Advertisement
Advertisement

Geneva Classical Academy

Private | PK-12 | 116 students

Classical and Christian education
 
 

 

Living in Lakeland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2013

Geneva is the type of school I think of when I think of, traditions, love of learning, creative thought, Family, Christian based. I have two daughters at Geneva and have enjoyed the the level of learning and confidence they bring home from school every day. Is it disficult sometimes, yes. As parents I much rather my children be challenged than given the chance to coast thru. I am confident that Geneva will prepare my daughters for thier world. Tomm Warneke
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Geneva Classical Academy is a wonderful school and we are so thankful that our children attend Geneva. The Classical Christian model of education allows our children to excel academically and spiritually. Children at Geneva are far advanced academically when compared to their public school counterparts (up to two grades from my personal experience). But even more importantly, children at Geneva learn to be courteous, respect their peers and community, and value the beauty in life. The students are trained to think critically, apply their reasoning skills to difficult issues, and defend their positions both in written format and verbally. The teachers are able to implant a love of learning in the children through their patience, kind interactions, and advanced skills. Our children love to go to school every day and we feel fortunate that we can bring them to such a stimulating, safe, and caring environment where they are allowed to grow mentally and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

My child has been attending Geneva for the past two years and I love this school. The quality of education is far above any other school I have personally come across (and I investigated several schools before choosing this one). This school has excellent teachers who truly care about the children. The teachers come alongside the parents and partner with them in the education of the children. I am sold on Christian Classical Education and as long as Geneva is in Lakeland my child will be attending until she graduates. I would highly recommend this school to everyone and anyone who cares about the quality of education and the environment that your child will learn in. Geneva is an excellent school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Classical Christian education is unique in content and methodology. I encourage parents to investigate Geneva.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

The facility may be lacking, but education that the children are getting is beyond my expectations. We are hooked!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

Geneva offers a Classical Christian Edu. The fundamentals are taught in 'old school' formats. The facility is lacking and there is a lack of electives/sports/extracurricular
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

The school needs some help in truly caring about the individual---The school is good but needs a personal touch and real Christian living shown by the teachers to be a great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 44%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 24%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Rich Cali
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (863) 619-5819

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
115
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
120

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4204 Lakeland Highlands Rd
Lakeland, FL 33813
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 644-1408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT