Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. NE Roberts Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 661 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Not only do I believe the second review I went through it as will this school really needs to be investigated, bad staff in ratchet principal it sad but true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I have to kindly disagree with the recent reviews. This is my childs second year at this school and she is excelling wonderfully. U, nor my daughter, have ever encountered an instance of bullying. Although, I have no doubt it happens in every school. That being said, I do have some standing issues with this school. There still it's difficulty for students and parents to connect outside of the school setting, as they are unable to exchange numbers. And trying to find my childs classmates during school functions is next to impossible. Also, there needs to be better notification prior to what's happening in/outside of this school. I.e., picture day (with clarification if it is an elective or school photo.) Exhibits showcasing students' achievements. (We received our newsletter after the event had taken place) And lastly, I understand the need for fundraisers and my daughter does quite well in aiding in its cause. But, the prizes received are hardly worth the effort. (1 tee-shirt for selling 12+ subscriptions when only 2 are needed? And these requests for money is directed mainly to relatives There continues to be some difficulty in students/parents connecting
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This school does not care about the students. My Kindergartener went to this school for 9 days and was bullied all of them. The admin and teacher did not take care of the issue so I removed him. In fact the A.P said things like "If these things are true" implying my child was lying. He made himself sick because he didn't want to go to school there. Staff is not friendly and kids are mean. They are not allowed to talk during lunch and only have recess 1 time a week. If there is a way not to put your child in this school I would advise not to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

None of your "A great school has...." applies to this school. This school needs a compete AUDIT of it's faculty and guidelines.


Posted February 15, 2010

This is an excellent school to work at. The administration is very organized and communicate clearly with their staff and not to mention are very supportive. Teachers are treated with respect and collaborate well together with each other. I enjoy going to work here everyday!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2009

My son has had great teachers every year but 1. The majority of the teachers will go above and beyond to help your child if you just reach out and ask them. They have a well rounded education experince.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

This School is wonderful! I moved here from Missouri in the middle of the year with my son, whom is enrolled in kindergarten, and I am very pleased with my son's progress. His reading comprehension and math skills have vastly improved since enrollment in Dr. NE Roberts Elementary. My son's teacher has been really very descriptive and helpful about explaining my son's progress and needs. The only reason that I did not give five stars, was the fact that the children have homework/reading assignments every night of the week. This doesn't leave a lot of time for 'extra' family activities, especially if you have a large family or have children in sports. I am not a person that generally takes the time to write reviews, but I feel that credit it definitely due here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

This school is a wonderful school. My daughter has done very well here and her teacher is the best you could ever had asked for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

This is a wonderful school that I would highly recommend. The staff is hardworking, competent, and caring.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 8, 2006

Lots of emphasis on learning. Sometimes maybe too much. I would like to see some kind of recess time so that children could learn how to better socialize. There needs to be some time during the day for kids to be able to talk to their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My daughter was in the 5th grade, I pulled her out due to her teacher. She has been at her new school for one complete semester and we (myself, and the new school) still have yet to recieve her report card. Her teacher told me she had a D in Math and when I asked for tutoring I was told my daughter didn't quailfy. My daughter has always been an A/B student and still is today. I got no cooperation from the teacher or the principal in this matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

My daughter is in the second grade at Roberts Elementary and I am beyond happy with her education. The teachers and staff are very sweet and are eager to provide a safe and fun educational environment. The school implements new programs to insure student progress and is always striving for more. I have signed my child up for magnet schools, thinking that it would be 'better.' After watching other parents deal with that environment, I am extremely grateful for my 'home school' that truly feels like home to my daughter! Thanks for the opportunity to share this with others! Russell M.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Black 23%
Hispanic 22%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. TONIA HOWE
Fax number
  • (863) 815-6640

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 Green Road
Lakeland, FL 33810
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 815-6633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT