Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mildred Helms Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 613 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

I have always taken my children's safety for granted, just because they are locked behind school gates does not mean their safe. My daughter and I went through a horrific traumatic bullying ordeal in which I sent her back to school the day after filing the report, I assumed she would be safe. The vice principle "appointed investigator of bullying" spent her time alone with my daughter behind closed doors telling her how she wasn't bullied. Then my daughter(only 8 years old) went back to class where her teacher did the same thing. Retaliation against someone for filing an alleged report of bullying is against the law, but not one person in this whole ordeal was disciplined. The Principle does not want to admit she has a bullying problem in the school so they spend their time ignoring it or covering it up. Pinellas County Schools are a "JOKE" and Mildred Helms got a one on my ranking because I could not give them a negative number. Make sure if your children attend this school that you talk to your children often about bullying, BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This is such a disappointment. It is blatantly obvious the general attitude of the staff is rude and unfriendly. Pity any child who is compelled to attend school here. If by some misfortune you need to speak to anyone in the front office, expect to be treated as though you are interrupting their free time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

My older son has been to several schools, and he's doing well at this one and has a teacher that seems to be a good one. I'd say overall the school is average. My younger son started kindergarten as one of the youngest in his class and he had some trouble, I do think a lot of it has to do with the fact that his teacher is considerably older than most teachers and doesn't seem to really enjoy her job much. When I met her she wasn't the least bit polite or friendly, seemed annoyed to be getting another kid in her class and I just had a feeling it wasn't going to work out well. There's very little play time in kindergarten, it's a very structured learning environment which is fine...but I think if he had a teacher who was a little happier, more understanding, willing to take a minute and ask what's wrong and explain things my son probably would have done a lot better. I have decided it's best to home-school my younger son this year rather than continuing kindergarten. I definitely won't say it's all the teacher, my son just wasn't quite ready this year but I will say that I expect happier and more polite and courteous teachers from my children's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

This school has a lot to be desired. The staff always seems like you are interrupting their schedule when you call or go in to the office to speak to someone about any issue you might have. My sons teacher actually told me if i wanted to speak to her about anything to do with my son, then I had to do it on school time because once she leaves the schools property she is on her personal time. They have no playground for the students and the the students do not get a recess. I also had a problem getting my son bused because we live under 2 miles from the school. I was told my 7 year old could just walk or ride his bike the 1.8 miles to school like it was no big deal. It took me 3 months of fighting to get him on the bus which had a stop 4 blocks from our house and was only a third full with students. I would not recommend this school for any parent. They seemed to be more concerned with being in the new "Dolphin Tale" movie than providing a safe and quality education to the students. If you can, pass on Mildred Helms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

School spirit, teachers are wonderful!! New principal leaves a lot to be desired. From what I've witnessed, she isn't friendly to the parents or students!! If you aren't enjoying your job, let someone come in that will enjoy it and the wonderful students that attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I appreciate the encouragement and comradery between teachers especially the Kindergarten Team and team leader.Substitute teacher


Posted March 26, 2008

MHES staff is wonderful! Their teachers are caring and involved and I have never had a problem getting feedback from them for my childs' progress. The admin staff really are the best, especially their behavior specialist!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

Mildred Helms Elementary is a beautiful school where wonderful, qualified, professional staff work to assist your child in attaining the knowledge of reading, writing, mathematics, social studies, health, and science. Parents, Teachers, and other staff are highly involved with the PTA at MHES. Their music program is wonderful as well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 23%
Black 13%
Two or more races 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%60%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. SANDRA R COWLEY
Fax number
  • (727) 588-3603

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

561 Clearwater Largo Road South
Largo, FL 33770
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 588-3569

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT