Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
429 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy At The Lakes
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are fantastic. There is a lot of individualized learning for each of my kids.

Academy At The Lakes
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are aware of children's busy schedules. However, math and language arts homework is daily.


Academy At The Lakes
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
The no cut policy in the sports program means that all students have the opportunity to play team sports which helps develop those traits.

Academy At The Lakes
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Teachers demand respect as well as the administration. Children have dress uniforms for important occasions.

Academy At The Lakes
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
All children are involved in some sort of community service. Monthly Days of Manners are also used to help students learn important social skills.


Academy At The Lakes
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Middle schoolers have weekly advisory meetings where they discuss topics of interest and encourage traits such as honesty and integrity.

Academy At The Lakes 5

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Our second year here and we have no regrets after moving from another private school. Teachers care about each and every one of their students. The academics are rigorous and creative. I have two children in elementary school and one in middle school and all three are happy and thriving. This school is special and we are lucky to send our kids here. This happy, creative, supportive and academic environment has helped my children find their confidence while learning to not be afraid to take chances or make mistakes. They know that Academy at the Lakes is there for them every step of the way.

Academy At The Lakes 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching our daughter grow as a person and as a student over the last 3 years (she is in 3rd grade). Our goal in examining private education was to define a school based on excellent academics, social empowerment, a well defined arts and music program, technology initiatives and opportunities for sports. Academy has more than exceeded all of these requirements. We needed this after going to a local 'A' grade public school for kindergarten and were appalled with what we encountered: students showing up to the first day of school and not knowing basic colors, letters and 1-10. It affected our daughter's learning and skills. She knew advanced polygons, basic math and reading by kindergarten. She digressed massively in the public school system. Our daughter has returned to her love of learning, is empowered, plays piano and learning violin, has had art exhibited at a gallery, and enjoys her sports coaches. FYI - Each child learns a musical instrument. When competitions (sports or academics) occur they go and act with grace, whether winning or losing. I cannot say enough about this school and how much it has meant to us. Esse Quam Videri! Go Wildcats!


Academy At The Lakes 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Academy has been an outstanding experience for our daughter. She has a love of learning. When she was in pre-I she went to a Montessori based school and did very well. Unfortunately, we transitioned her to a public school in New Tampa and it was a horrid mistake. Academy has been great at training her as a person, student, artist and now athlete. The well rounded child we had is now back! I owe a massive debt of gratitude to Academy. I cannot say enough good things about the faculty, staff and the other parents. It is truly a microcosm community, which also does a lot in helping surrounding communities as well. If you are considering private school, Academy should be right on top!

Academy At The Lakes 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
HOME AWAY FROM HOME! My children and our family love the school. The academics, sports, arts, and clubs are great. Most importantly, the teachers and the administration are the best and take genuine interest in your child, helping them develop to the best of their ability as an individual.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy At The Lakes
2331 Collier Pkwy, Land O' Lakes, FL  34639
(813) 948-7600
Last modified Academy At The Lakes is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Academy At The Lakes Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top