Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Country Day School 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
CDS caters to the students and families who have the most resources to donate to the school. Learning opportunities are limited for students with families who are unable to donate money or volunteer routinely at the school. The teachers (P3) eat most of the snacks that are donated and intended for the students. The 3-5 year old classes are overcrowded, with as many as 35 students in a small classroom. The aftercare services are unruly, chaotic, and down right dangerous. My child learned a lot while a student there, but only because my child is a driven self-learner and the Montessori method was ideal for my child.
1 person found this helpful

Country Day School 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
I asked my son the other day, "What would you do if you won the lottery?" His reply was memorable, he said he would give all the money to Country Day so we would never leave! Being a single mom has it challenges, but this is one investment that is truly priceless! Come see for yourself, you won't want to leave. Thank You Country Day!


Country Day School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
We are beginning our 7th year at CDS and it has been an amazing experience. Every year has proved better than the last and I know this year will be no exception! We feel so grateful that our children are there. We have experienced other schools and CDS, hands-down, the best private school in this area!!!

Country Day School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Country Day School is an exceptional educational environment. Our two daughters have been there for 7 and 4 years respectively, and we plan to keep them there through 8th grade. Our children are happy there, and so are we! What makes Country Day so wonderful? A faculty and staff that love the children, who believe in challenging them to their highest potential, and an interesting, goal-oriented curriculum. But that's not all. In addition to the academic curriculum, Country Day also pays attention to the health of the children (physical education), music, art, and especially foreign languages. Our 8th grade children will graduate speaking Spanish, Chinese, and American Sign Language. How many other schools can boast of so much? We love Country Day and can't even imagine our children anywhere else. Rick Pettey

Country Day School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Country Day is a unique gem. My 1st grade son reads at almost a 4th grade level and can perform minor multiplication problems. My pre-k daughter thinks she is playing, but she is really learning the fundamentals of algebra. The school provides a structured program different from other programs. The major difference is that the classroom is set up to teach to your child's level - low or high. The Montessori concept is so different that parent's often have trouble the first year 'getting it', but after 5 years at the school I can easily say it is one of the best decisions I have made for my children.


Country Day School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Our child has been at Country Day School since he was 2 1/2 years old; he is now in 4th grade. Twice in 6 years we have toured all the schools in the area to make sure CDS was still the best choice for us. After touring public, private, Catholic and fundamental schools we have found CDS to be the best in terms of curriculum, student/teacher ratio and environment. The Montessori environment from toddler to 3rd grade is excellent. That environment, followed by the best of school/preparatory environment that begins in 4th grade, has historically produced 8th graduates who go on to EXCEL in high school and college. My husband and I are extremely involved in CDS and have been for 8 years. No concern of ours has ever gone unheard or unaddressed to our satisfaction. CDS is not just a school, it's a family.

Country Day School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Our child has attended CDS since 2002 and is now in 4th grade. We've toured every public and private school in our area and are satisfied none is as academically strong and well-rounded as CDS. Our child was nurtured and encouraged to learn independently in a traditional montessori environment (toddler to 3rd grade) which focuses on teaching the 'whole' child. He has adjusted to the more structured environment which begins in 4th grade and is a challenging, best of school/preparatory curriculum. He has learned about community service, religious and ethnic diversity and is performing at an advanced level in many of his subjects which include two foreign languages. There is no ceiling placed on what any child can learn. Parent involvement at CDS is outstanding. CDS teachers are unique and wonderful educators. The administration and staff knows everyone by name. There is no better place for a child than CDS.

Country Day School 0
no rating

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
Country Day Montessori is like finding a treasure chest that has all the tools that your child will ever need to become who they want to be. My daughter is at this school because due to the small environment she has been able to practice all sports, participate in all clubs and learned in an environment conducive to educational growth. At Country Day Montessori the sky is the limit to what your child can learn. If your child is on 3rd grade and can read at an eighth grade level that s where he/she will be challenged at. The same applies to Math. Languages are a very important part of my daughter s education. Country Day has an excellent Spanish and Chinese program that all students participate. She loves animals. She is able to go the Barn located on property and be exposed to take care of animals such as cows, goats, chickens, etc. She is also able to ride Horses which are also on property. Parents are 100% involved. Teachers are committed to education and your child s overall development. You couldn t ask for more! Give yourself the opportunity to experience what we have experienced for the last 7 years.


Country Day School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is just completing 3rd grade at Country Day and we couldn't be happier with the results of her education so far (been there since pre-k). She is reading at the eighth grade level and doing math that is typically taught in late fourth or early fifth grade. We love the small, family-friendly nature of the school, the other supportive parents we've met, and we can't argue with the results we've seen with our daughter. We have no intention of taking her out of Country Day until high school.

Country Day School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
This school is extremely chaotic and the children do nothing all day. Children need structure and they do not get it at Country Day. When you walk it, you are very impressed with all the material and opportunities that are offered but the kids do only a very small part of it, they spend their day doing crafts instead of the real essential of life. Very disappointing school, would not recommend at all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Country Day School
11499 Vonn Road, Largo, FL  33774
(727) 420-5664
Last modified Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top