Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

461 students|Polk
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dixieland Elementary School 2

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
My oldest daughter has been a student at this school from pre k all the way to 5th grade. My youngest is now in 1st..If this review were 3 years ago i would say nothing but wonderful things about the school, staff,and administration however ever since the school changed principals a couple years ago this place is quickly falling apart. the new administration has no connection with students or parents much less the teachers she employs. There is nothing being done about bullying or behavior issues and these students and issues have forced all the quality teachers to go elsewhere. The principal employed at this school has completely changed my opinion of sending my children here. The principal of this school lacks the passion that an administrator should have and seems to only think of her position as a"job". I sent my children to this school by choice as we were not in the zoned area, however with everything going on now i will not be allowing my daughter to return next year. I have overheard several teachers talking between themselves and many unethical things are goung on where it concerns the administration. It is every sad to see this happen to such a once great school deminish this way due to the principal. Almost all of the original teachers have left and if that doesnt speak for its self im not sure what else there is to say.

Dixieland Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is great! My daughter loves her teachers and the principal which is rare that student can identify the administration. She is only in Kindergarten but I can tell that she is learning how to be a great writer. They have great activities for families to become involved with the educational process. We walk to school and it is the Principal who "guards" or greets students first thing in the morning when they are headed to breakfast and the Assistant Principal who greets the Kindergartners. I live just down the street and routinely see the principal's car there well past seven each night. The entire staff is dedicated and they always wear smiles as an accessory.


Dixieland Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
I wrote a review about my concern about the school security but I must say that my second child is a kindergardener there and is learning a lot! And the staff seem to be on point. So far I'm very pleased.

Dixieland Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
My son was a student there and it was terrible!! My son's teacher was a first year teacher who let the classroom run wild. My son learned nothing this year, except for white get bullied. My son was one of three white children in his class, and was picked on daily. There is no playground for the school or safe outside area. The children play outside at a public park with almost no supervision. The principal doesn't care at all. Talked to her several times, and she had no solutions, and never looked into my son's bullies. I was so afraid he was going to be behind, so I had to do supplement him so he would learn something this year. They don't care if your child learns or not. I am homeschooling next year, I can't do any worse than they are doing.

Dixieland Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
I love this school! My daughter has been attending now for 2 years and absolutely loves it. The teachers don't just teach, but they instill good moral principles into the students through genuine love and respect. The staff is very approachable and have always been eager to address any concerns I've had. Id like to move out of Lakeland one day but not until all 3 of mine are through with elementary school. You don't find schools like this anymore.


Dixieland Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
I am Vonshear Adams IV mother and I believe my child has been doing really good in this school and I really appericate whatyou have done for my child Thank you so much for the great education you have provided for my child

Dixieland Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
Poor security , they have a big entrance at front , but the kids have to go around the school and every day I can't see if my son enter there or not. Because I am not able to see him... Then after breakfast instead to go to the classroom , kids have to go back outside (park) again . They said there is a teacher around the school watching the kids, well ,one day I parked at the park because I didn't see anybody , and yes there was not anybody watching the kids, i went back to the school front and I told a lady and she said , oo ok I ll call the office so they can send somebody... NO SECURITY

Dixieland Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
i love this school it has a great location with great teachers and staff and a great principle we love dixieland elementary


Dixieland Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We moved last year to Texas and a new school didstrict. We researched the local area and chose a house in the area ofwhat was listed as an exemplary school . We are now in the process of moving our family back to Florida because we miss Dixieland so much. It is an amazing school, with amazing teachers and an amazing administrative staff. This school should be a model for all other schools in my opinion.

Dixieland Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
I love it. It's the best school ever. Dixieland Elementary has the best teachers and staff, and the Dixie chicks it in the kitchen cook the best food ever. I am proud to work there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dixieland Elementary School
416 Ariana Street, Lakeland, FL  33803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (863) 499-2930
Last modified Dixieland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top