Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Piper High School

Public | 9-12 | 2491 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2003

I went to this school myself in the eighties and it was even bad back then. We had a name for it, Piper Prison. This school has turned progressively worse as the years have passed. The grade ratings for the facility are horrifying. My son was supposed to attend this year and I was so against it, we sold our home and moved to Wellington just to provide him a better education. I am not kidding, that is the sole reason we moved. He now attends an 'A' school. I highly encourage parents in the Piper Zone with no alternatives to send their children to magnet schools. The path your child takes with exposure to the current elements at Piper is in your hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I just graduated from Piper back in June and it was the worst 4 years of my life. When the former principal (since replaced as of June 13, 2003), the school saw the highest fight rates in Broward County for 2 consecutive years. The recent student government election scandal placed Piper in the newspaper 4 out of 7 days. Now, I took mostly Honors and AP classes and I will give them the fact that the teachers in those class types are second to none. But, the overall administration and the poor security makes Piper the embarrassment of the County, and ever of the state. The trash that is all over the school, the fact that the bathrooms are never clean, no soap or paper towels, and the very poor condition of the grounds is just too humiliating to discuss.


Posted September 9, 2003

These ratings are from 1995. I graduated that year and the school must have gone down hill after that because when I attended it wasn't at all as bad as what I'm hearing. I had an excellent education, graduating with a 3.0. I was on the Dance Team and had numerous other activities. I'm sorry to hear how bad it has fallen. I am out of state now and have not seen the school since 1997. Hopefully the school district will get their act together and bring the school back to what it used to be.


Posted September 5, 2003

I believe the school gives a great education. A lot of hearsay is in those comments. You hear of a fight in a school, but there are fights in everyschool. During my 4 years at piper (1998-2002) there was not 1 riot or problem that escalated into police being called except for a few little fights and a bomb threat once a year that could come from anyone. I think the teachers get involved as much as possible but it's kind of difficult to have 1on1's with 45 kids to a classroom, so it's not the teachers fault. If parents want their kids to get a better education, maybe they should get involved instead of complaining about it. I think the administration did a great job. The punished the kids that skipped class, got in fights, etc... with detentions, suspensions, and expulsions. Not once in school was there a weapon incident and I came out ready for college, all that i can ask for.


Posted September 4, 2003

Hopefully, the new principal will bring order back to this school. If not, violence will continue on and off campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My how things have deteriorated. Our son went for 9th grade. The biggest mistake we ever made. Too crowded class sizes, halls too crowded to pass without incidents. Students out of control.You would think it was an inner city school in the 'Worst City, USA'. When we saw how terrible things were with no change insight, we pulled him out and sent him to Riverside Military Academy in Gainesville, Ga. Now he is on the honor roll, active in sports and an officer. He has his self esteeme back and is reaching goals. As of August 2003, Piper has a new Principal, too little too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

Piper High School is one of the worst public schools in South Florida as far as I'm concerned. Violence, fights, riots, and disturbances come up more than education does on a daily basis. The school itself is overrun with delinquents who constantly push their limits and misbehave in such a manner that it causes other students grief just witnessing such things. There is no control over the students or their actions due to the fact that the teachers are too tired of the repetitive occurrences to even bother anymore. Nor do they wish to be involved mainly because its too much work to sort out a problem. The students need an extreme amount of discipline to handle this problem, mainly from their parents who allow them to behave this way in the first place. Students fear reporting harassment because revenge for 'telling' usually follows from the accused party and all of their friends. If there was more control over the school and the students with more guidelines and no-tolerance laws it would be a more suitable environment. Sadly, today's youth continues to rot further into oblivion and there's no sign of turning back. Today's graffiti artists and social disasters are tomorrows future industry bigwigs. Are these the kind of people you want running your country? Why don't we ask Eminem?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2003

My daughter attends Piper. I'm very disturbed by their lack of involvement and concern about the students. I have on several occasions left messages and emailed her counselor with specific concerns, with no response. When in class it seems acceptable for students to sleep. When school was missed, I wasn't contacted. If it was an excused absence, she was told that it wasn't necessary to make up work, nor was past work explained. I'm terribly disappointed in the Broward County School District as a whole,having had to try to deal with them for 6 years now.


Posted May 26, 2003

I attended this school for the past 4 year and though I may have had many wonderful memories inside it, the school is in need of careful atention.


Posted May 15, 2003

very unresponsive administration. Poor examples set by 'role models'


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

611 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

671 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

684 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

647 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

643 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

594 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

632 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
42%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

538 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 59%
White 18%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ENID VALDEZ
Fax number
  • (754) 322-1830

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Northwest 44th Street
Lauderhill, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


C.G Smith Academy
Sunrise, FL


Plantation High School
Plantation, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT