Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Largo Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 821 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2013

I attended Largo Middle School for only eighth grade. I am now entering tenth at Largo High School. Largo Middle was the worst middle school I attended, and I attended Dunedin Middle, Oak Grove Middle and Largo Middle. It is not the teachers. They're sweet and doing the best they can but the kid that attend, even now are just not good for learning. I had Algebra Honors and Science with Ms. Pholey those are the only two classes I learned anything worth knowing. Mr. Davis was my English and Reading teacher and he did well. But all in all. Largo High is a MUCH better school. If you attend Largo Middle and don't like it, you most likely wont feel the same about Largo High School.


Posted May 21, 2013

I currently attend Largo Middle school and I have gone there since 6th grade. In elementary school I heard all the rumors about LMS, But they were all untrue. The teachers are all very nice and are happy to help you if you have any problems. The AVID and Orchestra program at the school are Awesome and the teachers are the best! Because I went to Largo Middle I Have met many great friends and had the greatest time! At school they have a variety of elective for students to chose from, like band, French, and animation. I would recommend this school to other people.


Posted July 2, 2011

I just finished Largo Middle...I went thre for all three years and i had many good experiences there...it really isn't a bad school its really the kids that go there...you just have to learn to hang with the right crowd..because i noticed in 6 & 7th grade when i had regular classes the kids were trouble makers but when i had all advanced and honor classes i had no class interruptions at all and i had a really good year.. the also have many great teachers and have many clubs you can join like Principles Multicultural Advisory Club, National Junior Honor Society, Student Council and many more.


Posted June 14, 2009

LMS is a great school. I just left there, and it was the best three years of my life. We had an excelent princliple in Fred Ulrich and the best Science teacher, field trip coordinator, activities director, and all around greatest teacher in florida and the 'florida teacher of the year', Leslie Pohley she is an incredible tribute to a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

The fundamental program is really great. Teachers have been excellent. Also the chorus program - very well taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

Well i have been a student at Largo Middle for the past 3 years and i have enjoyed every minute of it.There are many groups you can be in.The techers are perfect and not only are they there to teach but they support you and care about you.But if you are looking for a job then you should definatly get one in our cafe because,currently,we only have four employee's working there.There is alot to keep us safe also,as you read below,there is a fencing through the back parking and there is also a glass wall in the front that leads parents and strangers to the main office.Even if other people say that it is a bad school,i have not found one thing that is bad about it(except the food)!Your children are sure to have a great time at this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I'm a sixth grader and so far Largo Middle School is awesome!I really like how it is made because there is mre than one way to get to your next class.I'm glad that the school now has fencing so no one can enter through the parking lot when reaching the portables.I can't say the food is terrific because I think none of the public schools have very delicious food.The teachers are very nice and understandable.They have a sense of humor, too!I think it's easy to get very good grades because the teaching is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2005

Two of my children attended Largo Middle, one in the gifted/advanced program and one in the 'what do I have to do to get by' mode. Both children received an excellent education. This year there is a new principal who is extremely innovative and working hard to bring new technology to the school. It's a great school with a lot of really great, caring teachers. I couldn't have asked for a better experience for my kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2003

LMS is the best. My child is in fast track, and she is gettting the best grades ever. The tachers are helpful and the school is getting better everday. It's a learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

257 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

283 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

287 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 27%
Black 18%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%60%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. STEPHANIE C JOYNER
Fax number
  • (727) 588-3720

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 8th Avenue Southeast
Largo, FL 33771
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 588-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT