Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Milestones Community School Of Lake County, Inc.

Charter | K-8 | 205 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

My boys started Milestones last year 2013-2014. They were in First Grade and Fourth Grade. The teachers and staff are great. My first grader loved his teachers. He was struggling with his reading and his teacher took the time and gave him the extra help he needed. He has improved tremendously. Now my fourth grader has no problem in school but can be a bit of a clown in class. Which his teacher put an end to that. For which I am forever grateful. The Principal is wonderful. She has an open door policy and any of the students can come to her if there is ever a problem.The classrooms are a smaller size and that gives my boys a chance to have individualized attention when needed. I hope that Milestones can stay open for a very long time because I feel that this is a wonderful school for my boys and they will get the most out of their education,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

Milestones is looking great with the new pavement and painted gym this is going to be a wonderful school year.


Posted February 22, 2013

Milestones has been a Great Blessing for our family! My child is a 7th grader and was zoned to go to Oak Park. We are so thankful that we have the option to send him to Milestones where the classes are small, the teachers really care, and there is a greater feeling of safety compared to the violence at Oak Park. The principal Mrs. Jackson is a Great person who is working together with the teachers to make this a really great school. If it weren't for Milestones we would choose to homeschool our child as opposed to sending him to Oak Park or Carver middle schools. It's worth going over and talking to the teachers and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This is my son's first year at Milestones. We enjoyed movie night and my son loves the school. The Principal is outstanding and I have found the office staff to be very professional, helpful and polite. The before and aftercare staff are outstanding. I am extremely happy to have found Milestones and such a wonderful staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Disorganized and unstable, Yes. I wish Milestones was an option for my children, but it is not. Last Spring I visited the school and was set on enrolling my now Kindergarten child in the school. I met with the Principal and the Kindergarten teacher and was impressed. Very impressed! He took the time to show me around and answer questions and seemed very professional. However, I learned this summer that both the Principal and teacher I met with were no longer there. I have a friend who sends her child there and she shared with me that the last two Principals were great, however they both left rather abruptly. She also told me that the teacher turn over rate is ridiculous. Why is that? The school appeared to be a great place. My friends daughter likes school, her grades improved, and she even learned art and yoga! Why then does every Principal leave abruptly, and why are teachers there then gone. There has to be deeper issue. Who runs this school? I wish this school was an option. I am unhappy with the Public School this year and hoped that Milestones was the answer. However, I can't risk an unstable staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

This school got a D rating this year, and has a high teacher turn over in the elementary school. They are disorganized and the office staff is very unfriendly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

I placed my daughter in Milestones last year (which was fourth grade). She absolutely LOVED it. She is now attending Milestones for fifth grade. And my son is now at that school for K. The teachers this year are full of energy, highly educated, and have the love for teaching. We met the new principal at open house and there are activites in place at the school such as drama, cheerleading, and etc. What would be nice if they could add football or something for the boys (but it is a small school) We were scared to let go of our son but the K teacher (Mrs. Williams) has energy and is well organized. My daughters teacher fifthe grade (Mrs. Barnhardt) is a teacher who will teach right away you can tell she will do whatever it takes to teach your child and your child will learn. We dropped our son off today and of course I called to check on him and without hesitation the front office set my mind at ease and were more than happy to answer my questions. I truly feel that Milestones is going places. The school does need updating but you have to remember that it is not how it looks but what they are teaching and who is teaching. You can feel confident in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

My daughter has been going to Milestones for the last 4 years, she will be attending again this year. WE both love this school, there have been some issues with teacher stability, however with the New Principal I know we will see major changes & Improvments. Mrs. Jackson was a prior teacher to this school a few years ago, she is an outstanding educator to the students as well as will be helpful to the teachers. Mrs. Jackson loves for the parents to be involved and will listen to any and all issues. She takes time for the students that want to talk or have issues that they would like to discuss. I can see that Milestones is going to be the amazing school that I know it can be again with Mrs. Jackson's guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

My Niece has attended Milestones since Kindergarten with very few issues. The school is amazing and now with its new principal it should do even better. She is a former teacher at the school is an exceptional educator and is a perfect choice for principal. She takes time for each student, values parental input and is a conscientious and fair administrator. We have no reservations about Milestones being the steward of my niece's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

This school had many challenges this past year. The 5th grade went through 3 teachers, their amazing Principal was ousted and there were several occasions of bullying on the school bus and on campus. During FCAT testing the 5th grade teacher was constantly on her cell phone and computer using Facebook, checking emails and talking. It was such a disappointment from the previous year. There are great teachers there but not enough to combat all the problems. Office staff is wonderful and friendly and tries to help but even they can't fix the myriad of issues facing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

The intern principal is amazing.She gets more accomplished in 2 weeks than any principal does all year.Front office needs work and a change of attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Wow!! I just visited the school today and fell in love with the first grade teacher my son will have. She was so nice and really seems to know what she is doing. I asked several questions about the reading and math programs and she was so knowledgeable. My son is excited and so am I -- Go Mrs. Farren, I know it will be a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

The school has a new principal. He is brillant and has a clear vision to move the school forward. My children have attended this school and have a great education. The school has always been a good school. However I see GREATNESS on the horizon. Mr. S., the principal is straightfoward and has a clear vision. The teachers at Milestones are some the of the hardest working educators in the field. Under this new leader, I am confident that the school will move ahead and be one of the best in Lake County. I highly recommend this school to any parent who lives in Lake County. This recommondation is based on the following things: 1. Smaller campus 2. Busing 3. Great Teachers 4. Community involvement 5. Talented Principal It is a free charter school that almost has a feel of the Private School. I love this school and all it has done for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a small, family-oriented school. Milestones keeps getting better and better this year. The Principal and his faculty and staff have really improved the overall quality of the educational experience and overall culture of the school. They've set high academic expectations for their students, discipline problems are minimal, and they are always available to help with any questions. Keep up the great work!


Posted October 13, 2009

When I first decided to enroll my children into Milestones Community Charter School, I did not know much about the school, but I really wanted to be a part of a school community and build relationships with the school administration and the teaching staff. I have always invested my time and energy into my children and their education and wanted to make sure that Milestones was a place that could help me nurture their potentials. My children and I (I am in school as well; as their tutor) are in our second year at this school and continue to feel like this is a place where were we can grow. There was a problem last year but felt that the new principal responded receptively to my concerns and the matter was dealt with in a way that helped my child and me. It takes a village! You get what put in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Milestones is a good school, and like any school, public or private, it is not perfect. The key to a good experience at any school is to be an involved parent and communicate with your childs teacher. Join the PTO or volunteer. Parents are a childs first and most important teacher. The staff and principal at Milestones are doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

My children attend this school, and I have nothing nice to say about this school, esp.. the Principal, who has no clue on running a Chater School, or how to manger whom he hires as his staff. I would not send no child to this school, and Educationaly,there is none, and your children will suffer when they enter Public schools. 'Trust Me'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

milestones is a great school. my 2 boys started here last year and i feel its a great learning experiance for them.. i hope to keep them here until the 8th grade.. my youngest sons teacher is mrs.burbank and she is a wonderful teacher she makes sure the kids are taught all they need to suceed she cares very much for her students. my oldest sons teacher is mrs.birko and boy is she an amazing teacher my son has had it hard this year and she has keep me on a step by step basis with my sons education. she as well cares deeply for her students all i'd like to say is thank you milestones for helping my boys suceed..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Milestones Elementry is a very good school. Mrs. Jackson is a wonderful first grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

i used to be a student at this school and i didnt like it to say the least mr.B is the only teacher that i like and seems to be at least a little concerned about the students and the enviromnt is terrible and the food is unhealthy and expensive
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Black 17%
Hispanic 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%62%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10516 Treadway School Road
Leesburg, FL 34788
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 742-7007

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT