Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lantana Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 849 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

This is by far the worst school my daughter has ever attended. She is a gifted student, this however doesn't mean that she picks up on all subjects easily. When she approached her Algebra teacher for help he responded by telling her that if she is truly gifted she should understand the curriculum. My daughter was bullied on a regular basis and even removed from gifted classes because she had an issue with another student. The teachers don't want to be there, the administrators don't want to be there and the students don't want to be there. Security is non existent and there is absolutely nothing to stop people from entering the campus. Pick up and drop off is a joke with no enforced routine and kids running about like animals. There were two exceptional and caring teachers that deserve to be mentioned they were Ms. Sutera & Ms. Utech. By the time we transferred her to a much better school her self esteem was almost non existent. We decided to drive her 25 miles each way to Loggers Run in Boca rather then have her stay her final year in what can be described as Hell. It has now been about 1 1/2 years and I am finally beginning to see the happy child I once had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

I just want to say how happy I am that Lanta Middle picked my son for their pre teacher academy. My son loves school and always does his home work. Thank you for making my son love school again. Sincerley Ms. Sedler
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

The school is ridiculous. They should close it The teachers do not care The principles do not take care of things in a timely manor even when they are told a fight is going to happen they do not stop it . Then they punish one child more severely than the other . Both students should be treated equal. The kids that go there have a poor attitude towards learning because no one seems to care. My child became a frequent absent child due to the way all employees and staff acted.She had never missed a day of school until she attended Lantana middle. close it or fired them all and start over
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This school should be shut down. It is sad that my children even had to experience 3 years of humility by going there. From teachers that are too burnt out to teach and get easily aggravated to staff from all 3 grades that really need to see if working with children is what they really want to do. My children got sent out of the classroom for elementary things, which leads me to believe the teachers just don't care to teach. It was a lot better 3 years ago when the other principal was there. I can't wait for my children to graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

This school has no discipline, the teachers need to be more attentive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

This school is by no means disciplined! There are fights every other week! This school is horrible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

It is an amazing school my kids have excelled a great deal due to the fantastic children teachers and education! I highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I'm a graduate from this school, and I would like to say that at Lantana Middle I had a couple of the best years of my life there. The teachers, students and staff were great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

This school is a top-rated class act! I have two girls and one of them just went off to high school while the youngest is now in Lantana Middle. What a great school this is! The teachers offer their support and are easy to reach and talk to. The principal and assistant principals are wonderful....they run a tight ship over there. My daughters have found endless friends at this school and have made supportive friendships with many different kids that attend the school. The sports and extra-curricular program is fantastic. There is so much to do here and it is so well-supervised and organized. I cannot say enough about the Girl's Soccer and Volleyball programs. Top-notch. Kudos to Dr. Goldscher and Mr. Adair for well-run and well-taught girls soccer. It's no wonder that Lantana Middle was undefeated with such supportive coaches running an excellent sports program. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

the kids are bullies, thieves and socially immature. my children constantly complained the teachers didn't teach any thing because they had to spend all their time discipling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

They offer an excellent after school program that ends at 5:30 pm Monday -Thursday and its free. The school is one of the smaller middle schools in the county so your child tends not to get lost. I have found that the teachers are accessible and so is the principal. They have an excellent music program. With such a small group they got very impressive ratings last school year. My child also participates on a sports team. I think that that program could be a little stronger. If we as parents were more informed we would help more. I chaperoned some events and understand that some parents don't have the flexibility that I have but the parents have to make the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

I have found that it is better than alot of the other middle schools in the area. They have the same issues but seem to do a great job keeping the drugs and violence down. The music department is excellent.Dr. Goeff super job. The kids need more homework but they are doing a good job at getting things across to them.(That is just my opinion) The level of parent involement should be more me included. Never seem to get any of the school happening or pta if there is one (flylers?) Seem to find things out last minute so usually unable to attend or plan to participate. Would be willing to show more school spirit if I knew where it was needed. Thankyou 8 th grade parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Simply the best middle school in Palm Beach County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

My son attended this school for all of his middle school years and was a team player on the baseball team all three years. I saw a good sports program drastically fall to the lowest of low when a new 'Athletic Director' came into town. We went from recognizing students for a job well done (whether or not the season went well) to a 'Well I just don't give a d---' attitude. The last year of participation didn't even yield so much as a certificate of appreciation for participation. As one knows in order for children to participate in any sport it takes effort on the child's part not only in the form of an average to above average G.P.A., but also in the form of time taken out of their schedule and dedication to practice. And for their hard work and representation of their school they got nothing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

My two daughters went to this school and now my grand-daughter is going there and I am very happy with the results. I'm just sorry that our district just changed and my grand-son will not go there. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

I went to lantana middle and i enjoyed it honestly i had excellent teachers and i liked my old principal and i thought the quality of the school is excellent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

288 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

286 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

270 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

221 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 42%
Hispanic 39%
White 15%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. EDWARD BURKE
Fax number
  • (561) 540-3435

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1225 West Drew Street
Lantana, FL 33462
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 540-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT