Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. Bruce Wagner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 862 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

This is a wonderful school. Both of my children attended R Bruce Wagner. The teachers are amazing and my children love this school. They both made straight A's and anytime I had a problem, they did everything they could to solve it. My children are well prepared for middle school because of all the knowledge they received from these amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My son is in the 2nd grade here. He loves everything about this school. And as a parent i love it too. My son is also a straight A student.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

My daughter loves the school, teachers and principal. She is a straight A student and I am very impressed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I have one child and this is her 1st year in school..I love this school my child loves to learn and they see that and work with her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

I have 2 children at R Bruce Wagner now for 3 years and have not had one complaint. Any time I have ever needed anything for my child, the school has gone above and beyond to try to help. They have wonderful programs that benefit the children and get them excited to learn (Book Clubs, Reading Explorers, and now the Chess Club). I can't express how happy we are with the staff and support from this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Again another year of excellence! Wagner Elementary has an awesome educational board and Mrs. Ward leads teachers and students into a higher academics and she request parents to be involved as much as possible too. This school earned it's 'A' grade this year! R. Bruce Wagner gets 5 stars from this pleased parent whose daughter has attended there for two years! Thank you to everyone at Wagner Elem. who loves our children and puts them first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This is the 1st year my kids are going to this school. I really do injoy this school. the teacher are very kind and doing a very good job. I really love the fact that the principal in always walk around and the kids know who Mrs. Ward is. That is what you call a good principal. So R. Bruce Wagner keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

Very organized school! I am very pleased having my daughter here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

This is definitely a five star school and I am very pleased with the staff, administration and the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

This is my son's second year at RBW and I love it. I am as involved as I can be and feel very welcome by teachers, administration and the PTA. I am excited that my 3 year old will attend there as well. Great job RBW, keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

This is a brand new school and there is not a lot of info at this time but as a parent I LOVE this school The administration and teachers are there for our kids. They are well educated and very fair and caring of ALL children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2003

I think this school is a prejudiced school. The teachers mistreat the black students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 28%
Black 13%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MRS. JULIE WARD
Fax number
  • (863) 701-1457

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Yates Road
Lakeland, FL 33811
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 701-1450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT