Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lehigh Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1834 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2011

lehigh senior in my opinon is an excellent school who loves for a better education and life for all its students isincomparable . i have always wanted to go to lehigh senior ever since i went there for the open house. the teachers do really care for the students and probably the only time there is drama is the bored people who care more about popularity than their education. this school is a first choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2010

i'm currently a freshman at lehigh. before i went to the school i heard rumors that it was a bad school. well that was a lie. lehigh is a very good school. and they offer very good education such as ap courses and the cambridge program. the sports in the school are very good! and the school isn't just focused on the football team like i've been told.! overall this school is great!=)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

i think it is excellent because they have excellent students and falculty!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

I absolutely love this school. I am a freshmen now and now that i will be pleased throughout the years until i graduate. Lshs has many many many programs and clubs that will help you along on through high school and college. Just ignore all the negativity and go there for yourself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2008

This school is a good learing enviornment, but it doesn't have enough programs. It focuses too much on art, and not enough on the more important subjects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

At first i hated this school. but when i had to switch, i was so upset. the teachers at this school teach a whole lot more than the teachers on this side of town (north fort myers, cape coral). Everyone gets along just fine. No racism problem here at all. students are very well mannered and you quite never here about a fight. cant wait to go back for my senior year!! 2009 baby!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

This school has its ups and downs. But all in all I feel our teachers and administration trys their best. Im impressed at how the schools ran from previous years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

this school is very well mannered
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

That's what the school is focused on is the FCAT and not the regular corriculum. IT seems to me the only sports teams that matter are the male teams. I'll be glad when my child is out of this schoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Great School. Awesome dance teacher Melissa Davis!


Posted November 19, 2007

Lehigh is great. I can't help but love the programs. The dance Department is great! The teachers work hard. Even the food is good!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2006

Right now I am a junior at Lehigh and it's not a very good school. I honestly do not think most teachers care. All teachers care about until 11th grade is FCAT. Now I am actually being challenged, but all the years before it was just FCAT this and FCAT that. And still only a small percent of students passed. The teachers aren't that good and I would never send any of my kids to this school. The principal is good however. Sports wise, none are good. Plus all the administrators care about is football.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

Lehigh Senior Highschool outstands from the rest of the school due to its magnificent teachers, who, as multicultural people, know how to educate their students with thorough excercises and assignments, which are dynamic as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 21, 2005

The academics program at LSHS is very good. Extracurricular actvities are plentiful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2005

I am a Senior in highschool and am somewhat satisfied with this schools quality. They have an excellant dual enrollment program and a great principal...as long as you can personally stay focused then you should be allright :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2005

This is school is pretty descent. The kids are involved & participate in many activities. The Student Government, Facaulty & Staff are a big part of what goes on here. Next year, (2006) it will be a school of the arts, showing us that obviously, they are into arts, music, sports, etc. Parents are welcome to attend every meeting held on ( I think its the 1st Tuesday of the month) but I personally don't go anymore, only because I'm too busy though. The teacher student ratio is pretty good, although there's always those few classes that are either over or under a by a little too much. All in all, I would give this school a B+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

Has a long way to go before it can even become average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Expecting children to learn is not telling them to open a book and expect them to just know it right then and there. Some teachers need to look at what they are teaching and realize, is it really worth teaching if their students are not learning?
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2004

Lehigh senior needed a new principal, now that they have an new principal coming hopefully the school will improve. The school was more focus on discipline rather than education when the former principal was there.Also all the years that he was there, there has not been no improving with this school. I hope the new principal will improve the school education and do not focus more on discipline. The bathrooms at the school is nasty and vile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

My opinion is that Lehigh Senior High is a very good school. My daughter likes the school. She is getting good grades, the teachers are really good. They have a big variety of food for lunch (7) diff kinds of food.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
Black 27% 23%
White 24% 42%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%66%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jackie Corey
Fax number
  • (239) 693-6702

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Gunnery Rd N
Lehigh Acres, FL 33971
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 693-5353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Harvest Christian Academy
Lehigh Acres, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT