Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pope John Paul Ii Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lecanto

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $92,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $786.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

What a welcoming environment. Everyone is caring, from staff to families. My children love the school as well as the teachers. They never complain about having to go to school, to them it's like a second home. Great education with morals and values taught daily. Great choice for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

Our family was searching for a school where students are treated as valued and loved individuals, where teachers cared whether or not a student completed and turned in assignments and whether or not they understood the material, where teachers are enthusiastic and still love teaching, and where students can catch their enthusiasm and love learning, where teachers and staff would support our values and moral teachings and care how students treat others, where the Gospel and grace are taught through example and lessons, where academics are taught to a high standard and where success was already proven, and where learning is interactive and maybe even fun- where activities and projects support lessons and students are encouraged to think, grow, and lead. We found this school in Lecanto at Pope John Paul II Catholic School. They treat each student as a whole person with academic, spiritual, and physical needs. It has a strong community which includes polite and caring students, parents and staff. Pope John Paul II Catholic School exceeded all of our hopes and expectations. A rare school today indeed! We are blessed to be a part of this community. Thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

My son started attending PJP2 in 3rd grade in 2012. The school offered a special program at his grade level in BrainWare Safari which he absolutely loved! I've read the reviews and was a bit skeptical when I saw the review that said, "Please Just Pay Double." The school does a lot of fundraising of all types which is not unlike any other school these days. I didn't feel strong armed or pressured into paying for anything outside our reach. I think the teachers at PJP2 are outstanding: compassionate, caring, and involved with the students. My son had special issues due to sensory integration, and everyone at PJP2 just wrapped around him and our family and showed their support. I truly believe that the teachers at this school have contributed to my son's success. He loves this school and doesn't want to go anywhere else. PJP2 is a blessing. If you want a place for your child that feels more like a "home" than a "classroom" you should look at enrolling your child(ren) at PJP2. Scholarships are available outside the normal Step Up for Students. Take a chance. It could change your life and that of your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Parents refer to Pope John Paul II simply as PJP II...lately that acronym seems to stand for PLEASE JUST PAY DOUBLE!!! Paying tuition, consumable fees, volunteering hours isn t even enough. EVERYTHING is turned into a money making venture want to vote for the theme of the annual fundraiser? Vote by bringing in MONEY and putting it in a jar. Want to attend a brunch to honor your children s grandparents? Buy their tickets! As parents we are constantly bombarded with raffle tickets and fundraisers to sell, sell, sell!!! It NEVER stops!! As for the rest of the school? The curriculum is good. The teachers for the most part seem to really care about the students. The administration is the weakest link in the school. The principal is completely concerned with promoting the school-and the children. She is more troubled about the outward facade of how the school appears to the public than on the inner workings of making a peaceful environment for all who attend. My children attended a much larger private school out of state and although it had its fair share of problems it was nothing compared to this. Faculty seems to be cautious almost timid dealing with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I do love this school for my children; the teachers are kind and compassionate and always keep parents informed. The environment is friendly and morally sound. However, be prepared to get your wallet out! I completely understand that private schools struggle daily to make ends meet. For those of us that are average middle class families paying for tuition, and do not receive (or qualify) for any scholarship assistance it is very discouraging to constantly be forced to sell raffle tickets, or be bombarded with fund raisers. There is no doubt that the principal is very concerned about getting new technology for the students, but it is very evident that marketing the school is her first priority. As parents we are constantly told of the thousands of dollars the school saves by cutting the air conditioner off over weekends, and how much our end of the school year auction brings in, but have yet to see those savings reflected in our tuition costs. The pressure makes enjoying your children s schooling experience nearly impossible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I had four children graduate from PJP2, the youngest being there from EC3 (early childhood 3 year old class) through the 8th grade. My own experience was five stars, but the academic preparation they received is what really matters, and that was beyond five stars! After graduating, all of my children attended Trinity Catholic High School in Ocala, which is a college prep school. Two of my children are now in college and the other two are still in high school. All of them have the educational, emotional and spiritual foundation that is allowing them to be successful young adults, both educationally and socially. Thank you Pope John Paul II Catholic School for all you did for my children and me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I love this this school! I am a student here . My teacher is the best. She explains everything so that I can actually understand it. The school has a very big library, huge classrooms, desks, really big cafeteria. Our principal is really nice. She's the best one in Citrus County. We also have a wide selection of sports. ( Golf, Tennis, Volleyball, Basketball, Soccer, and Cheerleeding. So if you need to send your child somewhere where they can have an excellent education, please send them to Pope John Paul II Catholic School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2010

I love PJP2! I am nothing but pleased with the preschool program and staff. My child begs to go to school even on Saturday (I am sure this will change with age) but my husband and I are enjoying it while we can. I highly recommend looking into the school if you want the best education for your child. Tuition might not even be an issue because they have so may options of scholarships. Don't think you shouldn't look into it just because of money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

The best years of my children's life were at PJP2. Teachers are always available to speak to parents when needed. PJP2 has the best Science program in the county. Students always receive top honors on Science projects. For a small school, they achieve big things. It's the best investment you can make, by enrolling your child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I had my child at PJP and was quite disappointed with the type of teaching that was offered at the school. It was focused on drilling of skills. My child came home most days upset and discouraged by the lecture style of teaching. I was hoping that my child would have the opportunity to be involved in hands-on relevant activities. My child is now in a public school and is much happier in school. I feel the public school is much further ahead with the type of instruction taught specifically in math and social studies. Teachers use creative ways for the children to learn content. Group projects, discussions about current events, and hands-on activities are a part of the public school. The switch back to the public school was the best decision we made for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I recently moved my two children (6 & 9) from Rock Crusher Elementary School (Public) to PJP II. I was sceptical at first that they would be behind, which they were but the teachers and principal were so welcoming and jumped right in to help get the kids up to speed. In the public school they were attending it was all about FCAT and how to pass that stupid test. In PJP II, the children learn the core basics and are light years ahead of the public system. The added bonus is the Christian/Catholic atmosphere. Overall, it was the best decision we ever made to switch our children. They will receive a great education and it is well worth the money!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I recently relocated from CT. I placed my children in a public school in the area after 3 weeks I moved them to PJP and they loved it! The public schools where behind CT and the morals and examples my children experienced in three weeks where inexplicable! PJP is considered 1 of the 12 best catholics schools in the nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 29%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (352) 746-3448

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4341 West Homosassa Trail
Lecanto, FL 34461
Phone: (352) 746-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crest School
Lecanto, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT