Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Gibson Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1127 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

Lake gibson high and middle.. I recently moved here and am very disappointed in the school district. All my sons say the class rooms are disruptive and the teachers don't care. My oldest has had his schedule changed 3 times and you would think the counselor would know which classes he needed to take but directed him with others !! I'm literally frightened that my children will not get the right education here and am looking into a private school next year or even home schooling them.. This school is so unorganized and run down like we live in a bad neighborhood!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

I don't like this school. Some of the teachers seem to care about the students but there is a large hand full that don't. My child is on the 504 plan for kids with adhd. Not all the teachers uphold the special attention they need and communication with these types of teachers are horrible. I have had issues with 4 teachers just this yr in providing my child with the help required and it's like pulling teeth. I'm looking into a private school for next yr. I do NOT recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

2 years ago I would have said good school that's why we moved to this area...but now with the new principal I would say to pass. The changes made to this school makes it seem like it was a bad place but it wasn't bad at all. I think the principal wanted it to seem like "oh look what I did to this place, I made some great changes." Well I see now why parents try to get these private schools. Before parents around here used to say if they can't get their kids into to private schools they want Lake Gibson because it seem like a good school but now if I had seen the new rules I would have been like oh wow that school must have a lot of issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

It's a good school with teachers who care, a great administration, and a wonderful music program with great parent volunteers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

i did not like this school at all. most teacher's did not help you very much.There is not very much school funding and the bathroom's don't lock. this school is bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

I really don't understand this school. All the hassle on FCAT is ridiculous and many of the teachers don't take the time to help. The students cause it to be even more chaotic. The low shool funds make things worse. I don't enjoy school at all and wish that I never left my school in Vegas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

it is so wounderful and my son loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

My kid goes there. He transferred last year from lot and chiles middle school he loves it. I love it the teacher qualiuty is good so is the learning he has homework every night but overfilling like lcms and hes getting good grades and I think this school has the best fcat preperation in the city
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

this is a great school not many disipline problems all 3 kids went here a+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

It seems to be a good school, especially on paper...but when you see it in action it seems quite chaotic. The school emphisizes on passing your FCATs and not learning in a creative,nurturing environment! It is far from nurturing. My son still wants to attend dispite all the chaos...in fact friends of my son that go to Sleepy Hill Middle say they rather go to LGMS because theres too many rules at Sleepy Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

For a public middle school, LGMS is actually a pretty good school. My daughter transferred from a local magnet school and is much happier with the friendliness of the staff and students. Also, they made an A this year! Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

This school does not offer sports to the children and does not have a gym. My child being a girl does like the school however. One nice thing is that it is right next to the high school so that when it is time to move up the kids get to stay in the same basic location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

The school is mainly concerned with discipline. The 'good' smart kids get lost in the shuffle. Very disappointing! New to school and want to get this child into a Magnet School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

360 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

372 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

334 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

398 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 22%
Black 19%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%66%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KATHY CONLEY
Fax number
  • (863) 853-6171

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6901 North Socrum Loop Road
Lakeland, FL 33809
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 853-6151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crossroads School
Lakeland, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT