Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Key Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 847 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2006

Parents are very much involved in this school.There is a great gropu of teachers and the Principal is always available for help. There are many good teachers also and the school is always clean and organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Discovery Key is a Science Magnet school that places a heavy emphasis on the sciences and nature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Mrs demmery is awesome! she is right up there in the ranks with mrs saberson! now thats teachers that need to be cloned. This is where our thanks lies this thanksgiving season. Thank you! parents of a current student! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Discovery Key is the best school my kids had been to. The teachers are wonderful and give kids lots of knowledge. When we were looking to build our new house I had picked this area because of DKE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Excellent school. Moving to florida from nj, I was nervous about my sons education. Discovery key is a+ academically and in every other area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Discovery Key is a wonderful school. It has a balanced curriculum, focused on science and reading, but with strong art and music programs as well. The administration, teachers, and parents work together to create an atmosphere where students want to come to school and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

First I'll direct the following three areas: academics is a touchy subject with my family when it comes to 'gifted', as far as typical academics each child is different as is the ability of certain teachers to teach academics. Music, Art, PE is wonderful at DKE. Parent involvment again is base by base, but we have a tremendous amount of help from our parents. I now will discuss my areas of concern. My child has not had the best of experience, not with the school as the school & principal are A+, but I am actually appalled at the level of desire by alot of these teachers. Out of 3 years, my son has had one year of a great experience and worthy achievement. That's all I'll say on the subject, just that some teachers should not be teaching, as they are not there for the benefit of our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This school is excellent! Each one of my children have gone there and they loved it. They have a wondeful music program and caring dedicated teachers too. They have an outstanding PTA and there are so many people who help out the teachers there hardly have to do anything that takes them away from the students. Just a great school overall, the principal is outstanding, he really knows his stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

I really I am happy with the school. It's very clean, organized, everyone is friendly and I would recommend highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

DKE is a great school with a focus on science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

Great Science based school. The kids are very well instructed, with caring teachers. They get good hands on attention from the teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

Both my children have gone to dke since they were 5 years old.dke is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you ANLC for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the worl
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

Our Family moved into this school district over the holidays this past year. My son hasn't always enjoyed school however, since attending he has mentioned on several occasions how much he enjoys this school and is happy to get up and get dressed each day. My hat is off to the school and to his A+ teacher Ms. Janczky for their dedication to each student and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Discovery Key is just the best! We moved to Palm Beach in august of 2003. I will say this was the best move in our twins education! Not only are the teachers and staff great...but ,the love & dedication they show has the up-most high aptitude. They have our greatest respect for the professional charecter they represent the school with. And most of all, for the love and heart they all put into what they do in this school is indescribable! This school has a passionate heart for what they do! & I see nothing but great success in the future of the little lives they teach. 'Thank you discovery key for all you do.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The education is one of best and most exciting. The principal is a very practical man that wastes no words he is always clear when he addresses the parents or staff. He always has time to listen to the children when they want to speak with him. The vice principal is always busy taking care of his duties in the background with out need for the spotlight. The staff at the school was hand picked with special attention for their credentials and love of their profession. The office staff, cafeteria and janitorial are all pleasant and most helpful. The atmosphere is always upbeat. My experience with teachers couldn t be better, Mrs. Yurick, Mrs. Hindes, Mrs. Segal and Mrs. Smith and Detteling are all wonderful and the late Mrs. Hawthorne. The Art, Music, PE, Computer, Media, Science and Special Ed. (ESE) teacher are an asset. Last but not least the Nurse with her TLC is a welcome sight for your ill child. The PTA is one of the most productive I ve ever encountered. Volunteering at DKE is the best with incredible numbers of service. The parents that are interested are informed of those needs by nightly e-mail. The parents of DKE kids are of the best quality. The family feeling that permeates the school through ice-cream socials, evening star gazing, book fairs, concerts, not to mention the annual carnival, keeps the children wanting to come. All of these wonderful people, curriculum and management help to make Discovery Key a superior place to educate your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

Being new to this area (moving here from Chicago, IL), I was very leary about the 'Florida Schools'. I am so very pleased to report that not only was I satisfied, but the Teachers and Staff were wonderful! Specifically, Mrs. Yurick (4th Grade), was simply the best teacher I've ever come across. Further, the Kindergarten program was also very good and attentive to the children. The Administration at the school is very welcoming and warm. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Discovery Key is a science based school. Besides the wonderful music and art teachers plus computer room and PE specials, the children also have regular large blocks of time in the science room where they explore, hands-on and in-depth, different science subjects according to grade level (plants growing, owl pellet dissection, planets -with several optional night observation times with high tech equipment-, computer techn etc.... PTA and parental involvement is phenonemal (their spring carnival was incredibly well organized and successful, even though it was only their second year). Teachers were handpicked by principal for their interest in teaching in science based school (and it shows!). Children get to participate in special projects with careful and long term observation (there is a thriving garden, an observation pond stocked with various fish and other amphibians, one class maintained a hydroponic garden). The rooms are big and bright, hallways wide, everything is new and clean. All in all a wonderful school, only in it's 3rd year but with excellent and enthusiastic leadership from principal and PTA. My son had options to go to different schools (gifted program, ...) but was adament about staying at Discovery Key.


Posted May 9, 2003

You won't find a better school--public or private--in all of Palm Beach County!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 26%
Black 9%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%73%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3550 Lyons Road
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 491-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT