Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boyd H. Anderson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1813 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2006

As a student of BA and a member of the International Baccalaureate Magnet Program, I would have to say that Boyd H. Anderson is not a bad school. The programs are good, and the ideas are there but we don't have the support from the community or the government to make BA a greater school. People aren't giving us a chance, because the know we can be the best with a little chance. I am a senior and I have been there all four years, I am proud of where my school is from where it has came from, I love BA and we are improving, our football team is divisional champions, and we are going for state. BA is a good school, just gives us a chance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2005

I went to Boyd Anderson school my 9th grade year and I think it is a wonderful school that tries to help its students as much as possible. It has a bad academic reputation, but the teachers are trying to improve it with very little help from the children. I think it's a great school. Thank you for your time.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2005

In my four years at BA we went through 3 principals. The principals we did have seemed to be minimally involved and none of them made a dramatic difference. The Ib program seems to be the only thing keeping that school together and little by little it too is deteriorating. While there were activities and clubs for students to get involved with, actual involvement was hard to come by. Parent involvement also seemed to be at a minimum, at least outside of IB.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2005

The Boyd Anderson International Baccalaureate magnet program is a wonderful opportunity for a child to get an exceptional education. The program is very intensive, but the rewards are great. The classes are challenging and interesting because the subjects are explored at a much deeper level than in a traditional or Advanced Placement environment. Students learn to analyze a given subject, rather than simply memorize answers to questions. IB graduates are heavily recruited by Universities. The principal does not appear to support the program as much as previous administrations. Hopefully, the program will survive his passive aggressive attempts to dissolve it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Boyd H. Anderson (BA) is a school that has a great respect for diversity. The students and faculty bond together to provide quality education for all! In spite of certain ethnic barriers, students embrace learning and try hard to accomplish all that is placed before them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

this is a horrible school. my son was an a-b student until he got here. his grades dropped drastically. he was placed on indoor suspension and they never even bothered to notify me of it.i'm so glad this is his last year there. i would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

From what I read in the previous review, I am sorry to see that this student (or I fear Parent) spent too little time in English class. To open ones mouth is to remove all doubt... This school is doing the best it can with many difficult students. Most could be corrected with the proper homelife and guidence. The school cannot do it all. I do believe the Principal is not doing enough to oversee the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2004

This is the worst school that you would want you child to go to. The teachers dont teach crap, there are fights everyday, no discipline whatsoever, and can careless what we or the students feel. Again, I don't recommend anyone letting their child go to school there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

484 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

463 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
28%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
47%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 91%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 45%53%61%
Master's degree 48%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ANGEL ALMANZAR
Fax number
  • (754) 322-0330

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3050 Northwest 41st Street
Lauderdale Lakes, FL 33309
Phone: (754) 322-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle Academy Charter School
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


Gold Coast Christian School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT