Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crystal Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2013

they seem alright they seem to have a high standard of learning i do wish they started at 8:30 so my k daughter wouldnt cry in the morning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

My child attends this school and has had nothing but problems from the very start. We moved here 8 months ago and she has been bullied from day ONE. I have begged for help from the principal and even going as far as speaking with the local sheriff and I have gotten NO results. The school has even told my child to fight back. I do not agree with that , fight fire with fire. What school teaches this to there students? When she started this school we signed a NO bullying contract and it's suppose to be a no tolorance county. But as far as I can see that paper was a wasted tree cause it means nothing. My option is this school needs to be revised by the school borad and a new principal needs to be in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

The Dept. of Education needs to put this school under a microscope! My son attended this school and struggled for years I asked for help to find out why and they could not tell me all they said was he didn't have any problem, we moved out of state & upon arrival his new school within a month found he had Dyslexia! If it wasn't for his new school and getting him the assistance he needed he would never have been in the U.S. achievement academy of Whose who 4 yrs in a row! He makes honor grades now and entered HS with more than enough credits that he will be able to get his diploma and his associates at the same time! He is studying to become a Dr. Crystal Lake Elementary does need to be shut down if this was yrs ago and it still is having issues something is wrong! I remember even the faculty in the office was rude not helpful and it seemed they cared a less about the students all they were there for was a paycheck. It should be every parents Red Flag knowing what they are about to do to their child's future registering them in that school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My grand child is new to this school and has had a very positive experience. She looks forward to going and is making good progress. Her parents both work so my husband and I help her with homework and help get her to and from school. We have noticed a caring atmosphere and appreciate the organization that makes things easier for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The children who attend Crystal Lake Elementary School are amazing! Despite all the obstacles in their worlds, they show up, every day, hungry to learn and be loved. They were my inspiration to show up, every day, when I was battling Cancer, chemotherapy and radiation. So, wearing hats, to cover my baldness, and a mask, to prevent fatal complications, the children healed me with their compassion, gentleness and Love! Even the most challenging students comforted me 'closed ranks' around me, when my pain overwhelmed me! They were all my band of angels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

this school is doing good My son is doing good even after he has had a lot of drma in his life the past year but school has help him thru all this and his grades are good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

First half of year, hardly any homework. Enter Christmas break - a month's worth of homework, including a math workbook full of problems the students have never seen. Since Christmas break, 2 hours of homework every night. Never saw a math book brought home until we asked for it. Maybe if they would have them do a little math and a little reading every day, from the textbooks, starting at the beginning of the year, they wouldn't have to try to cram it all in now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

I feel that in this school's sad attempt to be the best, which they are far from, they've forgotten what it is to be a child. No more Christmas breaks to spend time with your family. Extra homework is now the reason for the season. I can understand as well as anyone how important tough academics is, but these are still children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

This school is now why my son does not like school. The school rules are changed on a weekly basis and they wonder why kids don't do what they are suppose to they don't know what they are doing. I have seen many cases of bullying. I am a very active parent when it comes to my kids education and every time I dealt with the administration it was nothing but a battle. If any one has an option get on a waiting list for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

I feel this school is in need of a lot of help. My daughter is a straight a student here. There is quite a bit of bulling going on. Which hasn't been taken care of. I feel that most of the teachers are pretty good, but some are not. I ask every year to make sure that the teachers will give the students their work back so I know how she is doing through-out the 9 week period. This is a challenge to get this done. And most importantly is the child drop off and pick up. This school is the worst in town for drop-offs. I feel like it needs some major construction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

My step-daughter attended this school in 5th grade. I was so disapointed with this school. With the exception of the music department I found this school complete lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

I moved to Florida from Michigan a little over 2 years ago and have had my son in this school for a year. He has always been an A-B student and within the past year has gone down to a D in one study! As soon as he started in this school we began dealing with numerous bully's who continue to not be dealt with. My son is a very caring, compassionate child who is not violent. This year alone i have been to and called the school concerning my sons safety over 10 times without resolution. I too never recieved a return phone called from the principle and eventually had to go through other venues to handle this matter including law enforcement. There is a complete lack of discipline, authority, and caring at this school. My son and i are ecstatic about moving to Lake Alfred.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

I've had my children at Crystal Lake for two years now. I've had no faculty support from anyone. I've tried getting in contact with at least one of the principals, but neither would get back to me. I've heard stories from my son about students hurting others and they are still allowed to roam school halls. This school has no discipline whatsoever. I recently found out that Crystal Lake is getting a new principal. Maybe that's a good thing, but I will not put my children with students who are violent next year. This school needs to be shut down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

I can't wait to enroll my children at another school! My daughter came home everyday crying because of other kids in first grade who were beating up other kids and still being allowed to come to school. I've tried many times to get in touch with the principals who would never return my calls. I met with my daughter's teacher a few times, but I felt it did not get us anywhere. My daughter has several learning disablities and I feel she did not get the help she desperately deserves. My son in Kindergarten is a good student. The school did nothing when an older boy attacked him on the PE field and gave him a severely fractured arm. Even with a new principal coming to the school, I don't think there is anything to bring that school back to what it was when I attended 20 years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

My children have done very well at CLES. They have been going there for 2 years both have A's & B'S. The teachers that I have dealt with are wonderful caring people and great teachers! I feel the major problem is discipline. A teacher has to go through 7 steps before a referal can be sent to the office. Thats where the ball gets dropped. The teachers hands are tied where discipline is concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2004

Teachers do nothing about a child threatening another child. Clinic personnel are not qualified for their positions. Not enough special help for children with special needs. I took my child out of this school and put him in an adhd school which is a charter school and we the teacher and I have seen progress in him in 3 weeks he has been going there after 2 years in kindergarten at CLES. Goes to show you what can happen when a school helps children with special needs. I've had nothing but problems out of this school with 2 of my children for 3 years. When you have a problem you see the assistant principal and he never returns your calls and you never see the principal unless it's a PTA meeting. Overall I think the education they get is nothing compared to what they need. This school wants the parents to give the children their education not the teachers. Over all the school has gone downhill since my daughter started there in 1997. I have another daughter starting school in 2006 and I will do everything in my power to send her to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

I feel that the teachers don't take the necessary time they need and help the students that need extra help. There is no teacher communication. Students bullying other students and the teachers don't do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 23%
White 31% 42%
Hispanic 30% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joseph Griffin,jr
Fax number
  • (863) 603-6329

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Galvin Dr
Lakeland, FL 33801
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2966

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


ESE Countywide
Lakeland, FL





The Monarch School
Lakeland, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT