Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. Clem Churchwell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 586 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Communication remains a massive problem. The scholl website hasn't been updated in years. The tools that are provided by the district are not utilized. The good teachers there are reduce in efficiency by class size, limited resources and a tunnel vision of FCAT learning . The school seems stagnant, lacks innovation, skill and creativity in the curriculum. So as a nurturing, positive learning experience and environment there must be better options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

The teachers at this school are there because they believe in their students. They work to ensure that all students not only learn the content but also how to be good people and citizens. Count yourself lucky if your child attends this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2013

I had my daughter and niece in this school. Not only were the staff rude and disrespectful, but there was no communication with the teacher. I had so many unsuccessful attempts at communication that I had to bring it up to the principal and vice, which did nothing. We had our first case of lice while at the school, and the nurse was totally unprofessional and had horrible "bed side manner". Instead of answering my questions as to how to treat the lice, she just kept saying "get it all out". I ended up having to have a confrontation with her and the principal, before they would actually do anything about it. The last straw was when the state of Florida sent a letter saying that for three years in a row, this school had unsatisfactory performance without any improvement and would be looked at being shut down. It was at this time we decided to move. Horrible experience, that taught me there really are horrible schools out there. PAY ATTENTION TO THE RATING! If you can move somewhere else, DO IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

I have 2 children attending Churchwell at the moment and for the most part, I think it's a pretty great school. There are a couple of exceptions however. The female PE coach is the first problem. From what I hear from my children as well as other parents, I think she feels it's her goal to dominate and humiliate the children. If she really dislikes children as much as it seems, she needs to choose another profession. The second issue is the attitudes of the lunchroom staff. They rarely seem to be in anything other than sour moods...to put it kindly. 5th graders might be accustomed to it, but when it's a kindergartener and this is their very first experience of being yelled at by a stranger, it can really tarnish their school experience and make them much harder to get to school each day. Give the little ones a break!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

The ESE Staff, ITV program, Media Center and teachers like Mrs. Harris & Mrs. Skiles promote learning and love for the students. Thank you for the faithful day in and day out dedication you have shown for our children.


Posted June 7, 2011

I LOVE CHURCHWELL ELEMENTARY. THE ESE TEACHERS ARE THE BEST ! MRS. TURNER IS AN EXCELENT TEACHER!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Churchwell Elementary is a GREAT school. The office staff is very helpful and the teachers work very hard to help the children learn. The media specialist, Mrs. Upton, is wonderful. The AR carnival this year was wonderful and the children loved it.


Posted June 4, 2011

I am a 5th grade student at churchwell and to tell you this school is based on your perspective and how you accept the staff's behavior, being here since 2nd grade was great i absolutely love this school but I feel like the staff are very rude at sometimes just like in some other reviews, I recommend your child to go to this school, but remember it's your perspective!


Posted February 1, 2011

My son has been at Churchwell for 5 months now, and I could not be happier with his progress. However, the office staff can be very rude and unprofessional at times. I never know when I walk through the door if they are going to be rude or in a good mood. I have very little involvement in my son's education. I try to ask the teacher for ideas on what I can do at home to help him progress more, and I get very little feedback. I have never gotten a progress report or anything of the sort from his teacher. She does not communicate with me at all unless I initiate the conversation, and even then, I get very little info. As I said before, I am happy with his progress but I feel very left out of the decision making process and out of the loop with his everyday activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2010

My child did half a year at this school for second grade. This school was just horrible. It had very low parent involvement, and the school personnel and principle were not helpful or willing to go out of their way to help with a special situation that I had while my daughter was attending this school. They do not put the best interest of the child first in their day to day operations. I definitely would not put my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

churchwell elem. is a great,excellent,terrific, super it is superior to any other school in Forida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

My children go to 5th and 4th grade.I simply could not be happier with the school & their staff.Their after school programs,and arts classes,are very enjoyable for the students.They work hard to insure that the students learn,but at the same time have fun. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My child came to Churchwell for 1st grade. The music and arts programs are good. Libarary staff are WONDERFUL. Hoping for the 5 days of PE next year. The teachers are ok, I wish there was more communication beyond the agenda. There should be a class for teachers/staff for people skills: how to speak with parents, etc for new teachers and staff. I didn't feel comfortable speaking with the teacher during any school sponsored events--felt like I was a bother. The office needs to do more if a bus is going to be late. They should be calling the parents. I have waited over an hour several times for the bus in the afternoon and was unable to get through to the office. The office staff are unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

My daughter began her school year as a kindergartner at churchwell elementary. Her teacher,Mrs.Izzo, was awesome and the administration was great. I knew, at all times, what was going on with my child and I thoroughly enjoyed all the school activities held at churchwell in order to encourage parent involvement and just good, wholesome family time. my daughter learned a lot and was always excited about school. I give this school five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

I represent Churchwell as a parent and as a teacher. You will find the staff at Churchwell both friendly and dedicated. Children feel safe and are challenged daily to meet academic goals. The administrators are caring and expect high standards from both staff and students. It is a school that I am proud to be a part of. It stands out in the community as a cut above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

Acacemic standards by teachers for the students are set within reasonable expectations giving the students the push they need to be successful. Specials are integrated with curriculum and presented in fun, interesting activities. Parents are welcome to get involved and given plenty of opportunities to share with the students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

My son attended churchwell for grades 3-5. All of his teachers as well as the staff were involved and always showed a genuine interest in my son's education and well-being. The music and art classes were part of his regular classes and I felt the parent envolment and numerous after school presentations and activities inspired many of the kids to be involved. My son still talks of his teachers, and it was very easy as a parent to work with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Great programs, great school. Wish more parents would get involved with their child's education. I will be making more time available to volunteer. Teachers need the help and so do the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 25%
Black 22%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%66%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. BETTY FITZGERALD
Fax number
  • (863) 815-6538

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8201 Park-Byrd Road
Lakeland, FL 33810
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 853-6011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT