Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeland Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 987 students

LCS is committed to educating students in the light of God's Word.

 
 

Living in Lakeland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Our son has been going to LCS since kindergarten. He's now in 6th grade. We chose LCS because we wanted not only a good education but him to know God & understand his word. We had put our 2 older children in magnet schools for elementary(no time for recess- they treated PE as recess)rigorous academics & middle(which gave a military style feel daily) same when it came to academics teach for the"A" bonuses for FCAT to the schools & teachers. But your child was like another #. Lakeland Christian gave balance & peace of mind to us. The things we wanted for our last child that we didn't see with the first 2. We like the weekly progress reports, Renweb keeps us up on everything from grades, homework, lunch account to student information & school information. Can't go wrong with this school. Teachers are fantastic. Definitely feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

Lakeland Christian School is a true Christian based school.Kids can pray, pledge allegiance to our flag, and not have to worry about it.The teachers love our kids and it shows everyday. We are one God loving family that's growing on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

We are so thankful Lakeland School for Girls was there to help us in our role as parents. It was unspeakably difficult to admit we needed help to raise our daughter in a Godly way, but Lakeland School was gracious and understanding at every step. They provided an experience for her that we could never have duplicated at home and taught her things she would never have accepted from us. Going away for a while gave us all a break from the tension and pain. Lakeland School for Girls gave us solid teaching so we could step back and think constructively about our relationship while we healed. We are stronger now as a family than we have ever been before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

LCS used to be a Christian School that was interested in making sure students came from a Christian family and were members of a Christian church. Now with the government giving grants to students, LCS has changed priorities from Christian values to monetary interest. Even if a Pastor calls giving a negative report on family and/or student, students are accepted when money is guarenteed by government. Very dissappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

I can t say enough about how Lakeland Grace Academy changed my daughter. She is confident and respectful, and we trust each other again. She can enjoy her senior year of high school, having fun like a teenager should.


Posted May 6, 2012

This is our 8th year as an LCS family and Lakeland Christian has been a blessing on so many levels. The academic and spiritual growth we have seen in our children has surpassed all expectations. Each of our children has their own personality and there are classes, clubs, athletics, performing arts and activities offered for each one of them. We are encouraged by the prayer, love and nurture given by all of their teachers. Yes, the campus is beautiful, but we started at LCS before any renovations were done and before the stadium and elementary/middle school building was built. What remains the same before and after construction is a school committed to Education in the Light of God's Word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

My husband and I are so grateful for the education our children are receiving at LCS. Our desire to raise them in a home that is completely dependent on the mercy and love of Christ is reinforced every day in the classrooms at LCS. The beautiful buildings are not full of perfect people. But they are filled with faculty and staff who understand their need for a Savior and are committed to pointing our children to Him as well. The excellent academic education they are receiving is preparing them for a world that worships the created more than the Creator. Thank you LCS for "preparing my children for the road"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

i went there for part of high school an most of elementary ... the kids are nice until they hit 6th or 7th grade then the clicks form an the hostility begins.... and administration turn there heads to the more well known or better off parents children lots of favoritism an the kids are not nice a very hostile environment to be in defiantly not a "christian" high school


Posted March 7, 2012

We have had our 3 children at LCS now for 10 years, each starting in Kindergarten. Each of my children are different but at this school all of their needs have always been accounted for. Just like there is no perfect church, there is also no perfect school but there is no better place to have my children then in an environment in which they are prayed for daily, made to feel successful daily by their teachers and givien ample opportunities to use their unique gifts. Whether it be music, sports, academics, etc there is something for each child at LCS. This was the best choice for our family and when they are ready to graduate they will have all the tools needed for their next stage of life.......most importantly, a grounded sense of who they are in Christ!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I LOVE this school! Our children are in middle school and elementary and have attended for 7 years. We've had great teachers and the school feels like a family. We are very pleased with the academic programs which are both, creative and challenging. Outside the classroom, my children also enjoy the musical and sports programs. I know there are no perfect schools, but we've seen Lakeland Christian strive at every turn to apply mercy, grace and Biblical truth to the lessons and experiences inside and outside the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

There is a lot of partial treatment at LCS in the sense that the staffs and teachers profile a lot of parents and the kids based on social class level which at times they use to judge behaviors. There is more focus on "wannabes" rather than focusing on accommodating everyone especially when we are paying full tuition. If you are thinking of this school, I will advise you try other schools first...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

This school is not the premier school that it portrays itself to be. A school like this really does damage to an outsiders view on Christianity. I was very unsatisfied with my child's treatment and education. The positive reviews you see are from faculty and heavy contributors. The bad reviews are from a normal parents perspective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Our experience at LCS to date has been mixed. Solid academics for sure, but based on fellow parents who have children at charters or other private schools I'd say not superior but definitely solid. What'll sell you on this school is the facilities as everything looks brand new and top notch. I'd recommend looking past this and making your decision based on the other things important. Our concern with the school has a lot to do with its status as the generally recognized top school in Lakeland. Lots of parents went there and have never moved from Lakeland and there's lots of "old money" there. Lots of BMW driving women dropping their kids off in full makeup if that gives you a picture of it. Lots of cliques and snooty attitudes and the staff seems to spend a lot of time dealing with that. Lots of parents start their feedback with the "I pay X amount for this school so you better do Y" type stuff. There are nice parents there obviously but they're not the vocal ones. With regards to the Christian side, it's a "generic" Christian school and that means exactly what you'd expect. Christian values taught, generally, but there's something missing from this school - a soul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Great School! We are so blessed to have found LCS-everything we were looking for is right here.... Christian values, challenging academics, family atmosphere, wonderful staff, excellent athletic program and most importantly , my children LOVE to go to school everyday. I would definitely recommend Lakeland Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

I am a new parent at LCS of elementary age children. I am so thankful we made the change from our previous school to here. The faculty, the administration and the curriculum are fabulous. I can't say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Small enough to stay in touch; large enough for great sports and socialization for my daughter; great Christian values
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I am currently a student at Lakeland Christian and believe some aspects of the system are great while others are fairly disappointing. The overall curriculum is satisfactory, the only 'challenging' courses I have experienced so far are Math and Science. The only 'problem' course has been bible. Once the students reach a certain age and maturity level, bible teachers become oppressive when it boils down to an personal opinion. I have had to lie on worksheets and tests to maintain an 'A' or even a 'B' average. They look down upon those who 'doubt' and 'have questions'. I would definitely not recommend this school to receive a 'wholesome' and 'well-rounded' christian education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

I am a graduate of LCS and an thrilled that my children are receiving a quality education at LCS. They are taught by teachers who love and pray for them everyday, they are taught the scriptures daily and acadmeically are testing well above national scores. They are taking computers, arts, and languages that will put them ahead in universitys and in the work force We are reciving an excellent education at LCS and I wouldn't put my children anywhere else. The school puts a great effort in balancing arts, academics, and athletics we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

LCS provides a good foundation during elementary school, except for the lack of focus on vocabulary words. If you want good education, with a strong emphasis on the Bible this is the school. For high school I will say; however, that the parental involvement can almost be too much - and there is an overwhelming dominance in theological opinion. Not much creative freedom is given for expression or writing. You will earn a bad grade for opining in the 'wrong' direction. Rules are great - the more strict the better - but domination of thought is another thing. There are a lot of good kids that would otherwise flourish, that may feel stifled in this environment. Elementary great - High School...no! That is my vote :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

LCS provides our children a safe learning environment mixed with high-quality academics and tons of enrichment. Our children love being able to pray in school and rave about chapel every week! Both of our children are involved in music and sports programs as well as academic challenges such as Odyssey of the Mind and Math Olympics. What a joy to walk through the campus and see the high schoolers interacting positively with the younger elementary children. LCS isn't utopia, but it is a great place to be! We are proud to be part of the tradition of Lakeland Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mike Sligh
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • www.lcsonline.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (863) 682-5637

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Key Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $9000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1111 Forest Park St
Lakeland, FL 33803
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 688-2771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Joseph's School
Lakeland, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT