Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Lakeland Elementary School Of Choice

Public | PK-5 | 671 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2012

This is a good school. My 6th grader didn't want to leave last year. The teachers work VERY hard and really care about the kids. I volunteer there and have seen the teachers give so much to the kids. The principal is great and works very hard to make it a good school. The staff is friendly and very helpful. If you don't like this school or have heard bad things about it from other people, GO VOLUNTEER and then see what your opinion is then. Your perspective should change. Yes this school may not be in the best area but we are happy there and I can feel good about leaving my kids there knowing that people actually care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

This is a great school for children with SPECIAL needs. Ms. Byrd is an excellent teacher and I have observed the others who teach special needs classes are also very good teachers. My daughter has learned to read through their innovative new reading program, which was something we had only dreamed of! I have found everyone to be friendly and helpful. The neighborhood the school is in is not the best, but I have never seen anything to cause alarm. I have rated the parent involvement low based on my experience with the other parents in my child's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

North Lakeland is wonderful and the Teachers and Staff are Great!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Very disappointed, staff is unprofessional, and circulum is subpar. My child in kindergarten is bored out of his mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

PI love North Lakeland Elem I have 3 children there in grades K 2nd and 4th. my kids of all attended there since Pre-k. They love going and we feel confident sending them ther. I work as an adminastrator at a private school so I know what to look for in a quality learning atmosphere and North Lakeland has it all. Great Teachers Amazing Leadership and people who truly care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

This is a great school. I wish I could go here forever!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

This school is fantastic. My children love North Lkld Elem. Their staff and teachers are so kind and truly caring. They appreciate and welcome volunteers/parental involvement. They have so many programs in place to help students succeed. I just can't say enough good things about this school and I am so thankful my children have the opportunity to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I have one child attending first grade at this school and I have a few issues w/ it. I have had to have a conference w/ the teacher and principal on how stricked the teacher was being on him. I mean, she treated him like this was military camp and was given him a bad color just for having to speak to him once. But after the meetings, it seems to have gotten a little better. My son also has problems w/ some of the kids there. I would assume it's mostly because the school is in a bad neighborhood and if children have a lack of disciplane at home, they will also mistreat other kids at school. On the other hand, the teachers seem to care about the kids and have a lot of parential involvment. I feel like my son has progressed in learning, so the education is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

We have two children in N. Lakeland Elementary this year. Although we have been pleased with most of the teachers my feeling overall is that the children are not challenged enough. They seem to be behind other schools academically. But, I do feel that the kids are safe and any issues we have had have been addressed swiftly and efficiently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

North Lakeland Elementary is a wonderful school. My oldest is in fifth grade and has enjoyed his time there since kindergarten. It boasts a clean, organized, and student centered environment. Most of the teachers are well experienced, and most that I have come in contact with are very caring toward the students. There are several programs I have seen for the needs of different students from tutoring programs to gifted programs. The teachers are very involved with and concerned for their students and they have a great school counselor. I would recommend the school to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 39%
White 32%
Black 25%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%66%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. GREGORY DEAL
Fax number
  • (863) 499-2760

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 West Robson Street
Lakeland, FL 33805
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT