Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kathleen Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 2108 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My school is a great school. I am a Senior now and i am glad i have gotten to spend my entire 4 year high school career here. Teachers and Deans are great people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2010

I graduated Kathleen in 07... I had the image and seemed like a total rebel, but yet I was totally opposite inside. I loved my school, almost all of my teachers were spectacular once you get to know em and take their classes. Mr McClellan is doing a wonderful job with KHS. The staff, the ones I remember who are still there are like family to me. Mrs Penny attended my so called wedding...And my parents werent even there! I love the football team and follow them all the time. Im a proud Red Devil and will back up my school and Mr McClellan anyday. Mrs Coffin hands down is the best english teacher ever. Mrs Hill....EXCELLENT. The ag teacher, even tho i didnt take ag but one year...is awesome. Mrs Dobson and Mrs Scott, the criminal justice teachers are very smart in their field and are awesome teachers....very funny too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

I'm a former student at K.H.S and I loved it there!!! I had the best math teacher and the best aerobics and weight lifting teachers.They might not have the best studdents, but I promise you it would be an honor to graduate at KathLeen Senior High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Well I went there for 4 years. It is a good school. I did enjoy it. It could be better though I feel like by having better programs. $20,000 would do the school some good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I just graduated in May 2007. When I am out and about, I always hear negative things about KHS. It is unfortunate because most of the people who say those negative things have never stepped foot on the Devil ground. I love Kathleen and I enjoyed my time spent there. I was involved and very active around campus. I think the teachers are great, the principal, and heck all of entire staff is great! Students, don't let anyone try and talk you out of attending KHS! It's really not lal that bad! I promise!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

this school is a really great and fun school. I love coming here and don't want to graduate anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

KHS has a superior band program, a superior chorus program, top-notch basketball, soccer, football, volleyball, and swimming program, also Ag classes. What else does anyone need. Mr. McClellan is THE BEST! The office staff is warm and caring and the teaching staff is more than qualified to turn out A-one students. There are some troubled youth at the school, but that does not reflect on the administration or the staff, only on the parents. Where are the parents of some of these youth? The ones that fail are because of the lack of parental support. The parents are supposed to rear the children, the teachers are there to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

Very good school. You feel at home when you walk in the doors. They treat their children as their own. Excellent music department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

I am a junior at kathleen senior high. I have to say that this school is a very enjoyable school. Students and staff make it this way. We have an outstanding principal,and he makes this school great, he pushes the students to do there best and suceed , and the students and staff cooperate well!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

I am a freshman at KHS. It is a really good school and the teachers and staff there are a great help. Monda
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2005

This school offers college classes that will count toward college credits. KHS has an excellent AG, choir, basketball and football program.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 12, 2004

I'm a freshman at Kathleen and so far I think it's a pretty good school. I feel safe there most of the time because security gaurds are all over the halls. Discipline could improve by alot sometimes certain problems are overlooked. The teacher quality could improve. Being a freshman I haven't had many teachers yet but the a few of the ones that I've had were the worst teachers I've had in my life. The principal could improve I don't think I've ever seen him doing anything but walking around the school.The P.E. department could improve on it's teachers or add more activities and the English department could stand to get rid of it's new freshman teacher. The history and science teachers are wonderful. The Geometry teacher I have is the best math teacher I've ever had and the Ag teachers are great. Overall, Kathleen is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2004

I'm not a parent but I graduate this school year.(2004) I'm not at all satisfied with the school this year. I've failed the FCAT 5 times. That is absurd. It's the reading I've had trouble with. I even took a class on it. What my point is, is the principal is so worried if our shirt is tucked in, whether the gate is locked at the front of the school, or something of a low value. They don't worry the fact that more students like me havn't passed the FCAT. No, don't try to help them, worry bout themselves. They won't even come get a kid out of class to use the bathroom, we have to have an escort to come to the class, but they never come, so when the student leaves, the principal punishes them. I dislike my school alot. I hate that my high school years had to end like this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2004

I'm not a parent. I graduated from Kathleen with the class of 2003 and everytime I pass by KHS I want to go back. The school is making changes that will be for the good of the students. I also graduated in 3 years but it wasn't to get away. I love my high school and all the people there and I will represent until the day I die.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 30, 2003

I graduated from KHS, class 1975. Though the school encountered some difficult times during my stay i still feel as though i received a quality education and could have obtain an even better education had i applied myself more.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 17, 2003

I attended Kathleen for all three years of high school...that's right, all three years. I hated going to school there so much that I worked diligently to obtain enough credits to graduate a full year early. I think that Mr. D is the greatest thing that has happened to Kathleen since Mr. Alvarez and I hope that he continues to make improvements.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

While I agree that things are improving at KHS, I remain very disappointed at the class sizes. I understand that the state allows up to 36 students in a class, but can anyone teach 36 students in a single class?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We are very proud to have our teen attend KHS She is a senior and with Mr. D. As principle last year and this year it has made a great difference in the way the school has improved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Kathleen High School has long been overshadowed by the more affluent high schools in Lakeland. It has been rejected as being inferior while it is actually a 'jewel in the rough'. Finally, since the arrival of Mike D'Angelo (principal) KHS has begun to shine. Mr. D'Angelo has brought a sense of revitalization. We look forward to finally being recognized as the quality school (and people) that we are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

586 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

529 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

507 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

453 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

575 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

585 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
46%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

455 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 26%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 5%N/A2%
Graduation rate 67%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%66%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GINGER ROSENAU
Fax number
  • (863) 499-2726

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Red Devil Way
Lakeland, FL 33815
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 499-2655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Solutions Academy
Lakeland, FL


Drop Back In
Lakeland, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT