Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,700 students|Pasco
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Land O' Lakes High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Many older teachers do not vary teaching style from 20 years ago so classes are very dull, often with no visuals, interaction with students or questions. Some teachers never return tests so students have no idea what they got wrong and therefore improvement is impeded.

Land O' Lakes High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
The students in IB are self-taught so they have to spend too much time tracking down learning materials online for themselves when lazy teachers should be teaching, not just reading from a book and demanding kids take notes (and stay awake).


Land O' Lakes High School 3

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
I have a child in the IB Programme here now in 10th Grade and we've been very disappointed in the quality of the teachers. It seems as though the older ones have really lost their energy and just read to the kids out of textbooks. Admin doesn't want to hear it. Period. My 10th Grader has great grades, but unfortunately, especially in the case of the History classes, is mainly self-taught. There is no engaging learning and videos, notes, PowerPoints, AP practice work, or visuals of any kind have to be tracked down by the student in order to learn the material. Classes also start at 7:30am which means kids do not get enough sleep with bus time and the school literally has not one window for natural daylight. Overall a depressing experience and I'm told the kids spend solid amounts of time sleeping in class due to the boring teaching methods, lack of daylight, and early hours. I suppose it's okay for a small town like Land O' Lakes, but overall not a pleasant high school experience.

Land O' Lakes High School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
I graduated from LOLHS two years ago. If I had attended any other school that would not have happened. I messed up BAD my ninth grade year and spent the next three years doing online and after school courses to catch up. All of my teachers and my guidance counselor really helped me. Sad thing is, I know quite a few of the best teachers there recently retired. There are flaws in any school but, I think it is most definitely the best public school in Pasco.

Land O' Lakes High School 2

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
The principal is a dictator not a Leader. No sense into appealing student punishments. Parent - principal conferences are not worth it.


Land O' Lakes High School 5

Posted February 20, 2012
- a student
Amazing teachers who really want to help students succeed. I would highly recommend this school to anyone else!

Land O' Lakes High School 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a student
I have went to both sunlake and land o lakes, Land o is a much better school. I have actually learned my 11th grade year. I went to sunlake for 2 years and hardly learned a thing. There are some good teacher like ms. Williams history teacher was one of my best teachers. I highly Recoomend land o lakes over sunlake. Land o also has an ffa team and a better environment.

Land O' Lakes High School 4

Posted December 05, 2010
- a parent
Despite my son having a bad teacher here, he also had very good teachers. He was not IB or even AP, but was accepted at FSU (first year). He is now a junior 3rd year student with close to a 3.9 GPA in Biology. He doesn't study much. I don't know what makes a student become an academic. I think intelligence is a factor. You can't always blame the teachers or the school.


Land O' Lakes High School 4

Posted November 30, 2008
- a parent
Known to be one of the best schools in Pasco County. Dynasty type of sports program. Pretty good teachers. Some small room for improvement, but overall it's a good school!

Land O' Lakes High School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a student
It's practically the best school in pasco county, they have classes for every level of student, and the teachers are wonderful. Plus they have an amazing sports department. Go Gators!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Land O' Lakes High School
20325 Gator Lane, Land O' Lakes, FL  34638
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (813) 794-9400
Last modified Land O' Lakes High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top