Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Largo, FL
Students enrolled: 80
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westside Christian School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
I had concerns to start the year about the change in leadership. These concerns have proven unfounded. The elementary school improved when the teachers focused on subjects and not grade levels alone. My daughter has benefited because the teachers pull students in groups to work with advanced students so they are given work that challenges them.

Westside Christian School 5

Posted October 13, 2012
- a parent
The teachers at Westside go above and beyond to teach the students. They care about the students needs academically and emotionally, as well as spiritually. There are weekley activities for the students to get involved with. The new leapdership is refreshing this years. A few new and improved rules. More academically challenging. Better discipline. They work hard at gettining to know the students strengths and weaknesses so they can work on both. For the parent that thinks the PhD principle was better, I disagree. The new leadership has a better backbone. The teachers are excellent with curriculum and they work with the Sunshine States Standards to ensure that our chldren will be ready for college. The teachers have vision and the pastor supports his teachers.


Westside Christian School 4

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school for the money. Be involved in the education of your children by teaming up with the teachers, this brings great results. No school can compensate fully for parents who think education is a schools job. The school needs to do more to increase enrollment to stay open. The future looks in flux due to the pastor pushing out the principle that had a PhD and helped found the school. Positives: Christ-centered Challenging curriculum Selfless teachers Low cost model Negatives: Leadership void Vision is lacking

Westside Christian School 5

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
Westside Christian School in Largo, Fl is a great school! Having around 80 students from Kindergarten through 12th grade gives the teachers alot of "one - on - one" time with each one. The Administrator's door is always open for students and parents alike. Great care is taken to ensure a positive and caring learning environment for the students. I highly recommend Westside to any parent!

Westside Christian School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
Westside teachers really care about the students. There is good communication between the parents and teachers. Moving my kids from public school to westside was the best choice I could have made for them.


Westside Christian School 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a teacher
We take every child's learning style into account. Granted, we cannot help every student, but we will work with that student to reach their goals. With an average teacher student ratio of 1 per 10, we can see exactly what each child needs.

Westside Christian School 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
I thank God for this school. The kids there are great. The students always make NEW students feel welcome. My daughter is challenged and encouraged by the teachers, because they believe in her ability to thrive.

Westside Christian School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
This school is different from many other private schools in that they try to do a lot of "big school things" for the kids. Proms, pep rallys, shows and fundraisers are all a part of the culture there... plus the small school sense of belonging and being cared for. My son talks about how he knows the teachers and especially the principal have his best interest in mind. For the parent who said the curriculuum was too hard, I'm not sure where that would come from. School work is meant to be challenging and they are not giving free grades away, even to those with learning issues, but they are there to provide one on one work and build confidence so that students will learn. This way they know they did it which also instills a sense of pride. We love Westside!


Westside Christian School 2

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westside Christian School 4

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside Christian School
11633 137th Street, Largo, FL  33774
(727) 517-2153
Last modified Westside Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Westside Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top