Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scott Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 761 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

I just moved here to lakeland Florida. at first my son was feeling comfortable but then because he has problems with his reading. I feel like they pushed him aside instead of helping & teaching him I'm on the fence about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

Best school in the district, amazing attention to each student as an individual. The staff is amazing. The school is very clean, organized, and friendly. The parents and PTO also make this school amazing! So many events and parties/ fundraisers and creative rewards for good behavior. Their anti bullying is kids have never had a problem or even seen a chil being bullied at this school. My kids actually got accepted into a magnet "choice" school but I decided to keep them here. The best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

My daughter had a wonderful teacher for Kindergarten, after that it was nothing but downhill! The ladies at the front desk are extremely rude and unwelcoming. They make me feel like I should not be there. My daughter has had difficulty with her reading and spelling, but because she is a quiet and sweet girl they seem to overlook it to concentrate on the rowdy kids. I am very unhappy with this school and most of the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Great school. My daughter is excelling beyond her grade level. Her teacher is easy to get ahold of and to talk to. The principal does a great job. Best elementary school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

The best elementary school around. The teachers are top quality, and the administrators are great. My child has moved on to middle school, but he misses Scott Lake so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Scott Lake is a wonderful school. The teachers strive to deliver a strong education for ALL the kids. The school is competitive with the surrounding charter schools and Scott Lake keeps all their kids and teaches all their kids. The student and families are awesome and make for a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Scott Lake teachers and administration care deeply for their students. Their professionalism is equaled only by their desire to help their students. The new principal has been successful in keeping professionalism as a standard and helping those few teachers who needed guidance. Every school will have a few issues during the year and Scott Lake's success is due in part to how well the staff have dealt with those minor issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This is my child's first year at Scott Lake. The actual teaching and learning seems to be going well but the administrative organization is well below average. It's only October and I've had problems with Parking, communicating times about the open house, how the tardy system works, communicating how the snack system (dropping off food) works, lack of front desk personnel and on and on. It seems to be a typical government system where everyone you contact is not in charge and can't help you. Common sense is the enemy and communication is looked upon as a foreign language. I'm not the only one; my wife has seen frustrated parents cussing out the front desk staff. After waiting through a ridiculous line of cars, a poor pregnant lady finally got inside the office and they told her daughter was late. It was poor managing on their part. It seems to be a typical government system where everyone you contact is not in charge and can't help you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Scott Lake has been a wonderful place for my children to learn and grow. The teachers we have come in contact with have been warm and caring and the staff equally so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

This school is great. My child will be in the 5th grade and we've attended for Scott Lake for 4 years. The teachers are focused on giving the students what they need to to succeed in life. They are highly trained in the best methods especially in reading, writing and math. Unfortunately, the administration changed this past year. The new principal is not as focused on maintaining the high caliber school has been for so many year. He does not respond to parents by phone or email and when in person, he promises things will change but we are still waiting for the changes he promised us. The PTA is fabulous and runs special extracurricular classes on Friday mornings. The parent involvement is fabulous but we could always use more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Great staff....caring and understanding. They are motivated and trained in all the latest educational trends. Very pleased overall.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 11, 2006

Scott Lake is the best school your child could go to. The teachers and the staff are caring and very involved with the students. The parents are also there working side by side with the teachers to make great things happen. We are very lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Scott Lake is probably the best public Elementary school in Polk County, although Valleyview (neighboring school) is right there with it. The teachers are slightly better than you would find at other public schools in your average USA town, but they are far superior to the average teachers in Polk County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This is a positive environment for all children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My child is a first grader at this school. He loves to go to school everyday and wants to go on the weekends. My concern is how many students is too many? There are several portable classrooms and not all the portables are ready yet. Classes are being held in the music, and art rooms. The student/teacher ratio is good, but we need more room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

Good teachers. They care. Great prinicpal. Involved parents. Teaahers are a bit strict. Wish Florida had recess. I think the kids need the energy release in elementary age group. Overall good school. My son is learning well and I feel he is safe there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Teachers are motivated and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

For anyone who is trying to decide what school to attend or if this is the right school district I can only tell you that it is the best. The parents are extremely involved, the teachers and principal are all extremely caring and have a real interest in the children. I had a daughter go through Scott Lake from kindergarten thru 5th grade and I could not have been more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Black 21%
Hispanic 19%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%66%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1140 East County Road 540A
Lakeland, FL 33813
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 648-3520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT