Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lauderdale Lakes Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1030 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Lauderdale Lakes Middle MYP International Baccalaureate School is an excellent Magnet School with stimulating Innovative Programs. The students at Lauderdale Lakes Middle School receive targeted instruction to meet their needs whether that may be remediation or acceleration. Middle school students are afforded the opportunity to take enriching high school Math and Science programs but not only do the students take the courses but they are afforded the resources to excel. Not only are students nurtured academically, they are also afforded the opportunity to be dynamically well rounded culturally with enriching dance and music programs offered at Lauderdale Lakes Middle.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

This school is great! The parent involvement is excellent. They keep you informed with your child's academic progress and the fact the their students are able to take high school courses before hand is excellent! Awesome principal that stays in the hallways on a daily
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

This school is not as bad as people say it is.When i came on here and read the reviews i was really scared to come here as an in coming 6th grader.But after a couple of months i really enjoyed my time there.I have to agree that the kids are very wild and LIVE during the day.But we do get rewarded when we accomplish new goals as a grade.There was a whole bunch of different assemblies for different occasions,which was the good part.The IB program really pushes you to an advantage.Some teachers gave me a hard time but i just had to continue with the year.All in all i really like Lauderdale Lakes middle and i will be coming back for the 2013-2014 school year.


Posted May 9, 2013

ms. Rachel Lucas should not be teaching. All she has to do is monitor online students progress. She gave my A/B student a D because she hadn't taken her End Of Course EOC exam before interims. The state law says they cant take the EOC until April 29-May 10. She completed the class the first part of April with an A which was early. ms Lucas gave her a D because she hadn't completed a test the state says can't be given until after interims. Florida Vewrtual School says they are supposed to be entering the grade they got in the online class! I'm sooo mad I could SCREAM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

Ever since new administration, "Griffin Administration" the school has been running every well. My child which is now in High School scored every well on the FCAT due wonders of the teacher he scored ALL 4's and one 5. The administration knows how to communicate and gets the parents involved. WONDERFUL SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I attended Lauderdale Lakes Middle school for all three years. I was also in the magnet program. I met my best friend in the 6th grade at Lauderdale Lakes. And I am in my second year at Howard University and we are still best friends. Personally, I didnt socialize much. So, I didnt make the most of the school. However, I had great teachers. I was able to earn high school credits while in middle school, which paved the way for early admission my senior year of high school. The programs at Lauderdale Lakes are excellent! You just have to know what you are there for.


Posted November 30, 2011

The teachers are excellent! They care about their students academically and outside the class. They are very supportive. The IB program is challenging. Some of the classes are online and allow you to go faster than a traditional class.


Posted November 30, 2011

Everyone is friendly and helpful. Events are held monthly to encourage parent school relationships. Excellent environment to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

This school has made some great changes. It is by far ahead of other schools in technology. It has some kids with behavior issue like every school. Fortunately, their are incentives and support for kids to do well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2011

Dont send your kids here its a bad school theirs not very much detail here but pease dont send your kids here. Its best for you and your child for them to not go their!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2010

this school is bad the reason im still going is because i live near the some of the teachers are direspectful and unfair and the students are even worse if you have a chil DONT SEND THEM HERE WARNING !!!!!


Posted April 14, 2010

I am a student currently attending Lauderdale Lakes and truthfully I do not think it is a good school. Most of the children are not serious about their education and this puts the focused children in a bad environment. Compared to other schools, it is very violent. It is encouraged by the students. Punishments are not harsh when necessary, but are when unecessary Although temperary solutions have been made for these problems, no progress has shown. The are not The IB program does push you to your potential, but I believe there are too many projects. I would rather have an assignement that is related to the curriculum, rather than a projects that is just eye candy for visitors. I think the 7th grade magnet teachers are great teachers, except I wish they would focus more on the curriculum at hand. During sixth grade I did more independent studying for mathematics
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

I think the kids are bad but the teachers are nice ,and have a lot of education
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2010

i went to this school and for the 6 months i went here i filed 4 police reports on fellow student and was beaten up weekly do not enroll your children in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

I am a 6th grader attending Lauderdale Lakes and I am in the IB program. I love the school and the teachers. It will be hard saying goodbye to everyone when I leave for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

I am in the 8th grade attending Lakes since 6th grade. It's not that we are out of control students we're just happy to have a place to socialize with friends. Besides who wants to go to a boring old school that's strict. Also, I'm in magnet I agree that some teachers do always seem annoyed but wouldn't you be too if you had to come everyday to deal with over a hundred kids for 8 hours a day because even if I loved my job I wouldn't be too happy about that. Personally, I feel that the way Lakes is shows that it has character. You can hear that a school is an A school and has a good environment, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's safe or the education is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2009

I like this school, but the kids are on some serious grown fols buisiness
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

My daughter enrolled in 2007 and so far, i am impresse with her achievements although there is room for improvements
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Lauderdale lakes middle school is a great school though we may not be the best or the most prestigious we sure are not out of control the only reason teach always seem to be rude is the fact students do not want to follow directions and want the teachers to do what they want is the only reason students say teachers are rude so in conclusion the ib is impresive because i know for a fact that william dandy middle school's ib program the highest level of math the have is algebra 1 and the highest math we have at LLMS is geometry so in conclusion LLMS a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

i likethe school and i think it a great school and that why i go to this school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

296 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
90%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 86%
Hispanic 9%
White 2%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 40%53%61%
Master's degree 53%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES GRIFFIN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3585

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3911 Northwest 30th Avenue
Lauderdale Lakes, FL 33309
Phone: (754) 322-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle Academy Charter School
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


Smart School Charter Middle
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


St Helen Catholic School
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT