Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Philip O'Brien Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 636 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Phillip O'Brien is an awesome school. My daughter has been there since 2011 for kindergarten and now 1st grade. Her teachers' are the best. The principal and assistant principal strive to make sure the children are in a safe, loving, and enriching environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

My School is the best one ever! You should go! It's awesome and amazing! I love this school!


Posted June 2, 2013

My 2 boys have been at Lime Street/ Philip O'Brien since the 2006-2007 school year. This has to be one of the BEST schools in Lakeland! The front office staff would have to be the nicest people I have ever met. As for the Principal, In all the years she has been there she has done a wonderful job of taking care of what needs to be taken care of. All the teachers my boys have had at Philip O'Brien, with the exception of my oldest sons 2nd grade teacher, are the most caring group of teachers I have ever come across. The only thing my youngest son had was the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I have two children at this school. I have been very pleased with the work of my children's teachers. They encourage my children to do their best and give me plenty of opportunities to be involved in the different school activities. The principal and the office staff are helpful and promptly address any concerns you may have. Overall, they do their best with the resources they have and parents/guardian involvement is highly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Philip O'Brien Elementary is definitely an A school in more than one way. The principal and assistant principal are extraordinary, the teachers are wonderful, and the rest of the staff members are always friendly and helpful. Everyone works hard to create a positive learning environment for the students, and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

Look out this school has really gone down hill almost all these reviews are out dated Mr O Brien is gone and the current principal has little back bone and the worst thing is Violence is now being allowed so look out!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I love Lime Street, the teachers are super there and you can count on everyone for help. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Lime Street is by far the greatest Elementary school I have ever had the pleasure to have children in (I have 5 total). I currently have 3 children in Lime Street and all around, you could not ask for a better school! **Note: Miss More is the greatest kindergarten teacher!**
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I had both of my children transferred to LimeStreet and love it....the teachers are very compassionate, involved & devoted. Principal & Asst. Principal are great...all the staff are very dedicated. I have yet to hear of a better elementary school in Lakeland, and the fact that they have been an 'A' rated school for so many years gives testement to the fact that they try very hard not only for the kids but to stay up to standards for the State of Florida as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

After sending my daughter to lime street for 3 years, I must say she had 2 excellent teachers and 1 good one, Ms.Bundy and Mrs Roberts are the best in the field,in my humble opinion. And Mr.Fields is also tops. As far as administrative staff go, Mr Obrien and Mrs Crawford are the best also. Our 3 years at lime street are what memories are made of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

I think Lime Street is a wonderful school overall. I have 2 kids going there, one in 2nd, and the other in kindergarten. The teachers are very easy to interact with, and my kids love going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I have two children in Lime Street, and we have been more than satisified overall. My boys cannot imagine going anywhere else. Principal and Assistant Principal are fantastic. We have had problems with a couple teachers, but were able to work things out. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Two of my children have attended Lime Street Elementary. The teachers are compassionate and have a desire for their students to learn. The main driver of this school's success of receiving a grade of A is because they encourage parent participation and a majority of the parents assist in their children's education. The principle and vice principle as well as the staff are very organized and it is seen while on campus. I haven't heard a parent yet in my neighborhood dislike this wonderful school. I wish the middle schools ran in such an orderly fashion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

I feel Lime Street needs more training in the areas of ADHD and other related illnesses. Also some of the teachers there need to realize there are going to be 'special' kids and not all kids are of the same cloth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

I had my daughter in Limes Street's Kindergarten class with Ms. More. Ms. More is excellent and I could not have had a better teacher for my daughter. Lime Street as a whole is wonderful. The office staff is fantastic and I was impressed on how Mr. O'Brien knows all the kids names. He is always outside during drop off and pick up times and always says hello. The cafeteria staff and all the teachers are exceptional. If you ar econsidering this school for your child, don't waste another minute... this is the school you want your child to start their education or to continue their education. It truly deserves the 'A' rating they get every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

My child attended Lime Street Elementary for the first time last year. The quality of the schoold over-all is great. Music is available however Art is not. There is a good level of parent involvement within the school. I am a parent volunteer and am happy to be part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have been a parent at Lime Street for 10 years now. My Son started there in kindergarten and is now in the 9th grade. My daughter is now in the 4th grade. The Teacher's are dedicated to all of the student's. We love all of the Teacher's, Principal, the school nurse, the Ladies in the office,Coach,and allthe staff we love you lime street...PTO would love more volunteer's:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

My daughter started Lime Street last year (K) and she and I both love it. The teachers are wonderful, hard working, concerned people and the administrators have treated us like family. We are both looking forward to paricipating in 1st grade at Lime Street.


Posted May 21, 2003

I have 3 children who attend this school. The youngest started K this past year. I believe all parents should be required to spend a certain number of hours per year providing support for field trips etc. I attended a rescent field trip and saw first hand the work that teachers do and the problems they face every day. i was amaazed. i want to congradulate the teachers of this school for their spirit and involvement. The schoool this past year got rezoned and more children came to the school through the rezoning. It was a rough going I believe for a couple of months but the new children quickly saw the dedication of the staff to keep this school tops among elementary schools.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Black 27% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Merri Crawford
Fax number
  • (863) 688-8774

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1225 Lime St E
Lakeland, FL 33801
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph's School
Lakeland, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT