Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine View Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 928 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

We moved from NY to this area for the school district. Great school and great teachers. We are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

Horrible school my child went here there were a lot of fights hate this school horrible teachers I recommend rushe middle school very nice education system my kids love it and so do I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

I am so grateful that we transferred my child to this school after a horrible year at the school we are zoned for. She has had a great experience here. The principal and vice principal are smart ladies that are involved and caring. This place has it's act together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I went to Pine View Middle School for my 6th and 7th grade year. Currently I am in the 8th grade. I am now in Florida Virtual School and it is much more challenging then the PVMS gifted program ever was. But at the time I thought I was getting a good education, which you will its just that there are other choices that may be a lot better. There are drugs throughout the school, one guy actually got arrested. But take it from a student, if you stay away from that, you will be perfectly fine. The only reason my parents pulled me out was because we wanted to do some traveling and to get me ready for my AP courses. The gifted program is a lot more secluded then the rest of the school, but you still have other friends that aren't in the "Cheetah's" team because your electives are mixed up with other people. I had all A's except for math which is not my strong subject, I had B's all year. The math teacher for 6 and 7 is horrible! I've heard the 8th gr teacher is good though. The English teacher is AMAZING! There are still some "cliques" going on but its not that bad. Overall this school is amazing! I loved it there, but you may still be able to find a better choice.


Posted November 8, 2012

Our child is a straight A Honor Roll student & actually likes the majority of teachers. Our problem is the administration. There is a lack of effort put forth to be a cohesive school with both student & parent participation. The principal doesn't have a clue as to what clubs/groups are meeting and when. The PTSA holds its meetings at a time that is extremely inconvenient for working parents, & isn't (can't?) willing to change. The faculty don't seem to want to help the PTSA accomplish any of its fundraising goals. The administration doesn't encourage faculty participation any more than they encourage parent/student participation. The new assistant principal brought in Fall 2012 shoots down many of the PTSA efforts, even when the majority of members are in agreement. Many school functions are held immediately after school & end around 5pm, but the administration complains about the lack of parent support/participation! The majority of teachers are good & do the best they can within the strict teaching guidelines, but the administration starting with the principal needs to be completely revamped. Someone with enthusiasm & new ideas for participation needs to be brought in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

I would highly recommend this school! My son has recently been attending a private school, we started noticing the lack of teaching skills in his year of seventh grade. This school is a Christian school, and the main focus was on Christianity, but the teaching was horrible. We looked into Pine View Middle School, it had great reviews and our son attended this school in eight grade. It was a great school, most middle schools have a bad environment , this school was perfect. All the kids were nice, and the teachers strive for excellence.My son always cam home from Pine View feeling like he learned a lot, and everyone was friendly. I would definitely recommend Pine View Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

The teachers are excellent but the environment is bad. :-( Sorry but I do NOT recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

We are new to Florida and my son is in 8th grade. We came from a state that had horrible middle schools/high schools. My husband and I were concerned on how our son would do here. Turns out the staff/teachers here are WONDERFUL! I can not believe that my son wants to see his grades on line and is working very hard to get straight A's. He talks about his teachers all the time and is inspired by them.. The teachers really are organized and work very hard for our kids. We are very happy with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

This school has done so much great things to me like having straight B`s to straight A`s !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

Since this is our daughters first year at Pine View Middle school (8th grade) I can say thus far it has been wonderful. The open house was oragnized and friendly. The staff and tour guides (students) were just helpful and welcoming. The Principal is very charming and professonal. The building itself is a bit older, but charming. There is artwork (murals) throughout the school which I think is great, and the Lunchroom is very clean. The media center could be larger and a better selection of books. I liked the elective programs that it offers to the students. Staff are accomadating and very knowledgable. The buses are on time and clean and the overall students are sweet, great kids. Pine view made our daughters experience easy so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

We love Pineview Middle School, so does our son. Are you concerned about your child's homework? You can look up their assignments every day through Scholastic.com, know exactly what needs to be completed for the next day. Want to know if they turned in their homework? Right, you can check that, plus follow their everyday grading through e-sembler, homework, test scores, it's been great for us. I believe in being kept informed, it gives me the opportunity to better serve my son's school needs. Yes, we love Pineview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Pvms does a good job of getting the students through the akward age of adolescence. It is extremely overcrowded though, but the teachers have done a good job adapting. My real concern (and should be all parents concern) is security. Our elected officials need to consider the continued growth at these schools, and the way we pack our children in like sardines in a can. Let's stop so much development in pasco county until we can be sure our children are safe and we can build more schools, esp. Middle and high schools in land o lakes. We are the forgotten community in pasco! how can we possibly expect to enroll any more students at pvms?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

A great school, great leadership, very good teachers. Our son had a few problems at first (6th grade) but the teachers and staff were very supportive, and I feel went out of their way and made every effort to help and encourage him. Thanks, we look forward to another great year at Pine View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

The administration was terrific- very caring and involved. The parent involvement was wonderful. One of the truly outstanding aspects of this school was it's art program. A quick walk through the school- with mural adorned walls everywhere- will impress even the toughest critic.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2004

Our daughter has attended PVMS for 2 years, after a move from the Midwest. The students and staff are very outgoing and friendly. Overall, we have been pleased with most of the teachers. There are some teachers who have been a bit more opinionated on political issues than we feel is appropriate in a middle school classroom, but like our religious beliefs, we teach politics at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

All four of my children have had an excellent experience at PVMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

299 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

299 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

266 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 20%
Black 6%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A school 7years in a row (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40
School end time
  • 2:50
School Leader's name
  • MS. JENNIFER M MATTHEWS-CROSBY
Fax number
  • (813) 794-4891

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5334 Parkway Boulevard
Land O' Lakes, FL 34639
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 794-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT