Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mirror Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1055 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

MLE is a wonderful school. My daughter is in second grade and has been a student at MLE for three years now. The principal and teachers are great. Most of the teachers and office staff knows most of the kids by name; it is truly a family friendly atmosphere. The education my daughter receives is great; she is learning a lot. Communication is open and appreciated from her teacher. My daughter entered the gifted program this year and she is doing very well. I ask my daughter every year if she is enjoying the school and whether or not she wants to stay there next year and the answer is always a big and exciting yes. She loves that school and so do I! Overall, I am very happy with MLE and I think they are doing a terrific job of educating my kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

Both my sons attend this school the staff go out of there way to help the students the staff show a lot of concern for education and every person I have dealt with including the principal has shown a genuine concern for the kids and have always taken the time to answer any questions that my wife and I have had, GREAT School my children will remain here throughout there elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I'M NOT AT ALL IMPRESSED BY THE STAFF AT THIS SCHOOL. THEY WITHOLD IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO CERTAIN PARENTS WITHOUT GIVING REASON AND THEY MAKE TOO MANY EXCUSES WHEN QUESTIONED ABOUT THEIR ACTIONS. IN ALL THE SCHOOLS THAT I HAVE DELT WITH OVER THE YEARS,,,,,,,,, THIS SCHOOL IS THE WORST. SORRY BUT THAT'S JUST HOW I FEEL ABOUT THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

My son attended MLE for all 6 of his elementary years. He has had quality teachers all but one year. His first grade teacher was terrible but thankfully she was gone after the year he had her. We went from really struggling at the beginning of elementary to all A's and B's by 5th. They offered after school tutoring (as well as 2 of his teachers offering to personally tutor him). I love it there and my daughter now attends. The staff is great and I genuinely feel like they care about my children even though there are more than 1,000 students at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

This is our second year at Mirror Lakes and we love it. The teachers are wonderful and very supportive! Kids and parents have a lot of opportunity to be involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

My granddaughter has attended this school for 6 years now. It is a great school. It's nice to know that they know their students and the family. My grandduaghter is still known and talked to by all of her teachers through the years, and even the office staff know who she is and it's not because she gets in trouble. They are just a great school and work with parents to continue to provide excellent education by great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Outstanding school. No bullying tolerance, great security, excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They have done so much to help my son w/ his needs and all of these teachers put extra time and their own money into making sure the students are getting the best experience they can.I'm very happy w/ the goals that we have all achieved together.W/ out the guidance of these professionals my son would be so much further behind! Thank you Mirror Lakes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My child attended this school very briefly I found that they were overly concerned with appearences rather than reality. They had so many school regulations and they were concerned with the smallest of stupid details, he will not attend there next year. Some teachers were commited but you can't acredit the teachers to the school management. when the economy is so tuff people need to get intouch with reality.People are loosing their jobs and enforsing the smallest of rules can be absurd when people are having finantial problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

Unfortunetly my experience has been that of dissapointment with this school. I have found the staff to be racists. Ofcourse you may find no complaints perhaps if you are of their preference, but my children and I were very much discriminitated against and they tried very hard to pretend that this was not happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

My son attended this school for grades 3-5 after I had moved him from Lehigh Elementary. It was the best thing I ever could have done. All of the teachers are wonderful and supportive and the administrative and office staff were always helpful. My son's confidence was boosted by 200% after I switched him to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

I love Mirror Lakes, my daughter will be in the 2nd grade in 08-09, and she has been going there since Kindergarten. The teachers are wonderful with the kids and take the extra time to meet with parents. This school is in a deed restricted community, so therefore I feel safe when she is at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

I love this school and it's staff. My oldest son is going into 3rd grade (06-07 year) and my other son is starting kindergarden this year. I have found that the teachers keep you informed of your childs progress and are very welcome to your input on your childs education. I only had a issue with one teacher and it was quickly resolved. In my opinion I think this school is Grade A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

Great school with teachers that really care about the students. Many parents are involved in this school and there are many activities there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

I have found the administration at this school to be evasive a lot of the time. The academic programs would be nice...if they were consistant. I have only had experience on the primary level, but there are too many resources being used by the teachers and that allows for a lack of consistancy, a very important aspect in a young child's learning experience. If there are too many things shoved in their face, it takes entirely too much time to sort it all out. Just stick to a couple of resources, for better management.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
White 23%
Black 22%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN ZELLERS
Fax number
  • (239) 369-0542

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Charwood Avenue South
Lehigh Acres, FL 33974
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 369-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lehigh Elementary School
Lehigh Acres, FL


Harvest Christian Academy
Lehigh Acres, FL


Maranatha Private School
Lehigh Acres, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT