Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Medulla Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 596 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

This is A great school Both of my grandson attend there and have been for 4 years. An I myself have been a Volunteer there for 3 years....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2013

Many of the concerns that these reviews are stating could be improved or changed IF we had parental involvement in our schol. We have such little Involvement from parents that Medulla now lacks a PTA/PTO. Without the parents actively trying to help make changes come about, Thngs such as campus safety concerns, creating playgrounds or demanding recess time will never happen. We teachers are rarely listened to, but parents are. So please get more involved in making things happen at "your" school instead of just complaining.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2013

Really dislike this school. Recently moved to the Lakeland area for a change but turns out to be the biggest mistake when it comes to putting my child in this school. This school lacks in loving teachers and staff. No playground, let alone no recess. Safety is a big concern of mine at this school, open campus. Something needs to be done with this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

My son started going to this school in the 1st grade. He's currently in the 5th grade. It started out amazing, and I believe it was the 2 teachers he had for his 1st through 3rd grades. They got the most out of him, and were very organized, professional, and talented (Mrs Hood & Mrs Borg-Lafay). They got him reading 2 grades above his level. Starting in 4th grade things started to change, and I felt the quality was not the same. The 4th grade teacher seemed disorganized, and whenever we had a P/T conference, she would do all the talking. She was a nice person, but I just don't think she was as good of a teacher as the 1st 2. In 5th grade the kids have multiple teachers, and one of them is truly awful. The relationship between my son and teacher is just toxic, and he's acting out. Our son has been singled out on her "bad" list (an actual list) and she hasn't replied to most of our requests. His reading started to decline in 4th, and his level is now lower than the level he attained in 3rd grade. Also, odd that he has less homework now than he had the first few years. The school is okay, and I just wanted to point out that teachers can have a huge impact on your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I have been fortunate to have been able to be a parent volunteer at Medulla for the past four years. I have worked with just about every grade level and they are all fantastic teachers. The staff at Medulla put all of their effort into their students wholeheartedly. My two children have had the best education and learning experience that any school could ever have offered. I see some of these reviews and wonder if these people are talking about the same school. These descriptions of Medulla and the teachers are not at all what I have encountered. I spend at least a day and a half at Medulla every week. I help out in all kinds of capacities. I meet many students and parents, and interact with much of the staff. I wonder if angry reviews come from parents who have put as much effort into helping to educate their child as they have writing the review. I know that most of us parents cannot spend days at school interacting with teachers. But take it from someone who is lucky enough to be able to do that the teachers at Medulla Elementary are the finest there are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

my son went to this school for a short while every thing the person bleow said is true the principal is the meanst woman you ever saw I think she hates her job or something she is aweful they lose kids at dissmal because it is like goning to a rock concert run away from this school screaming if you are zoned here ask for a transfer to another school not even worth one star zero stars zero!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Medulla used to be a wonderful school. Teachers would teach their whole 30 years there. There were never any openings unless someone retired.It was a family. Then they got a new principal and now a new assistant principal.They are ruining a once great school.The teachers are so unhappy.Morale is beyond low.The administration is mean-spirited,has favorites,is not fair,does not respect or value its teachers.They allow the students to run wild.The lunchroom is a zoo.The hallways are race tracks.The childen are out of control and the administration does nothing to support its teachers.Actually they even discourage the teachers from sending students to the office for discipline.They do not want to be bothered.Each year since they have been there the school has progressively gotten worse.We parents will not be surprised if Medulla earns a D this year.Maybe then the District will get rid of them and Medulla will return to its greatness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Because it's now comprised of affluent but a rainbow group of children. I never hear or see any negative reports eminating from it either from the children or the staff. So I applaud them in these tenuous time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The staff at Medulla does everything in their power to teach these children that come in each and every day. We need technology so desperately and this money could do that for us so these children have what other schools have. This way they have a fighting chance at the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

It has the best teachers,paras, and students!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My son started at Medulla Elementary from Kindergarten and is now in the 8th grade. My two daughters are currently at Medulla, one in 1st grade and the other in 5th grade. I've never met a teacher, staff, para... that doesn't have the children's best interests at heart. The principal, coach, secretary and some of the other teachers have been there since my son started, and even the 'newer' teachers are awesome. When searching for our home to buy, it was a bit tough because we refused to move out of Medulla's school district. I love the school and most importantly my children do too. Medulla is the BEST school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Medulla has a fabulous staff. The teachers put students first and go out of their way to meet the needs of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Medulla cares about their students and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

Neat history, awesome teachers, diverse student population
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

We moved from another state and was very disappointed in the school system but this school for sure. We had 2 of our children at Medulla for 2 years and that is all I could take, ESE issues were just a bunch of complaints and not any real help or advise to fix academic issues. Now as for teachers were wonderful. I actually feel sorry for the teachers at that school and the only reason we kept our kids in there that long was the 2 teachers they had for 2007/08 school year which of course my daughters 1st grade teacher didnt come back this year, what a loss, my 1st grader was a straight A student all year and did she get recognition? not from the school, her teacher had her own awards, they need to learn to support their students and teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I have been teaching at Medulla for several years now and love it there! My co-workers and I are all very dedicated professionals who do everything we can for our students. Many of the problems previously listed are district related vs school issues. Lunch time is a big problem (I have learned to eat very quickly!) but it is due to the small lunchroom and large enrollment. The first class goes to lunch before 11, but the last class ends their lunch after 1. With so many students it is hard to schedule more time per class. Another issued mentioned was the requirements for KG students which is a district desicion. Art has been a concern in the past without a consistent Art teacher, but with a new arrival this last year, we have seen a lot more formal art instruction and even held our First Art Fair in May.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2008

I think Medulla Elementary is a school with potential. my daughter attends 2nd grade there with a wonderful teacher. She active within the community and actually cares about what my daughter is doing and how she feels. Very old school and I love it. You may find varied opinions about the staff depending on the situation, but I have nothing but friendly encounters with the office staff. I do agree agree about the small amount of time given to eat lunch. My daughter tells e she has to hurry and hardly finishes her lunch without talking. Also, I went to school there are a child, so it has a special place in my heart with good memories. One thing has changed, they dont do artwork like they used to. I would bring many things home to my parents from art class, but she brings home crayon art or cut out art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

I think Medulla is a great school. It might not be the best, but at least they try. My son is in Kindergarten and I think it is ridiculous that he has to know over 70 words and be able to write full sentences on his own. I heard that they started recess last year and I was excited that he would get to play outside this year in Kindergarten, but he says they never go outside, only at PE. As far as art goes, they do different projects that stay in the art room until they are finished. Alot of stuff they do is only temporary anyway and it's not to take home(like clay). I have been on campus alot and I think they are doing an excellent job with the Garden Club. Safety is a real issue. Kids out alone with nobody out to supervise. Anyone could take them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school lacks in all areas. I don't even Know were to begin. The principal doesn't seem to do anything to improve the school. Its 100 years old and looks it. Safety is a big concern of mine at this school, open campus. Cleanliness is another, bathrooms, classrooms, and the campus could all improve. No playground for kids, but at least this year they do allow recess. They are kids you know. Art class? what art, I never see anything that my chid as done. They never use paint only pencil & crayons sometimes. Whats up with that. Don't expect the lunch staff to actually help your child with their lunch. If they can't reach something they don't get it. But that doesn't really matter because they are lucky if they even have time to eat their lunch. This school is below average and the school board should do something about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

The office staff and assistant principal are warm and professional. Principal not friendly or professional at all. They are not setting a good example for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 33%
Black 18%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 211%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. SUSAN G CHEATHAM
Fax number
  • (863) 648-3214

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Schoolhouse Road
Lakeland, FL 33813
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 648-3515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT