Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgar L. Padgett Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 524 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2012

Horrible School. The principal needs to get fired. They don't help you unless your on the wrong side of the law. They basically assist people in kidnapping your kids. I know because they did it to me. I contacted the school board and they helped me locate my sons school and when I spoke with them. No help!! Please fire the principal worst ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Worst school. Fire the principal. Principal and secretaries hang up on you. To be specific MS. MAtthews the principal is the worst principal I've seen. Not proffessional and doesnt take child care serious. Also Ms. Bruno is very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

This school is the worst school in Polk County. The principle does nothing to to back her staff up. Doe's nothing to the children bullying other students. This school needs a new principle. I have talked to teachers there and the teachers say it is the worst school they have ever worked at. I have never seen a worst school then Padgett.


Posted December 7, 2011

Unfortunately this school does lack leadership!!! The teachers are hard working however they are not backed by the prinicipals at all! My children and I have had nothing but problems with this school. When trying to approach the situation it is made to believe that you can lie and nothing will be done. This is not how I raise my children to behave. I have since put them in another school whos values I prefer my children to learn. Its supposed to be a group effort. Teachers, children, and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

The school is really disappointing and when you try to help out and volunteer you get the feeling that you are not welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

Great school because the teachers put a lot of effort into educating the students. The volunteers we get are also very much appreciated and helpful in creating a wonderful environment for the students to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2009

I love this school!!The best school my kids been to.The teachers are amazing and the staff are so nice.I love it and my kids do too.Go Padgett!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I have two children that attend Padgett. I feel very blessed that my children have had the opportunity to learn and grow with such a loving, supportive team of teachers, staff, and principal. I feel confident that they have prepared my oldest child for middle school and beyond. They are now building a great foundation for my younger son. Given the chance, I would not change a thing. GO PADGETT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

i love this school our daughter loves her kindergarten class and her teacher ms. rodriquez our daughter comes home everyday with a super in her agenda and a great day of learning to tell us about
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

So far it is about average, the teacher are great everybody wants to help .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I have read some reviews on this site about this school, some in a negative light. I would have to disagree with most of those reports. Padgett has received an A scoring. In order to accomplish such a high rating changes had to be made for the better of the school/ students as a whole not just suit a handful of individuals. Unfortunately some people didn t agree with this and have tried to spread their negativity in his/her ratings on the school. ( honestly some people no matter what the principal did with the school would have complained about it) I have been a volunteer at Padgett and have viewed several teachers as they interact with his/her class. I must tell you that I have been very pleased. The teachers and staff are devoted and caring. Many go above and beyond what they are required to do. I have noticed an enormous improvement in my child s grades since transferring him to Padgett. Padgett does have a PTA. Parents are encouraged through out the year to join.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

We feel that our son is receiving an 'A+' education here at Padgett. We have had many concerns with our son attending public school ( for the first time) and have asked many questions about the teachers, school, and the curriculum. ( Unfortunatly the Catholic School he attended didn't have a very good or up to date curriculum in place.)Nothing was hands at St. Anthony's like the lessons here at Padgett. We have seen a great improvement with our childs attitude about attending school. He loves it! Our first Midterm reports came out today and we are proud of his grades. We should have made this move 2 years ago !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

My son is finishing kindergarten and I am very pleased with his teacher and the school in general. We are very happy with the education our son is recieving at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I am so proud of the hard work Padgett has put in over the past three years. My children love it there! Teachers, administrators and parents have worked hard to make Padgett an 'A' school and it is among the only schools in North Lakeland to make AYP as well. The teachers love their students and are always striving to meet each child's unique needs with differentiated instruction. Many teachers go above and beyond their daily duties and work 11 to 12 hour days striving to bring the best quality instruction to their students. I am proud to be a Padgett parent and educator and I will never cease caring for and focusing on my classroom children and instilling in them a lifelong love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

Contrary to what others have written about Padgett, I can say that I feel satisfied with this school. My daughter loves studying and is always looking forward to going to school next day. Many have mentioned that parent involvement is low. I agree with this, I am the kind of parent who always attends meetings as well as other school events, and I have noticed that most parents do not attend these meetings through which we can show our concern. Parents do need to get more implicated and avoid expectations of having the school do all the work. A vast part of what children learn is acquired by reinforcement at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Not a good school at all - too much turn over in teachers & administration. I have had children in Polk County Schools for 20 yrs and this school is well past due for a overhaul. I commend the Superintendent for the changes she has made within the school system so far, but this school need to be looked into!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I have one child who attends this school and since day 1, it seems I have had nothing but issues, and sadly enough after reading other's reviews, I see I am not the only one, when I asked what to do to get my son out of this school, I was simply told it was not going to happen...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Unfortunately, I am not able to provide a great deal of positive feedback. Compared to two different schools that I have been involved with, the teachers, although very nice, do not seem to be challenging or innovative in their approach to teaching. I can't say much about the principal other than it doesn't seem that there is a great rapport with the teachers and/or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

I have one child whom attends Padgett and experiences a high level of anxiety when attending an outside establishment and I must say, her kindegarden teacher 'Mrs.Branning' was very supportive and competent in her teaching skills. My child was eager to learn everyday, disciplined with her homework ethics, and encouraged by her teacher to always be the top of the class. I found this teacher to be extememly involved, outstanding in her leadership roll in the class, creative in her teaching techniques keeping the class excited to attend the following day. I judged this teacher by the remarkable progress I witnessed daily in my child. Thank you Mrs.Branning for you have made an excellent impression on my child throughout the school year! I give her an A+ The school is a little worn down and needs improvement, the staff in the office is very friendly but unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

I wish my response was different, as I have been a volunteer with this school for 8 years and have two children who have gone here, The leadership has changed several times and not for the better. I don't recommend sending your kids here. I am pulling mine out and home schooling if I have to. The principal does not support the teachers. I hope that something changes to help this school because it has really gone down heal. If you have no choice but to send your kids here I recommend you get as involved as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Black 23%
Hispanic 23%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANTIONETTE KIRBY
Fax number
  • (863) 853-6092

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Leelon Road
Lakeland, FL 33809
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 853-6044

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Crossroads School
Lakeland, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT