Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Combee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 736 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

This school is absolutely horrible if your child is zoned for this school MOVE! That's how awful it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

my granddaughter goes to this school. the teachers are great and so is the staff. they are willing to do what it takes to help students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

I love Combee my son is now 7 going on 8 into 2nd grade great teachers!!! Straite A's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

My son has been in this school since grade 1 (he is now in 5th grade). The school has come a long way from when my son first started. There is a new principal and the teachers are always there to help you with anything. They offer tutoring programs (my son used this a lot last year for the Writing) and this year they seem to have a focus on technology. I hope to find a school with a staff as dedicated as this one in middle school. If you have avid readers, your kids will love their classrooms! They have many books although I wish they had more in the school library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

Combee is heading the right way and that is because of the great leadership of our principal as well as my coworkers. We also have many parents who take an active role which is very helpful. I have worked in other schools, and overall I have to admit that the staff is great (both socially and academically). The school went from a C to a B and I am sure that we will achieve an A in 2008. There is this pride within the staff to excel and in the end, the children are the ones to benefit from this.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2007

I have three children that go to Combee Elementary. The teachers are great. They were going to another school which is supposed to be one of the best in Lakeland. One of my daughters did not know how to spell her name or much less write any of her ABCs's. When we moved and they came to Combee in January, she can spell her full name, gets up in front of the class and reads, and knows all of her alphabet and can write them. So as for the teachers they are the best. But I do admit that the ladies in the office need to find another line of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

Combee is a great school! The teachers care about their students and go the extra mile to help them achieve. It is really sad when parents would rather toss blame on people who are trying to help, instead of taking responsibility for their child's misbehavior and working with the teachers to help correct it. I think it is amazing that the teachers continue to do all that they do while having to deal with these types of parents. I have two children at Combee and I guarantee you could find better teachers at any privet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

My son attended this school for 3 years before I took him out and put him in private school. The teachers don't care if the children learn or not, and the principal only cares about getting as many students as she can on drugs to be able to control them better. My son was a D and F student in this school and when I put him in another school he is now a 4.0 student. He also scores in the top 2% in the state on the FCATS for his grade. Now tell me what is the problem with this picture? He has been back in public school for the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 27% 29%
Black 17% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 82%66%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steven Comparato
Fax number
  • (863) 284-4421

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2805 Morgan Combee Rd
Lakeland, FL 33801
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




ESE Countywide
Lakeland, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT