Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunshine Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1155 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Our grandaughter goes to Sunshine! She is in the gifted program! We are very involved and we LOVE everything about this school!!! Patti Price


Posted May 12, 2011

THE KIDS DON"T GET RECESS!!!! Administration needs to do their research! They care more about the FCAT than developing well rounded kids. Shame on you Dr Bishop No recess for young children is EDUCATIONAL MALPRACTICE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I appreciate the efforts that the teachers have made to instill confidence in my son to learn and want to read. He now reads all the time on his own and is proud of his grades and is willing to do the extra work. In addition, I applaud the teachers for allowing the parents to stay engaged in their children's education. Education does not stop when they come home but rather must continue with the parents. The school's use of technology is superb. Again, I appreciate the extra efforts they have put forth to instill the drive to succeed in my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

OMG...I praise Sunshine Elementary...they have did such a wonderful job in educating my children....my oldest son have moved on to middle ..school were he continue to thrive...i have 2 more children attending this school....and they are doing very well also......the teachers genuinely care about the educating the kids...Ms Carter second grade teacher is the best....MS Hoyt kindergarten teacher really rocks....AND Ms Williams 5th grade math teacher never give up on the children....for any parent who is looking for a great start for their kids.....I say try Sunshine Elementary school.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

Sunshine Elementary did a wonderful job with my daughter when she was there. Her teachers excelled in their profession, and now she is a straight A student and has been and now in her Junior year of high school! I attribute that to her teachers that gave her a great start for 5 years. Most of the teachers that were there then, are there now, so look forward to a an exceptional student if you have a child going to Sunshine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

My daughter was stuggling in math and when I met with her teacher she offered to provide her with extra help 2 times a week . She allowed my daughter to use manipulatives to truly 'show' her how to solve problems instead of just teaching her to memorize rules. Thanks mrs.w for making my daughters 2nd grade year a joy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

The 2nd grade team of teachers are wonderful! My kids enjoyed working with the teachers and the plan many activities together. The field day held by these ladys was a great idea and many parents showed up to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

My son has been going to this school for a year. He was assigned to another school and I had to transfer him because this school was a better choice for us. We just relocated from the North and nothing compares to the schools where we came from. I feel down South they are more slower. The teachers rely on the parents to educate. You have to rely on the internet to get homework help and make your own sight words list to further educate your child for him or her to excel. Further with the cutbacks that is going on the teachers won't get a raise this year and now you have to rely on the parents to educate their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

Sunshine Elementary is an amazing school! Class sizes will be down to about 18 per classroom in 07/08. The teachers work together with other teachers to provide ongoing education for all students in each grade level. I love the diversity of the student population at Sunshine! Mr. Dobbins and Dr. Brown do an excellent job of administering the school and keeping the campus a safe, enjoyable, and learning-centered environement where all students can learn! I highly recommend sunshine elementary!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2006

Sunshine Elementary is, in my opinion, the best choice for elementary ed in the Lehigh Acres area. With 2 children attending this school now, I have been nothing but pleased with everything that Sunshine has to offer. I especially love the family atmosphere. The parent-teacher-student relationship is emphasized and highly valued. Not only do I love the school, but so do my children. The school's admin staff is constantly trying to improve the school, even though it has been an A+ school for many years. Sunshine was my first choice and is the best choice. (A Sunshine Parent Sept. 2006)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

This is a high quality education school. Teachers really enforce parent-teacher cooperation. However, it is my experience (and my 5 year old') that teachers do not take the time to teach children, and instead rely on parents to do the teaching. Even though my son was chosen for the gifted program he doesn't get very good grades in class because he doesn't learn much in the time he spends in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Sunshine Elementary, now 20 years old, offers a warm, safe learning environment for all children. This award winning school offers a variety of clubs and after school activities ranging from Earth Rangers to the outstanding Honors Choir - Sunshine Express. We've been the teaching home to 5 Golden Apple teachers! Students with all exceptionalities are taught at the appropriate level and our Gifted Program is second to none. Our Odyssey of the Mind teams have qualified for the state competition for the last two years. Sunshine has earned an A rating for the last 5 years. Our administrators are curriculum savvy professionals who visit classrooms frequently and know most of the students by name. Careful testing and data collection allow us to craft curriculum to meet the needs of your child. Please consider making a visit to our school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2005

Sunshine Elementary School has an excellent full time gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Sunshine elementary is one the better public schools in Lehigh Acres. The teacher to student ratio is average with other schools in the area. But beware, this area is experiencing a huge BOOM in property being sold, which means more and more families are coming into town. Expect the student, teacher ratio to climb unless the school budgets for more and more teachers. There isn't much in the way of an arts program. You'll have to go to Veteran's Park Art School for that. Parent involvement is very high and encouraged. This is a school choice district at the moment, so if you are zoned for this school is should definately be at the top of your list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Sunshine Elementary offers a great public school program. Most lower grades have about 8 teachers while the upper grades begin to taper off to about 5 teachers. The student:teacher ratio is average with the county. This school definately offers challenging extracurricular activities to those who feel up to it. In regards to activities during school, there is no foreign language: As is with most schools. The basic staples are PE(daily) and art and music once a week, mixed in with scheduled library time. Parent involvement is encouraged and the teachers are definately willing to offer their time if extra tutoring time is needed. Onsite morning and afternoon care helps working parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Both my kids have gone to Sunshine and loved it!IHave been more than satisfied with their teachers and their grades.I've always felt welcome.In fact,I've been encouraged to volunteer not only in their classrooms but throughout the school.They have many programs to encourage the individual child.An afterschool arts program for those that have that artistic side.A choir for the musically inclined,a jogging club,jump rope club,and kiwanas kids club to make the kids more aware of those in need in our community. It's sad that my children will no longer be going to Sunshine.I don't know who will miss it more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

My child absolutely loves going to school. Coming from another state I was concerned with her adjusting, but she easily adapted thanks to the warm and friendly environment this school is surrounded in. She is excelling in all her classes. I couldn't be more happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

181 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
Black 23%
White 22%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 127%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 215%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%66%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. RON DAVIS
Fax number
  • (239) 369-1455

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Sara Avenue North
Lehigh Acres, FL 33971
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 369-5836

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Maranatha Private School
Lehigh Acres, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT