Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lakeland, FL
Students enrolled: 895
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
Both my children started attending this school 2 years ago after having an awful experience at another school in Brandon. They love it and the teachers have been great. Never any issues with bullying or work. The office staff is pleasant and helpful. It a great school and the teacher s are wonderful!

James W. Sikes Elementary School 1

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
My Daughter attended Sikes Elementary from Fall 2011 until Fall 2012. We moved out of state just after the start of her 1st grade year. We had a horrible experience at this school. Her kindergarten teacher was cold and yelled a lot. She also said things to the children that were untrue or told stories that were too much for 5 year olds to handle or understand. I spoke with and overheard several other teachers who just seemed to be burnt-out on teaching and children in general. The majority of the office staff that I dealt with was also cold and unpleasant. The children are not held to an acceptable level of expectations for behavior. My daughter would come home in tears almost everyday, and getting her to school was a major fight with tantrums and tears every morning. She had horrible anxiety because of school. On top of all that, the education level was horrible. Most of what they learned was what the kids should have already known, trying to catch up kids that were not even ready for kindergarten, or teaching just what they needed to know for the testing. I ended up supplementing at home with extra lessons, just so she wouldn't be behind when we moved.


James W. Sikes Elementary School 2

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

James W. Sikes Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is a first grader, and so far the teachers have been very competitive, caring, motivating, and knowledgeable. They have immediately recognized the strenghts and weaknesses of my daughter as well as her potential and work with her. The extracurricular activities are both educational and fun. I've been able to speak with the principal, and I can tell he is very committed and has great leadership skills. The school is very well-organized and is pro parents involvement. I'm glad my daughter goes to Sikes and she loves it!

James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2007
- a parent
When we brought our daughter to Sikes she was behind. If it wasn't for the care her 3rd grade teacher gave, she would have given up on school. She was in a private school and making good grades, but when she transferred she not only didn't know anyone but couldn't keep up. The teacher made her feel that it wasn't her fault that she was behind, but her previous school. She was pulled back to 2nd grade but she loves school again and still talks to her 3rd grade teacher. I can only hope that she gets the same teacher again for 3rd grade next year. Sikes was a blessing for us and our daughter.


James W. Sikes Elementary School 1

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
We are looking to transfer our child out of this school due to the lack of accountability on the faculties part. Instead of helping a child that is struggling they would prefer to have them listed as disabled or listed as ADD. We found that this makes a difference when it comes to testing them at the middle of the year with FCAT. The school has a new Principal who, finally, seems to care more about the students then Principles in the past. We have had major issues with 2 teachers. They do have a few great teachers that are truly asset to the school. But these are far and few between from what we have seen so far.

James W. Sikes Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
My son has attended this school since kindergarten and he will be entering the 5th grade next year. This school cares about the students. Every grade participates in music, arts and sports. They have great extracurricular activities. My husband and I are involved when it comes to our sons education and this school prefers parents involvement in fact they encourage it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James W. Sikes Elementary School
2727 Shepherd Road, Lakeland, FL  33811
(863) 648-3525
Last modified James W. Sikes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James W. Sikes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top