Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

994 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coral Reef Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Phenomenal school with faculty and staff that truly care about their students. There is a high level of parental involvement and there is always plenty of special activities to engage the children. My child excelled in second grade with Mrs. Palkovitz, who is not only an amazing teacher but a caring person who is truly tuned in to each student. We're excited to return next year!

Coral Reef Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
All schools in the district give too much homework in my opinion. That is all I have to say honestly.


Coral Reef Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
They have gone above and beyond navigating our unique family and its needs. Best school. So grateful for the love, understanding and patience they have shown our family.

Coral Reef Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Palkovitz has gone above and beyond to assist us and our unique family. She scaffolds and cares about the children as though they are her own. She is so helpful, loving and goes out of her way to teach and help everyone to understands. Fantastic woman.

Coral Reef Elementary School 1

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
My son attended from k-5. Stuggled with everything because he is weak in writing and had trouble problem solving, math skills, etc. He had a 504 but that wasn't enough. He needed an iep...long ago. In 5th, he gave up trying to keep up and couldn't keep up. He had a 1 in writing fsa and a 2 on the math. I told the principle and the assistant principle that I didnt want him to continue on to 6th grade. I knew he wasnt ready. They told me they do not keep 5th graders behind. They would not hold him back. He's now in 6th grade, cant keep up and failing everything. They failed him horribly. I trust the school to help guide me. I took him to doctors, he's on medication, I work with him all the time to re-enforce what's taught but he needed something else. They pushed him through and just passed him off to the jr high. Absolutely a horrible school if your child has a learning disability...at least, in my son's case.


Coral Reef Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Are there any posted ratings for this school for 2014? Which teachers are the best in each grade level? My daughter is entering K in fall 2014

Coral Reef Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I have experienced wonderful teacher-parent communication with my fourth grade teacher. Awesome! Thank you Mrs. Oates!

Coral Reef Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a community member
I went to c.r.e.s. (coral reef elementary school) as a student! Great school! I went from a c student in math to an a! They teach respect, responsibility, and safety.


Coral Reef Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2012
- a parent
Art teachers need to request parent volunteers so that they can implement a "FULL arts program." Where is the 3-D art- sculptures, clay, recyclable art, etc... Us parents are willing to help just ask the PTA. We want the kids exposed to other mediums other than paper /pencil. We realize it's easier when you have 40+ kids in a class but ask for assistance and maybe you could rotate doing something EXTRA with a grade level at a time with VOLUNTEERS! Where are the extra-curricular club activities here? Last year, a Science and book Club was offered. What happened this year? Please use some of the monies donated to pay teacher supplements. We NEED A Science and Math Club-Robotics- the district offers LEGO LABS for free. Why aren't the teachers REQUIRED TO SIGN UP FOR THE SCIENCE LAB? My child has NOT BEEN THIS YEAR! Why not have the teachers rotate in by grade level and have them organize the lab lessons by units of study and the lead teacher set up the materials for the week and let all classes of that grade level rotate in. There should be more oversight by admin that the teachers are using the science and computer labs. CORAL REEF NEEDS TO GET KIDS ENGAGE IN"ALL" AREAS

Coral Reef Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2012
- a parent
Need to Vamp up there use of technology. Where are the iPads? The Title 1 schools have one iPad per student. Other schools in our social economic level have carts of iPads, i.e. Panther Run Elem. The school district can provide theTeacher training for free. Apple offers 10 packs to the district at discount. Use some of the walkathon money and purchase 3 -10 packs on a cart for teacher check out. The school needs to provide MORE access to technology! Where is the integration in the classroom? Teachers need MORE training I guess? Kids should be creating tech projects using software programs that enhance units of study by grade level. Glogster, Edmodo, class tools.net, gmail accounts, google drive etc... My kids rarely able to get on a computer in the class to even take a Reading Counts quiz. Sometimes it takes over a week to have access to the computer... Why not open the computer labs/library before and after school for Reading Counts time like Manatee Elem We need to bring up the scores/ learning gains of the level 3-5 kids. Why not let the level 5 kids take a virtual class on the computer like Hagen Ranch Road Elem. Need to work SMARTER NOT HARDER!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coral Reef Elementary School
6151 Hagen Ranch Road, Lake Worth, FL  33467
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (561) 804-3700
Last modified Coral Reef Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top