Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Piper High School

Public | 9-12 | 2491 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2008

I seroiusly think this school has gotten better than what it was, but on the other hand it still needs some things changed, such as more discpline and better security for the school. It has great extracurriclar activities, such as fcat practice, but sometimes its a real short class. Overall, it needs better security and needs to fix up many other things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2007

My son just entered Piper High last August as a freshman. I was leery about him going to Piper because it has suffered from a bad reputation in the past. Last year, a new principal, Mrs. Enid Valdez, came on board and she has really made a difference already. My son is having trouble in math and English, yet his entire team has been in contact with me from almost the very first day to help get him on track, offering after and before school tutoring as well as FCAT Saturday sessions. I am extrememly impressed with the principal, her staff and the entire Piper community. We parents who decided to stick with Piper and not send our kids to other schools feel like we have won the lottery. Mrs. Valdez knows that the students come first and that is her mantra. Piper is Broward's Best Kept Secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

Piper is wonderful. really, a school is what you make it, so you can't always look at a school's stats to see if its for you or not. the crowd you choose affects your learning experience and that can either affect you in a positive or negative way so you must choose wisely. academics are very important. if students want to learn at Piper, they will, because they have that drive and determination to get the job done. not only is academics important, but the school's atmosphere as a whole. Piper has a home feeling to me and i look forward to going there everyday. it has an awesome performing arts and journalism program. this school has many opportunities for the students and the school staff really cares. all of my teachers were amazing and they want for my classmates and i to succeed. Piper High School rocks!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2007

I am a current student at Piper High School. I admire our new priciple, Mrs. Veldez. She is improving our school drastically from every perspective. Most of our teachers are professional individuals, ones that a student can look up to. Our school is not perfect, neither is any other school on the face of this earth; but we do strive to do our best, not for any attention, not for what critics say about our school, rather for our own benefit and for our own pride. Thank you very much for your time and i do hope people will have a different view of our school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2006

Many (not to say all) of the teachers are professionals and great at what they do. It just takes effort from students to make the school what it really should be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2006

Good academic programs, music, sport & art are all available at this school. Parent involvement could be a little higher, but I dont see a problem the amount of parents involved now.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 28, 2005

even though many may put a bad reputation on piper high school, i believe that it is a very good school. like any other school, bad things happen. but these are isolated incidents and should not affect the reputation of the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2005

I think that this is a great school. I have had the pleasure of sending my sons and daughter to this school and they have all graduated with honors and have went on to have successful careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

School was disorganized and had a high rate of lunch brawls and fights. Classroom was unstructured when teacher was not present. Substitute teachers were horrible. We watched music videos in a few classes.School seemed overpopulated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 2, 2005

Piper is a great school. The teachers and staff are friendly and attentive. The school has been working really hard to bring their grade up from a C to a B. Piper has a great performing Arts and Art program. Every year the school publishes a magazine with students art work and poems. It also has a great Journalism program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2005

Guidance suggested my daughter, a junior, take 'easy' classes as a senior to improve her GPA, instead of art or career interest. Too crowded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Good school a little dangerous and dirty but it has a high sucurity and alot of camras and the new principle is really makeing it good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

the kids are rude and violent.the teachers don't really try to help the kids they know are failing and know need a little extra help. they just help the smart kids,the security around the school is poor. they don't do their job. they so busy trying to be friends with the kids,kids are able to just walk off campus when they please,they skip in sit outside on the benches.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2005

Found it very overcrowded. Average on the academic scale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

School overcrowded, racially imbalanced,unimaginative corriculum, poor acedemic stimulation, scholastically poor, drop out rate far too high, disorganized, security poor, students unsupervised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

My daughter is a 9th grader it appears a student can skip up to 5 clasess per semester without any one questioning there whereabouts no one cares? It is a rough school with constant fighting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

The problem with Piper is that there are too many students and not near enough teachers. Its hard as a student to learn when you have 40 to 50 kids in a class. There is no safety either.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2004

Piper High School has been under much scrutiny these past couple of years. Most would deturmine by the constant negitive attention that the school is bad, period. This is not exactly true however; a students experience in the school entirely depends on his or her classes. For instance, the lower level classes are made up of students with no ambition and misbehave constantly. Because of this it is extremely hard to maintain discipline and thus the 'good' teachers refuse to even step into the classroom. Thus, barely competant teachers given the lowest wages are employed at this level. General classes may not even complete work through half the period. This is totally opposite for the higher level classes. The teachers that instruct AP and Honors classes are, with no exaggeration, some of the best in the state. The students there are almost sheltered and the ciriculum is beyond superior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2004

My son received a terrible education at this school. Despite the fact that he graduated with an academic reward for his grades, he needed to take remedial classes at the Community College, and can barely pass his classes. Pay the money for a private education. It is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

This is my 10th graders first year at Piper from a private school and I'm very pleased with the helpful staff and teachers.They're available to me when I need them. Security's gotten tighter in 04' and the automated phone call notifying parents of new changes and meetings are especially helpful and make me feel counted as a parent. We all need to do our part and as parents. We need to realize that teachers aren't substitute parents and can't always be accountable for other children's behavior. I'm sure it's hard enough just trying to teach and get through to students on an academic level.It isn't just Piper that's changed for the worse. The world just isn't as innocent as it use to be. We all need to do our part. Remember it takes a village to raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

611 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

671 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

684 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

647 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

643 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

594 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

632 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
42%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

538 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 59%
White 18%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ENID VALDEZ
Fax number
  • (754) 322-1830

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Northwest 44th Street
Lauderhill, FL 33351
Phone: (754) 322-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


C.G Smith Academy
Sunrise, FL


Plantation High School
Plantation, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT