Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Countryside Montessori Academy

Charter | 1-7 | 250 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

Love this school so much and its staff especially the office staff. One in particular Nancy is really helpful and she has a great attitude about the school. Its hard to find people like that who really seem proud to support their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

I am so glad to have been part of the Countryside Montessori family for the last four years. Both my sons have thrived in the Montessori environment and I could not ask for more caring teachers and administrators. They truly focus on the "whole child."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

I moved my son here in 2nd grade after having issues at a different school. Best decision I ever made. The teachers and office staff are amazing. My daughter is now there too and we love it!! The level of education my kids receive there far surpasses anything they learned in a tradional public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

I went to Countryside for many years and had no problem transitioning into High School or Middle School. I believe the experience I had helped me to adapt, learn, and grow outside of Countryside. Being in the same class with the same teachers/students gave me a solid foundation and kept my learning on track. I can't speak to fundraising concerns, but I can say that my teachers and the administration showed my nothing but respect and caring. And by the way, if your child can't transition into high school, it's not a Montessori problem!


Posted November 6, 2013

Our child went to this school 5 years-good experience with the lower elementary teachers. The upper elementary are primarily bullies, gossip openly to one another about other children in front of students, and are condescending to parents. Owners are concerned with pushing "cougar cards" ad nauseam and have a "what have you done for us lately" attitude. Our child has thrived away from this place. Plus, good luck with transitioning into high school when you have had the same teacher in the same room for years. Drank their kool aid, but we see the light now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

CMA is not a Montessori school it is a charter school with good marketing. If you get a great teacher you are going to enjoy your experience. If you have power and influence like a Radio DJ and can move your child into a better classroom then you will be ok. This could be better than the alternative of a public education. However, CMA will run you out of the school if you go against their will. We left and it has benefited our child tremendously. It is all marketing, hype, and very risky for the future of our child. SInce moving into a good school district in another county our child has caught up to proper education levels and is much happier. We too are much happier with the programs provided by the district. I am glad we are not longer a part of this program and we were for 5+ years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

My Child is going into 4Th grade and has excelled in all of her test scores. the teachers are attentive and caring. It is the best free public school education out there. we travel 30 minutes to bring our daughter to school and feel the trip is well worth it. He reading and math comprehension is far above that of her friends in other public and private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

I have two children, one who was in Montessori all his life and completed school at CMCS from 1 grade to 6 grade and a fifth grader currently in the school. The school is what every parent wishes for their child, well trained staff that care for the students as a whole and NOT only about academics.They are caring and go above and beyond their call of duty.Very often I will pass the school way after school hours and I see the teachers are still in school working, they are trully pascionate about the child. My oldest child is now in a traditional Pasco County High School and the biggest achivements noted by his teachers are his self confidence, organization , how kind and respectful he is, advocacy ,leadership. All this adjectives describe the student CMCS molded and developed. Now I can see my fith grader following his brother footsteps. The principal drives over 45 minutes daily from her residence and she is quoted often saying that she will drive even more because she loves her job and her family at CMCS. Lower and upper Level Teachers are simply amazing. We are static with the opening of the new middle school program for 2012-2013 SECONDARY 1. GOOD LUCK CMCS and THANK YOU!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

If you have a child with a learning disability or ADD/ADHD, steer clear of this school. They have no idea how to help your child. We have a child with ADD who is quiet, bright, well-liked and well-behaved. Her lack of progress was missed as she got Ss as grades for 2 years before a standardized test let us know that she was not at grade level. The failure to see her attentional problem set her back a grade level in school. We now have her at an A rated public school where there is caring and support and she is performing well. I've heard a number of stories from parents of kids who don't thrive in this particular school. All LD kids are weeded out by grade 4 in a less than sensitive manner. (A sense of superiority from those with the normal kid too. ) Yet, Maria Montessori is known to have adapted her guidance for ALL kids--especially those from disadvantaged backgrounds. Our child is from a well educated family who needed repetitive exercises to master skills . This school had no clue how to help her learn best. Thank goodness we moved her in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

My child attended Countryside Montessori Charter School for the last 2 years. She received an excellent education that put her ahead of her peers when we had to move to LA. When moving to LA, she tested above average for her reading and writing skills and as a third grader she is reading at a 6th grade level. These successes would not have been possible without the guidance and leadership of her teachers. The staff at CMCS works on deveoping the whole child, academically and socially. We are very pleased with the level of education that our daughter received while attending CMCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This is a direct response to the review posted on June 30th... Montessori does take a child that has focus. If your child is all over the place and is not self motivated, then you're right, that child will have a hard time with the curriculum. As for the administrator, this position has been taken over by an amazing woman who lives and breathes this school. There have been so many wonderful changes that have made a positive impact on teachers and students. I would not have my child any place but CMCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

CMCS is an excellent school very child and parent oriented. We have only lived in Florida for a year now and were very disappointed with the initial school our child was enrolled in. Since transferring to CMCS We have noticed our child has started to love school again and we are very involved in all the activities of the school. Our child has even scored perfect on the reading section of the FCAT this spring. We couldnt be happier with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

Two years ago, the new director made a dire mistake. She combined the 3rd grade with the 1st and 2nd. What ended up happening is that many 3rd graders fell way behind where they should be and teachers became overwhelmed with FCAT pressure. (See past 2 years reading FCATS...more kids left behind.) This school is montessori but must also contend with Sunshine State Standard benchmarks. The school has a tense atmosphere as a result because its' identity isn't clear and leadership is lacking. If your child is orderly, quiet and left brained, they will do fine here. If they are more expressive, right-brained, have difficulty with quiet focus, this school will cause much heartache. Many kids have been switched out of here for falling behind and are now happy and thriving at Academy at the Lakes and Grade A public schools. These schools have more educated administrators/teachers who understand learning styles & learning differences. With, higher level degrees in administration and teaching, educators implement theory that is proven effective for all children. While many educators at CMCS have good intentions, they only have one system to implement because they lack knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

My daughter went to this school and excelled both during her tenure at Countryside, but also after she moved on into high school. Currently my son attends the school and it has been an even better experience. The school emails once a week with upcoming news and events and calls with the "Monday message". Communication is excellent and the class sizes are even better with two qualified teachers per classroom. The quality of education is that of the most expensive private school and it is free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I was looking for a great school for my two wonderful overachieving girls. Just moved to the area. I guess this wont be it. Thanks for the feedback, parents. I know how stressful can be to be in a system that doesnt work properly.


Posted March 9, 2010

I agree with the previous reviewer, the teachers in the 1st-3rd grade classes have seemed overwhelmed this year. My child is in the 3rd grade and we have been mostly happy with the school up until this year. My child has made little progress this year. I think it is hard for the younger kids in the class too, so much developing goes on in the first and second grade and to expect them to behave as third graders is unrealistic. There have been numerous times when my child said they were not allowed to talk at lunch or sit by their friends because of the younger students talking (or simply acting like 6-7yr olds) during work cycle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

CME is a mixed bag. There are some fine and talented teachers here and the lwr stdnt to teacher ratio (26 or 28 in a class w/2 teachers) allows for students to progress faster. However, many classes in the lower levels are extremely strict & the expectation is that kids not speak or socialize all morning 'til lunch (12ish)...easy for naturally quiet kids and hard for more naturally expressive children...discipline is harsher than should be. There should be recess to allow expenditure of energy but it's twice per week after lunch. There is a secretive environment here and the secretary isn't very mature in dealing with parents--it's just common knowledge not my opinion. A new principal has been implemented--hope she will improve the openness and friendliness of this school. ( This year 3rd grade was added to the combined 1st-2nd and seems to have overwhelmed teachers...my childs' wkbks are not corrected).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

Countryside is easily one of the best schools in the county, both in academics and child development. They consistenly score in the top levels of the FCAT without 'teaching the test' like most schools. The faculty are extremely well-qualified and the student to teacher ratio is an amazing 10:1, with 2 faculty in every class, all day. CME is a small school with a far more close-knit community than you would find in nearly all public elementary schools. Certainly there are some parents whose expectations have not been met (a few of whom have posted here), but there is simply no school in the area that compares to the quality of learning and personal growth that is offered at CME. It is an exceptional education and tuition-free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My child had a chance to be at this school due to opinions about CME being so great. Well our first hand experience was a grave dissapointment. The feeling you get with the staff and teachers is as if they are doing you a favor by accepting your child in the school. Terrible communication with the staff. We were new and yet unable to understand their communication system. If you emailed, you did not get a response. If you left a message or wished to speak to someone, again no answer. They seem to not care what the parents think. Very secretive, non involved environment at this school. After school activities expensive and lacking. Teachers are more observers than teachers. Dissapointed with their ice cold attitude. Don't bother with the school if you want a warm friendly environment, where your child is taught to love to learn. This is not it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Big Regret saying the least! Bad with communication with parents, very rude with having time for parents/administration meetings, very rude secretary, and not getting back with parents concerns over multiple request made via e mail and letters. If you belive in Communication then Countryside is not the place to learn it or expect it. Just avoid it ,that's what they are expert at.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/AN/A
Female 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 89%63%61%
Master's degree 11%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. MICHAEL ROM
Associations
  • Montessori Foundation
Fax number
  • (813) 996-0993

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5852 Ehren Cutoff
Land O' Lakes, FL 34639
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 996-0991

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT