she has been followed closely with much needed support and care. Excellent School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

The forms of discipline that are being used aren't good. I used to think that rewards- based discipline was a good idea, but through watching the affect it is having on my children- (Fear and anger from all the guilt manipulation that is being used to 'motivate!)) I now feel that rewards- based discipline is unfair and punishes the students who are doing a good job. Many teachers complain about the FCAT to parents and to students which only undermines the learning process and causes the students to be unduly nervous about it. The lack of recess for students who need it so desperately is my biggest complaint. Why no recess?! Do teachers so value their bonus that they will 'terrorize' kids in order to be an 'A' school? The teacher morale is so low that I feel a coupe coming soon...if not, I'll lead one and find a better place for my children to be excited about learning...maybe even a charter school or home-based education. We can't afford private school right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

188 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 22%
Black 7%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%73%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. BOBBI MORETTO
Fax number
  • (561) 804-3750

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6151 Hagen Ranch Road
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT