Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lehigh Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1092 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

My daughter goes to this school and i could not be happier with the exsperience ive had as a parent and the staff!I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Great school and excellent teachers ho loves . My doter is very happy in this school. Mr anderson and she loved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

for me this is the best elementary in lehigh acres all my kids went to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

everyone should know that the staff at Lehigh are very helpful and friendly.i like that they take the time to answer questions that are concerning to you.i wish the school would begin at a normal school year.starting September and ending in june.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

this school is asome and fun the teachers are so nice and mr.morrison is funny this is evan in mr.morrison class iam going to miss you guys


Posted July 11, 2012

Great school and excellent teachers ho loves her job. My son is very happy in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

I HATE THIS SCHOOL. THE STAFF ARE NOT NICE AND THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT PEOPLE'S EDUCATION.


Posted January 29, 2012

Great school for students. No child left behind here. Very carring and concerned for each child.


Posted October 3, 2009

Best School for my child An A School. Excellent Teachers, Great Playground, Very Close to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Everyone is very nice there and my kids like it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This is a great school for my kids. They have recently renovated everything. My kids love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Brand new school to show that the small children are cared about in our town. New schools coming up everywhere and our town took the old school and remodeled it instead of moving further away like the other schools. Principle was very nice and staff is very nice too!


Posted January 11, 2008

It was nice to finally find a school that had teachers that really took part in student education; putting students individual needs first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I cannot say enough great things about his school! The faculty is one of the best and the administration is extremely caring and organized. My 2 children have attended this school for the past 3 years and I couldn't be happier. I am a teacher at the secondary level and I definitely feel that even though the facility needs a face lift the overall academics at this school are outstanding and that is the most important thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

My oldest child has been at LeHigh Elementary for three years. Recently, her teacher told me that there is something in her brain that won't let her learn how to read. The teacher's whole attitude and tone of voice told me that she gave up on my daughter. For a teacher to behave this way is very disappointing. I do not recommend this school. I'm pulling my kids after this year and will tell every one who will listen how terrible I feel this school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I would have to agree that the office staff definitley needs some help with people skills. Overall in the 3 years my children have been there the teachers have been great and both of my children do well. My son has ad/hd and not on meds. The staff are very understanding and he gets alot of extra help he needs. As education in florida goes what do you expect. You get what you pay for. Talk to jeb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

I am extremely disappointed in the staff.Rude, rude and rude. Too busy to help and parents seem to be a inconveince.The school is in need of many repairs & clean up. Classes are way too crowded as well. Kids get lost. I do not recommend. An 'a' is a joke for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I feel that this school is a wonderful school to have my child attend. He is in first grade and so far we've had nothing but good experiences. My son had some reading problems in Kindergarten but half-way through the year he 'took off'. This year he is excelling in the A/R program. The teachers are very caring and are willing to work with the children who need extra attention. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wanted their child to attend a school where moral values and geniun care towards students is a high priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

The children are not grouped in classes according to their academic ability. the classrooms are also highly over populated. I personally would not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

The curriculum at Lehigh Emementary is excellent! My daughter has consistently been an the A/B honor roll, tested for and placed in the gifted program and has maintained an eagerness to learn new things throughout her 6 years at Lehigh Elementary. The music program gives all kids a chance to perform, and they have a wonderful group of parents who strive to keep the parental involvement high! The art program allows children to express their creativity as they are constructively guided through the various artistic explorations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 32%
Black 17%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 210%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%66%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TONI WALKER
Fax number
  • (239) 369-4506

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Schoolside Drive
Lehigh Acres, FL 33936
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 369-2477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harvest Christian Academy
Lehigh Acres, FL



Maranatha Private School
Lehigh Acres, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT