Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 899 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

This school is disappointing, there are many students who get in fights, cuss, bring weapons, and much more. Just this year a girl hung herself from a tree on property because she was bullied from other students. A few students were stabbed by another student on school property. The school has 2% more unqualified teachers on their staff. There are many other things that happen. There is a ton of drama, teachers may see things happen, but usually will not help the so called victim. The education is below average, but in my opinion education is the least of there problems.


Posted August 15, 2013

This school has it's weaknesses but I gave it a 5 star rating because I would not move anywhere else if my parents forced me to.


Posted October 20, 2012

this school is horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is too many fights and the principal won't do anything about it!!!!!!!!! my kid came home with a black eye.he is now transfering to the case academy of crystal lake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

I transferred to south west from crystal lake in 08 and i do have to say it was a mush better improvement. A few complaints though i was in the AP courses it didn't get me prepared for the amount of work or what was expected of me in high school. the teachers were friendly some were stricter than others but they were decent teachers. there were fights but that happens and practically every school but they weren't that often.


Posted July 24, 2010

I honestly loved this school. The key in success is Southwest is becoming involved. Their groups and clubs are strong and allow you to do and expand on so much. I've read over most of the negative reviews and yes, I realize there are teachers there that could put forth more effort, but while I was there, I had some of the most genuine, hard working teachers and they have made such a good influence on me. People need to remember that there will never be a perfect, model school. Upon the negative experiences, a student should learn to grow and cope from the situation. It's just a fact of life. We're always going to be with people who we don't get along with or don't see eye to eye too. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed attending this school and will never forget all that I had gained from it.


Posted May 23, 2010

My child started going to this school after the first semester, and the things she comes home and tells me, just blows my mind! Fights are out of control! She has not had a single piece of homework since shes been there.I Honestly dont believe she is learning anything at all! She will not be returning to this school next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2010

My daughter just started going to this school and I am unsatisfied with this school. I feel that there are very FEW teachers who actually care about the kids! She has P.E. but they dont make them play sports, all they do is walk the track and talk to their friends! Crazy! Hoping to change schools before next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

We transferred our daughter from a charter school to SWMS this school year. We were apprehensive as she had always been enrolled in a small school environment with a much higher great schools score. The accelerated program has been wonderful! She is fully engaged by her teachers. I like the way the accelerated staff use a multidisciplinary approach to teaching. In sixth grade english they have studied the works of Shakespeare, Edith Hamilton and Maya Angelou. The art teacher is phenominal and they offer a rich array of electives and extracurricular activities not available at most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

I am currently enrolled at swms and I really like it a lot i went to shms (sleepy hill middle school) last year and swms was a big improvement the electives are good but, they could be harder. I might have to transfer to lcms (lawton chiles middle school formerly lakeland high school) which i am not looking forward because their uniform is very strict but it is an overall better school and UNFORTUNATLY education is the most important thing for me ( my great looks are second)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2010

SWMS is a 5 star school! The faculty, staff and administration are always willing to go the exra mile to be sure all students are challenged to do their best. Rigorous academics and an outstanding elective program ensures all kids are getting a well rounded and focused curriclum. Additionally, SWMS has many after school programs to engage not only students but their parents as well. The biggest negative about SWMS is the lack of parental involvement. Very few parents attend parent programs offered by the school, or attend band, chorus, sports programs, etc., Southwest Middle School continues to get an A+ rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Southwest Middle School, aka SWMS, is the best school in Lakeland, Florida. Southwest Middle School teachers and administrative personnel have endured overwhelming challenges with their students, yet everyone remain dedicated to teaching and promoting positive ideas to all students. This school has faced many challengies. Before my grandson became a student at Southwest, I always heard many negative happenings at Southwest Middle and I had decided I would not enroll him at SWMS due to such negative happenings. My grandson has had to be disciplined for many images! Many I am not proud of! However, many people rallyed around him to help his get over some difficult problems. I recognize these people (teachers, secretaries, school nurse, librians, principal, deans and others have help him through. His mother died in 2008 and these very same people were kind enough to give cash gifts in order to help with her burial (she had no life insurance). The best school is Southwest Middle School. It is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I had 2 kids at SWMS. One was there for 2 years & the other for 1 yr. My kids were being bullied, there were fights all the time. When they would walk or ride bikes home kids would try & start fights with them. Trying to talk to a Superior was hard b/c you could never get hold of one. They were always 'busy' or in a 'meeting'. My kids hated it there. The fights were getting so out of hand I had to call the School Boards Head of Safety to get the superiors to do their jobs right, including the S.R.O. I would not recamend this school. It is also very crowed & un organized. My kids will never go back to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I was a 7th grader last year at this school but i transferred for a list of reasons like so... The courses are so simple it is hard to get a F through a B,i really didn't learn anything and there were fights almost everyday that is why i transferred although there extracurricular Activities are very good.. need to spend more time with the academics
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

Im an 8th grader at southwest and ive been here since 6th grade. The teachers are awsome and they help you with any problem you have and some of the teachers you keep in touch with even as you move onto other grades. Im also in the TV production class SBN and I believe it is a great show and helps students and faculty know whats going on in a fun upbeat way. Sure the office is confusing at times but they have alot of work to do thats why its like that. There are many after and before school activities to help keep us busy with things that we enjoy. Overall I believe even though we have been getting this school, the faculty, and the students have left a positive outlook for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

The school is a great school the music program rocks mr.Cayer is the band teacher and he is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL I WENT THEIR FROM 04-07 AND I LOVED IT, THE STAFF AND FACULTY CALL THE STUDENTS BY NAME AND HAVE A PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH EACH STUDENT WHICH ENABLES THE FACULTY TO BETTER UNDERSTAND EACH STUDENT. THE GUIDANCE COUNCELORS ARE GREAT! THEY PERSONALLY WANT EACH AND EVERY STUDENT AND SWMS GRADUATE TO BE SUCCESSFULL. SOUTHWEST ALSO FINDS TIME TO HAVE AN EXCELLENT EXTRA CURRICULAR PROGRAM. THIS SCHOOL HAS AN INTERESTING BACKGROUND AND HISTORY ESTABLISHED IN 1957 SOUTHWEST MIDDLE SCHOOL HAS A HISTORY OF SEMINOLE PRIDE AND EXCELLENCE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

Between my two children, I have had to deal with the office for 6 years. It is always chaotic and unorganized. It is very hard to talk to an adult. My children have had some great teachers, but because of the office it is hard to get in touch with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

This was a very great school, they have very nice and respectful teachers. I do not agree on the office situation, parents have to understand that the faculty there is very busy making sure the students are getting the best education possible. I am very impressed with this school, it helped me out a lot and the teachers kept me going and never let me lose focus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2006

I agree with the statement about calling the office and when you ask to speak to someone they are in a meeting or in the cafeteria. After two years, I am still not impressed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I think the office is very unorganized and short when you call them regarding your children. Everyone is always in the cafeteria or unavailable. Parents who wish to be in the know, have a hard time getting any kind of help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

287 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Black 25%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN WILSON
Fax number
  • (863) 499-2762

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2815 Eden Parkway
Lakeland, FL 33803
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Joseph's School
Lakeland, FL





The Monarch School
Lakeland, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT