Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

364 students|Pinellas
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
I'm saying thank you for everything you have done with my daughter. She is doing very well in everything. Thank you so much. This is for Mrs Johnson. Nandia mom

Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Teachers work very hard to help each student succeed. Administration needs to do much more to support the teachers with the resources they need.


Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
We had no problem with the amount of homework given. I did like the school policy about no homework over the weekend which allowed more family time.

Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
They do teach them persistence, grit and determination as much as they can. Mostly based on passing the state tests.

Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Children face no consequence for disrespect to a fellow students. Children say and act as they want because they can.


Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
They teach to the test period. Nothing else matters to this school. My daughter and several other girls in her class where harassed by a boy in her class who said unbelievably crude things to the girls and when administration found out they did nothing.

Plato Academy Largo Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
There is no discipline what so ever. So children can feel to misbehave terribly and nothing happens. It's a joke.

Plato Academy Largo Charter School 2

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Administration is unhelpful. Children bully and harass other children with no consequences. No discipline. Teachers are great and try really hard to do their very best with the students but are hindered by administration. Very high teacher turn over. In 3 years at this school, my child had 3 different math teachers. The last year the math teacher did a horrible job teaching and administration knew it and did nothing. They have high test scores because they teach to the test. The children have a lot of pressure put on them to score well on the test.


Plato Academy Largo Charter School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My kids are excelling at this school. Fast paced, lots of learning going on and good communication from the school. We love the smallness of the school too!

Plato Academy Largo Charter School 1

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Everything sounds good and looks good on paper about this school yet there is much under the surface that needs to be investigated here. Classrooms with children who bully and who are not disciplined, teachers who do not give clear instructions about homework, no support for new families entering the school and a teacher that discouraged me from occasionally joining my child for breakfast. My advice: ask a lot of questions before placing your child here and wait for appropriate answers that show that the adults in charge truly have your child's best interest at heart. My experience was not a positive one and it was very sad and disappointing for us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plato Academy Largo Charter School
7100 142nd Avenue, Largo, FL  33771
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (727) 793-2400
Last modified Plato Academy Largo Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top