Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Suncoast Christian Academy

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lake Worth

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2010

A wonderful Christian school. My Children are high achieving readers and they are taught The Bible daily. They are growing up with high morals and integrity and a high sense of self worth. The staff is caring. The tuition is high but it is lower than other Christian schools in the area. Both my children have attended since Kinder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I love SCA, and so does my daughter. The school has grown so much this is my daughter 3rd year there. She has grown so much and has become a very verbal, self assured little girl. The staff is very, very very, caring and will go the extra mile for their student. My daugher, love computer, she was in the chrous, science fair, and very active in her student life. Thanks to all the teacher for their support and special thanks to Miss Hill who always has a kind word to saty to parents, students and her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

The years at Suncoast were the best ever! My children wouldn't be who they are if it wasn't for this school. They love to read and enjoy daily chapel. Parents are invited to attend chapel every friday. There is beforecare and aftercare available. They just added dance classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

The teacher student ratio in the school is incredible. Some of the teachers at the school have been there for many years. The school is very safe with restricted access. The director is very knowledgeable and has increased the facilities and transportation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

You think when you pay for private school you will get smaller class rooms and a better education for your child. Not true. It depends on the teacher. This school has new teachers that do not know how to handle their classroom. Sometimes its the teachers. Not the student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

My daughter started going to this school in 2nd grade. The school had a great principal, the teachers were very pleasant and my daughter looked forward to going to school everyday. There is now a new principal that took over and the teachers are not as happy as they were in the past and my daughter has a new teacher who seems to think she is teaching military school. My daughter dreads going to school and says her teacher is not nice. We are taking her out of this school due to lack of concern on education but more concern on dress code. The new principal has done nothing to better the school and is there for a job, not as a person who needs to show care or concern for the kids, this school has become a total let down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Suncoast Christian Academy has been a big disappointment to our family. School has really gone down over the past year. We thought a small school would be a good thing for our child, but this is a very, very small school. My child has been enrolled since kindergarten. P.E., arts, computer programs are basically nonexistent. Luckily the teachers follow a specific curriculum from A Beka because I'm not sure what their educational backgrounds are. Sometimes feels like we're homeschooling. If you have a problem with a teacher, excuses are always made for the teacher by directors; they always stand behind the teacher. Security in the school is also nonexistent; front door is always open and the school sits right on a very busy major road. We are currently looking for a new school and will not send other siblings to Suncoast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Nice small school. Director is easy to speak with and will work with your child if he/she needs a few accomodations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 23%
White 23% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (561) 965-7245

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5561 Hypoluxo Road
Lake Worth, FL 33463
Phone: (561) 641-1446

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Royal Palm School
Lantana, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT