Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lake Worth, FL
Students enrolled: 2,932
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Park Vista Community High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
The APs , counselors, teachers, and coaches keep their student's engaged in education and always persist the students to take rigorous courses and they dont have an issue with giving future education advice.

Park Vista Community High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
Some of the kids are disrespectful while others have home training. But most of the students lack genuine respect for one another. Everyone always has something to say.


Park Vista Community High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
The students and teachers at times have this amazing bond with one another however it would be great if this amazing bond could be formed within the student body amongs the different diversities of students present.

Park Vista Community High School 3

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
Everyone has their cliques and groups. No idiosyncrasy is present- almost everyone dresses the same- MK bags, sky blue jeans, expensive shoes and sandals, polos, Sperrys, keds, toms, leggings, ironed thin hair, on bad days messy buns and sweat pants. And black girls need to be treated with more respect. Some to most of the students are very snobby, disrespectful to other students and teachers, ungrateful. In the end, this schools has a great education system, but the social life amongs students is just poor. Friendships are made and held with fake 2 faced kids. In the end you just have to find the crowed you fit in with and trust me you'll find it. Like mentioned earlier everyone has their groups they fit in.

Park Vista Community High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
Most but not all of the teacher's have experience in teaching their student's. Some teacher's have a better way of teaching their material then others and some of the teachers have what it takes to reach their students effectively.


Park Vista Community High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 28, 2015
- a student
But the amount of work you have depends on the courses your are taking and their rigor

Park Vista Community High School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
So focused on the students and their quality of education! Tries so diligently to keep students and parents informed and involved!

Park Vista Community High School 1

Posted June 27, 2013
- a community member
I transferred here from the IB program in Atlantic High School and compared to Atlantic this school is HORRIBLE. this school has little options (such as classes and electives) for students like me. They also transferred me to regular classes so I went from IB to regular. This school is way way WAY too crowded for me. The students are THE most disrespectful kids I have ever met in my life. The guidance counselors offer no guidance like they are supposed to. If I can give this school 0 stars, I would.
2 people found this helpful


Park Vista Community High School 2

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
We just moved to FL from out of state and chose a home based on the proximity to "good" schools. I'm afraid we have yet to be impressed with Park Vista. They decided to let all 3000 students share the same lunch period this year, which means there's no place for students to sit and eat, except on the ground with the ants. My calls to the school concerning this and another issue were never returned. My child is in an Honors Language Arts class where the teacher talks about assorted topics which may or may not have to do with what they are supposed to be learning. Dress code is not enforced. The athletics programs are good, which is the only positive my child talks about. Apparently the bar is set pretty low in FL for educating our children. Don't our children deserve better? I'm hoping to have a better impression of the school by the end of the year. If not, we will likely be moving our child to another school.
1 person found this helpful

Park Vista Community High School 1

Posted June 07, 2012
- a community member
your school has attained national recognition because of the two little unapologetic upper class appearing cretins ... uh, i mean darling little sweethearts that stole money from the little girl scout who was selling cookies. bad enough that they did it, but posting a video and mugging for a photographer where they basically brag about it and were upset that they ''didn't even get to keep the money''. we're not talking about underprivledged kids from low income homes here either. ''we saw that money and it was ours''. they needed it to put gas in her car or buy a new cellphone? sounds horrible enoght, but after they were taken out of school by the police THEY WENT TO THE PLACE THE 9 YEAR OLD WAS AND STOOD TEN FEET AWAY AND TAUNTED HER WHILE THEY SWIGGED THEIR STARBUCKS... i hope the judge see the video and throws the book at them and this gets put on their school transcript so the college they apply to can see what they're accepting with these two little darlings. i wouldn't be surprised to see this happen in watts, or east LA or harlem, but i guess palm beach is raising it's own brand of arrogant little suburban trash. how'd ya like for your son to take her to the prom...
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park Vista Community High School
7900 Jog Road, Lake Worth, FL  33467
(561) 491-8400
Last modified Park Vista Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Park Vista Community High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. Top